We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de France
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Europ'Hotel(Bergerac)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Chartreuse du Bignac(Saint-Nexans)
$181
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Bordeaux(Bergerac)
$89
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citotel Verotel(Bergerac)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Bergerac(Bergerac)(Great Value!)
$54
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau les Merles(Mouleydier)
$178
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kyriad Bergerac(Bergerac)
$50
$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Flambee(Bergerac)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
87
95
30
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
95
30
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townplace gambettalovely hotelair confront facingyoung couplerooms are smallsaturday marketthe hotel is cleanlarge churcheasy access to the townbike tripsmall friendly hotelbalcony overlooking the squaremarket stallshighly recommend this hotelvery helpful and friendly staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 228 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed here for three nights to visit Bergerac and the region. The hotel is clean, bright, nicely decorated, the service is excellent and the breakfast is a perfect french breakfast -with freshly squeezed orange juice (with no extra charge - watch out for a suppliment in some french hotels for fresh orange juice). We felt really looked after and welcome.
Parking - usually easy in place gambetta but may be more tricky in high season - parking is free on sundays and after 5 on other days - but the parking is restricted on market days - parking in the hotel garage is limited and more expensive
you are a two minute stroll from the centre of town
the photo of this hotel on trip advisor is wrong - it is much nicer looking!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I spent a night here on the first day of my holiday to the Dordogne.

The hotel is clean and has the facilities needed for a leisure or business stay.

The pool area is attractive.

Parking should be straightforwards using the Place de Gambetta carpark or on road spaces opposite the hotel.
Place de Gambetta parking should not be used on a Weds/Sat because of the market
Covered parking may be available too at the hotel

Didn't take breakfast, but there was the usual continental buffet type selection available - seemed quite pricey for what it was though and you may prefer to buy from local cafes or boulangeries

Bergerac is an interesting town, contrasting the touristy old town area with the more modern commercial local centre. Market days (Weds & Sat) are worth visiting for, when the town is much busier.

In summary, if you want to spend a night or two in a town centre location, then this is a good choice to make.
Service was friendly and helpful


(One point to note, the picture of the hotel exterior currently attached to Tripadvisor for this hotel is not for Hotel de France, Bergerac - however the pictures of the pool are correct)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinkyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I'd endorse everything written by the last reviewer entitled 'Tries very hard'. The room I had at the back overlooking the pool was very clean and comfortable, although quite small. The lack of air-con in the back rooms (the quiet rooms) might be a problem in high summer but it was fine on the night I stayed. When next in Bergerac I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devonshireantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

First the bad news. This hotel has no lift, no bar to speak of and no mirror in the bedroom.
However, the manager will carry your bags up for you to the room and there is a great bar-Le Tampico- nearby.
Breakfast is basic continental
The front rooms have air-con and a balcony, but overlook the car park which can make it nouisy, especially on the two xdays that a market is held on the car park
We were in a rear room overlooking the swimming pool(no air-con). It was bright, airy, clean and had a shower, but no bath. We were woken by the chimes of the church clock at 0700 hours. There are worse ways to be woken up!
The manager was very helpful. He recommended 3 very different restaurants and will book a table for you. He also helped explain my french grammar questions!
The hotel is situated between the railway station and the old town, which suited us fine.
I think it got its 3 stars because of the pool, but on balance, I have given it 4 "Trip Advisor" points because we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This hotel is very modern and has a nice atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and light. We had a room with a pool view which was lovely, I can imagine the rooms at the front of the hotel (although they had a balcony to sit on) could have been noisy as they looked over roads and a car park. We could open the balcony doors every morning and have a nice view of the pool area and still be private.

The pool area is very nice, with sun loungers and a covered area to sit and read a book or newspaper.

The hotel has a pin code entry system when the desk is not manned which means you can come and go as you please. One night we returned at 3am due to attending a wedding about an hour away!

I would recommend this hotel as it is in a perfect location for sightseeing. The Saturday markets start right outside the front door of the hotel and it is easily accessible if you have a car. Good price too, although I wouldn't bother with the breakfast as there are so many places to grab an authentic bite to eat in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveToHoliday82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews