We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost but good base for the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citotel Verotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Citotel Verotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Low cost but good base for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is a bit out of town so is decently priced. The hotel is decent, clean and very helpful staff. This is a budget hotel and is a good base for travelling around the area. Not a place to go to spend time lying by the pool as it is basically in an industrial estate. But that is not what this hotel is for. It is a 15 to 20 min walk into Bergerac but not a walk with kids as it is on a main road. This is close to the airport and is great as base to sleep. Decent breakfast but we didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. Great base to get around if that is what you need. Air con was good in the room which even though basic was comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
38
38
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Having stayed at some expensive but distinctly average French hotels of late, here's a thumbs-up for a small airport hotel. I arrived late and without booking, was dealt with fairly and with courtesy, the price, including breakfast very reasonable. Clean and efficient, there's even a swimming pool, which unfortunately I didn't have time to use. Location excellent, literally 5 minutes from Bergerac Airport, standing in it's own grounds, so absolutely no noise, traffic or otherwise during my stay. The only down side, and this is no fault of the hotel, is the scarcity of restaurants of any description in the vicinity, basically you'll have to drive the 10 minutes to downtown for a decent meal !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed before flying back to UK. It's literally 5 minutes drive from the airport. Restaurant closed the night we were there but the room was comfortable and breakfast good. A competent overnight stop that is much more convenient and cheaper then rooms in Bergerac itself. Good value, clean, good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiguillon, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here with my partner as it was the only hotel in Bergerac with a last minute room, Having read some of the comments from other guests, I was not expecting the hotel to be very pleasant, but we were agreeably surprised to find that it had a quiet location, had a light and airy reception and our room was bright and modern with a decent bathroom and a very confortable bed with crisp linen sheets. The standard of cleanliness was very high. The low level of light in the corridors was a bit strange, but we thought it rather atmospheric and after all, you are only passing along the corridors, not sitting in them. The receptionist was charming, the breakfast more than adequate for 8€ per person and overall we considered it to be good valuie for money at 68€ for the room for one night.The swimming pool was immaculate and well patronised. There is a little restaurant opposite the entrance if you don't want to go into Bergerac itself, but we ate in town which is only a few minutes drive from the hotel. So, overall we were not disappointed. If you want better hotels then you must be prepared to pay more, but at this level we thought it good for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked the hotel as it is close to the airport for a quick getaway in the morning. To be honest, traffic in Bergerac isn't a problem, so my advice would be to ask yourself if you really need to be this close to the airport, and would I be better off getting a lovely hotel or b&b elsewhere?
It is in a semi-rural, slightly industrial location, and when you arrive you know exactly what to expect, i.e., not a lot! Reception is OK, but everything is staffed by one person. Room is reasonable, but colours of bedding will give you a migraine if stared at for too long. Lift is a bit 'dodgy' - falls about 2 feet when you get into it. And why the French think that 20 watt light bulbs are adequate for corridors beats me!
So, very average, and quite a boring hotel and location, but at a reasonable price. Just don't pay too much.

Room Tip: don't accept a room close to the lift - it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Customer service remains a mystery to French Hotels and staff. Wrong type of room for a family with babies. Stank of cigarette smoke. Wake up call system an hour out.
I booked a triple room with cot, got duplex with stairs and no baby gates. They gave us another room but we had to do all the moving of cot etc.
Complained about the cigarette smoke and smell. Usual Gallic shrug with a comment on how can they police guests in their rooms. However, if that's true why provide ashtrays in every room?
Early morning call was 1 hour out because they had not put their clock forward a week earlier. Missed breakfast because we had a flight to catch.
Not cheap for rooms but everything about this hotel is budget with a capital B.
The only positive is that it's just 2 minutes from airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galloisenfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergerac hotels

Oldham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked the hotel because it was near to the airport and not far from the town centre. Stayed overnight, had breakfast then went to drop our hired car off at the airport. The hotel was a little dated but rooms were clean and tidy, the bathroom was well equipped and plenty of toilets and toiletries. Bergerac town centre is definately worth a visit - it is very pictureque and the bars in the square are reasonable and we got a three course meal for 15 euros each.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel Verotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Verotel

Property: Citotel Verotel
Address: 9 Route d'Agen, 24100, Bergerac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel Verotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minutes away from the town center in a green and restful setting, this fully air conditioned hotel is ideal for spending relaxing momets and discovering our beautiful region and its gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Citotel Verotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Verotel Bergerac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing