We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay @ Hotel de France”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay @ Hotel de France”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Hotel de France is an excellent choice. While small, the staff is great, the owner, Antoine, goes out of his way to assist in any manner, and the pool is delicious in the heat of the day.
Centrally located and within walking distance of the train station, it is convenient, clean, well run, and generally a great place to relax from a hectic travel day. If possible request the rooms overlooking the pool.
Additionally, they serve exceptionally good coffee in the morning! We loved both Antoine and Hotel de France.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleflashUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    83
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
25
111
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Hotel de France. Bergerac, France.
April 2008.

This hotel and train tickets were booked by a travel agent for a visit to friends in Bergerac.
The hotel was small and very well run. The owner was very friendly and helpful and spoke exellent English.
We stayed in a front room. It was medium size, with an en-suite facility. It was kept very clean and the towels were changed each day. It had double glazed sliding doors to a balcony, an electrically operated shutter and air conditioning in case of hot weather. The breakfast was continental with a good choice of items. Although no evening meal was available, the owner recommended several very good restaurants within a 5 minute stroll.
The hotel fronts a wide square with an open air central car park that fills with traders stalls on market day. The location was 10 minutes walking time from the railway station and 2 minutes from the main shopping area.

  • Liked — Clean,friendly and centrally located.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NormaNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We like small hotels, especially if the place looks clean and inviting and we are made to feel welcome. This is what we have found with the Hotel de France and we have just stayed for the fourth time in three years - each time for three nights. We have always been made to feel at home, the rooms have always been spotless and we look forward to our next visit.
The central location suits us admirably, making it an ideal place to explore the charms of a small town - narrow side streets, plenty of restaurants (although some of them are closed on a Monday), a good variety of shops and the splendid river Dordogne.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and helpful staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights. The staff were welcoming, courteous and very informative (spoke excellent English). The rooms are smallish but the beds are very comfortable. Everything very clean and well-presented.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShortbreakerWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Pre booked room in for a stay in September, the room wasn't ready when we arrived at 4pm. Although It was actually promised at 2pm, we were asked to come back in another hour. We were very tired and hot and there was no parking due to a noisy Saturday market and we advised the receptionist that we wouldn't be staying, she then came rushing out to tell us the room was ready after all. We got our suitcases out and had to carry them up a steep circular stairway which absolutely crippled us. The room was so small and cramped with all sorts of tired looking furniture in it. It was noisy as it overlooked the market. We went for a walk and came back and told the Receptionist we were checking out as we didn't like it. She said she would charge us as we had used the toilet. Finally we found a very nice Chambre D'Hote for the night overlooking the river with a bit of help from Tourist Information. Absolutely dreadful

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This is a very basic three star hotel, close to the old part of Bergerac. The rooms are cramped, the bathrooms small but OK and there are no frills. That said, it is all clean and well run. The staff, particularly the receptionist/waiter, Antoine are efficient and helpful, and speak good English. The breakfast is the typical French offering, with fresh orange juice, croissants, pastries, jams, yogurts, fruit, cheese, coffee etc, and is actually quite good. The rooms facing the street have a nice little balcony with table and two chairs. There is a bit of street noise though, particularly from an incredibly noisy street cleaning machine which crawls around the square in the small wee hours. If you want peace and quiet, book a back room, but be prepared to forsake air conditioning. Only the front rooms have a/c so that the guests can close the windows and shut out the noise.
There is no bar and only a few chairs in reception to sit and relax in, sort of. There is a small pool at the back, surrounded by a few sun loungers and chairs and tables. The hotel can serve drinks if required. The TVs in the room offer only a few French channels, plus, oddly enough, a soft porn channel which pumps flesh at you day and night. Those with children should watch out.

If you are looking for a place to spend one or two nights, and everything better is booked, the Hotel de France will just about do. I should add, though, that the visitors book is packed with messages of fulsome praise, so it seems to suit some.
There is an excellent street market in the square outside on Wednesday and Saturday mornings.
If you are going to eat in Bergerac, go to an Italian restuarant called La Mama, on the edge of the old town. Really good, and even the French queue to get in. Avoid a modern looking place called Au Bureau, not far from the hotel. The food is terrible. Also avoid a tourist trap near the little square with a statue of Cyrano de Bergerac. Again, food is terrible.

  • Liked — Good shower.
  • Disliked — Cramped rooms with nowhere to sit. Beds OK, but not particularly comfortable.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank watchdog54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
186 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Citotel Verotel
Citotel Verotel
#7 of 13 in Bergerac
119 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
267 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#8 of 13 in Bergerac
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 18 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of Bergerac, lies the Hotel de France with a warm and friendly welcome for its guests. The hotel has 20 bedrooms, 10 with balcony facing into the old square of Place Gambetta, 10 further rooms with views on the courtyard garden and swimming-pool. The rooms are comfortably equipped to satisfy your business as well as your leisure stay: double glazing, air-conditioning, LCD TV, hair dryer, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, phone and alarm clock service…A buffet breakfast is available and can also be served in your room or by the swimming-pool in fine weather. Drinks can be served at all times. Secure private garage – limited spaces. Please book with reservation so that you are not disappointed. Place Gambetta and its 100 places also offers parking.The Hotel de France is at your entire disposal to satisfy your wishes and make your stay with us more enjoyable.TourismBergerac, the capital of the Dordogne, invites you to discover the old town, museums, French markets, its legendary cuisine (foie gras) and its famous wines (Monbazillac Pécharmant ...).The "Valley of a Thousand Castles" leads you to discover its extraordinary heritage: barge trips on the Dordogne river, fascinating medieval architecture, immortal literary authors, world famous archaeological sites and unforgettable French gardens ... all contribute to a perfect change of scenery. In order to make our guests’ stay memorable, we will advise on your itinerary and recommended restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing