We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulously equipped and simply impressive...”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the lounge.
Poolside towards the barn. Dining area towards the kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
View from the lounge.
Poolside towards the barn.
Dining area towards the kitchen.
Kitchen area.
Dining area seats 10.
Downstairs double bedroom.
The Manorhouse.
The garden.
The bicycle shed.
Riverside.
The courtyard.
The garden.
The downstairs wet room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rainy1289...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulously equipped and simply impressive property with warm-hearted hosts.”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The barn really surpassed our expectations. The property is beautifully designed and renovated, with wonderful artistic French detailing- this is due to Tony and Sonia's touch, which combines both the rustic and the contemporary, adding a splash of the exquisite to each area of the barn conversion.
As for the holiday it was made truly special throughout the week due to the attentive hosting of Tony and Sonia. They anticipated our needs, offering advice and ideas throughout our stay regarding everything from taxis, to off the beaten track rural escapes, which might fit our diverse family needs. We had both youngsters and grandparents relaxing over the week, which required both excitement and peace- this was mainly provided by the pool, which is carefully maintained, offering fun during the day and an escapism at night, with the thoughtfully placed relaxation areas and to add a little family touch you would often get a
friendly canine companion - especially during early evening BBQ!
To add to the ambience you can even do a little French gift and home shopping on site, as Sonia has a beautiful emporium nestled between the house and barn which offers unique, original Provençal items, ranging from delicately handmade cushions to vintage French earthen ware and signs.
Both Sonia and Toni are the kind of hosts who will strive to make your stay absolutely memorable. For us they were unspeakably kind, creating a dreamy wedding sign for me, with gilt frame and customised message, just to help when I felt overwhelmed with trying to organise my last minute details for my wedding in Riberac. Tony even helped collect stranded guests from the airport! Overall the stay was just divine and I can't praise Sonia and Tony enough for the piece of heaven they have created in France.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect rural French experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Arriving at the house was so lovely - the pictures don't do the place justice. Only half an hour from Bergerac airport, it was easy to get via taxi and be on our way.The house was perfect - well equipped with everything you would need, a lot of space and beautifully decorated.
I travelled with 6 others, and there was plenty of room to dine inside and out, and the kitchen had everything to cook amazing suppers, as well as a barbeque outside. We ate outside every night and sat around the big table with lights surrounding the patio.
The pool was just dreamy in the hot French weather and playing on the ping pong tables was great fun. We ventured out to one of the boundaries of the garden/land (which is huge) where there is a beautiful river and swam along too.
The only time we left was to get wine and and food from the village and visit the award winning boulangerie.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
there_and...
shakey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take me back”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

For my 30th, I envisaged briefly running away to a rustic, beautiful old cottage, tucked away in the middle of rural France, with cheese and wine just close enough by to keep me ticking along, but otherwise, peace and quiet.

This cottage couldn't have fitted the bill better.

We had a lovely 4 days - admittedly the barn was a bit more 'stunningly rustic' than 'rustic' with it's very charming decor, and there were the additional pros I probably wouldn't have sought out, but which proved to be well used (ping pong table & trampoline no less).

The gorgeous and skillfully maintained surrounding land proved well worth an evening ramble down to the river, and Ruby, the family dog proved a loyal, if not slightly naughty rambling companion.

Tony and Sonia were both helpful and accommodating at every opportunity. From taxi-ing, to eggs and jam, even the on-site shop was opened at our request, and a little treasure it proved to be too.

Whilst Mussidan has a Proxi and boulangerie (with award winning croissants and bread), which appear to open, quite rightly, when the shopkeeper arrives, I can't help but recommend a little village down the river, where a house with a Kronenbourg sign outside offered a fabulous experience - particularly the outside toilet. I can't remember the name and neither, it seems, can google, but Tony will tell you.

As for taxis when Tony isn't around, I can highly recommend Taxi Gardelle - 00335 53 81 07 96 - the type of patient woman who can get a taxi to you, even when you speak pigeon French and you're not sure of your own address. It cost us 49 euros for 6 of us to get into Bergerac, and, like a French York, it was well worth the visit.

I imagine this would be fantastic for families with young children, but it's probably worth noting that there were 2 ground floor bedrooms and a ground floor wetroom as well as upstairs rooms and bathroom for those less inclined towards stairs.

One word of warning - an outdoor pool in May is not for the faint hearted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The part where my stomach went below the water in the pool - brrrrrrrr!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebeccaru...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful cottage, brilliant location, and the most attentive and hospitable hosts I have encountered.”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Of all the places to lay my head there are few that I'd recommend more than Tony and Sonia's beautiful ivy-clad cottage tucked away in rural France.

The property is beautifully presented with a calm river running by, lovely swimming pool, and woods to explore.

The cottage is cosy haven with a tastefully done kitchen, sweetly designed kid's bedroom, and the master bedroom feels like a sanctuary- peaceful and light-filled.

Locally, you will be spoiled with award winning bread and pastry from the local bakery and French home-style cooking from the local restaurant for a ridiculously low cost (5 courses including wine, coffee, and dessert for €13).

I'd recommend a trip to Bordeaux, St Emilion, Lac Jamaye (if you have young children this is a must!), Bourdeilles, and Beynac.

We had the pleasure of visiting in the autumn when, I imagine, the Dordogne is at its finest. The trees flaunted fluorescent yellow colours, the vines were heavy laden with grapes, the air crisp in the morning, and al fresco dining delightful in the evening. Walnuts and sweet chestnuts littered the ground beneath their trees and this season's wine filled the grocer's shelves. Tourist destinations are yours to explore in serenity without the tourist paparazzi.

However, none the previously mentioned things holds a candle to the delight in making a friendship with Tony and Sonia. They are some of the most hospitable and kindest people I have had the privilege of meeting. They immediately made us feel at home and welcome.

Whether your stay be for one or two weeks or even a couple months, I can guarantee it won't be long enough.

Breath a sigh of relief- you no longer need to spend hours researching your perfect holiday destination- you have found it! I'm already jealous of the holiday that awaits you!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoggG
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A truly lovely holiday location. The barn has been renovated very well and is beautifully decorated.

We are a family of 5 (inc a two year old still in a travel cot). We visited La Feuillade with our two friends who also had one two year old son. We had a lovely time and the owners were very friendly and always on hand to help with any inquiries we had.

A few small things frustrated us a bit though;

There is a small narrow grassy area in front of the barn across which you access the pool.

Children are running between the barn and the pool constantly.

This grassy area currently provides the only access to the cottage a few meters down from the barn. The owners allow cars to be driven down this narrow area to the cottage, as oppose to providing a designated parking area on the 16 acres of land which surround the manor house and adjoining properties. Whilst the cars passing this area do not drive at any speed and you are always keeping an eye on your little ones, it is a risk and worry you don't need whilst on holiday.

In addition, there is a table tennis table situated right in front of the barn (on this narrow grassy area) allowing the players unobstructed views in to the barn's kitchen and lounge area. This obviously effects the amount of privacy and peace you are allowed whilst residing at the barn.

The outside seating area for the barn is situated on a patio behind some trees. This is nice and secluded but completely shaded from the sun. This is fine when very hot and sunny in the middle of the day but very chilly in the mornings and evenings. If you like your breakfast or dinner alfresco, as we do whilst on holiday, you have to dress up warmly (we holidayed in August).

We would have liked a table at the front of the property on this grassy area, which is a total sun trap but as it is currently an unmarked drive way this is obviously not possible.

In terms of size the barn is spacious and allows for lots of living and dining space. We were comfortable as a party of eight; four adults and four children (two of which were small toddlers).

There are two main double bedrooms which are large and suitable for couples. The two remaining bedrooms are less spacious. The one on the top floor allows for two adult singles, a travel cot and enough storage for the occupants. The downstairs room is very small and would only sleep one small child comfortably (ie; with room to unpack and store their clothes etc) or two small children at a push, but not sure where they would store their clothes other than in their suitcases in the snug next door which is adjacent and opens entirely on to the kitchen.

The bathrooms are o.k. The upstairs bathroom is very spacious but it only has an over the bath shower with no shower curtain so you have to have a bath or kneel down in the bath to use the shower running the risk of getting water on the bathroom floor.

The other bathroom facility is a wet room downstairs. The drainage from the shower is not great. On one occasion it flooded out in to the kitchen on every other occasion it flooded out in to the small area adjacent where the sink was housed. In addition, as the windows in the wet room were sealed there was little natural ventilation from the room. This meant that every time you wanted to use the toilet or the small sink, it was soaking wet.

The adjacent room with the sink was extremely narrow and doubled up as the area where they stored the brooms hanging from the walls which made the area even more cramped.

Finally, the cleanliness was not brilliant. It was o.k but too much dust and lots and lots of cobwebs all over the light fittings. Behind our master bed upstairs looked like it had not seen a hoover for months and caused me a lot of problems allergy wise on the first night. This area was cleaned by the owners immediately but it made you wonder.

I would not recommend the barn because of the issues that I mention above. However, having looked at the cottage, the lovely seating area they have outside their kitchen and the privacy that they enjoy, I would recommend that property to friends who area a family of four.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: lack of sunny, outside seating to enjoy meals together as a family and with friends
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2015
We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with us last August.
Just to say that, over this winter, we have addressed some of the things that you mentioned in your review, ready for this summer.
The table tennis table has been relocated to the far side of the swimming pool, freeing up more space in front of the barn.
There is now ample storage in the downstairs twin with a large chest of drawers and 2 large drawers under the 2 single beds.
The brooms are now located near the rubbish bins in the kitchen freeing up space in the wet-room.
Hopefully 2015 will be a warmer summer than last year, with the terraced area providing respite from the heat, and thus allowing al fresco dining at all times like we would normally experience.
Thanks again for your suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma2281
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday house in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a fabulous four days at La Feuillade in the beautifully converted barn which was stocked with everything we needed. We were two couples with 4 children (aged 2-6) and a baby. The barn had highchairs,cot, plastic crockery for the kids, stacks of toys - all of which make life with little ones just that much easier. The hosts were very friendly and had plenty of fresh produce (eggs, herbs, homemade jams etc) on offer. They also have their own little store of French antiques for sale which the mums enjoyed while the dads were on kid-watch.
The biggest up-side was outdoors - the pool which has a low wall round it (helpful in keeping the littlest kids out) where we spent much of our days, table tennis, and the beautiful large grounds providing lots of space for the kids to race round in (and they have a play area with playhouse, trampoline, swings). I would highly recommend La Feuillade to anyone (but it particularly worked well for us as families with young children). I can also recommend their homemade raspberry vodka!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kids loved the pool and play area, we loved the barn conversion and long BBQs in the sun.
Liked least: Can't think of anything, was pretty perfect to be honest.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so08dnd
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in the beautiful dordogne”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My family and I stayed at this barn for 5days and it was perfect. The barn is located within the garden of the main house, which meant we could easily contact the owners for advice on the local area.

Sonia and tony were very helpful and helped us book lovely restaurants, gave advice on the best local bakery's and arranged for us to have a cake delivered for my mother's birthday. Thee were lovely finishing touches to their hospitality including fresh eggs from their chickens, and homemade jams delivered in a basket which was a treat.

The barn is beautifully converted, and very spacious, great for a big family.

The barn is located well and we traveled to hotspots including Bordeaux, Bergerac, and brantome which were easy drives.

The barn is near a river, and has a pool (although too cold whilst we were there!I) the owners also have a lovely little shop attached to their house, which sells home made lavender bags, aprons and other lovely items! I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to have a relaxing stay in the dordogne!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing