We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely city hotel”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for the last night of our holiday. Booked at last minute with little research.What a find, clean comfortable with really lovely staff,who allow you to try out your French but all speak pretty good English
The little haven at the back of a small courtyard with pool is an oasis in the city
Wee placed for eateries and sight seeing
Well recommended.

Room Tip: Baloneys at the front over street, but still quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very pleasant gentleman greeted us at reception, a sign said they spoke English and so they did. He gave me our a/c remote control and then went on to issue free wifi for our room which was excellent. The room was clean and tidy as were the shower room and toilet. Everything worked as it should and we had a good nights sleep. Check out was equally pleasant and easy.

Room Tip: I think it's all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touringtheworldslowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a nice, smallish hotel in the center of Bergerac. Parking is conveniently available on the street in front of the hotel, free after 8PM. The breakfast was nice with a mix of standard fare such as yogurt and pastries. Only a short walk to the main touristy area where cars are not allowed. Staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great location and courteous staff. my request for a quiet room was met as we were staying for 9 nights during which it became so hot we transferred to a room with air conditioning-not a problem so helpful. We chose not to have breakfast as there are cafes 100yds away. As we know Bergerac quite well we chose to park on the street behind the hotel. The rooms are small but v clean, this is a small basic hotel and just used as a base. The pool and patio are somewhere to retreat on a hot afternoon. Generously, they gave us an excellentl bottle of wine when we checked out - unheard of !! Merci

Room Tip: Request air conditioned room if staying height of Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gowergirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel had everything that you would expect in a three star hotel in France. Friendly service, A/C, comfortable bed with extra pillows. The rooms are small, but that is to be expected. The location is very good, but Bergerac is not a large town and is very walkable. The breakfast was OK. No hot food options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very comfortable, welcoming hotel. Nicely decorated with a cozy pool out back and a nice general ambiance. Location is great too, right in the middle of everything you'd want to see. What set this hotel apart as one of our favorites during our 3 weeks in France (including Paris) was the hospitality and helpfulness of the staff. We arrived mid-morning but were allowed to go to our room straight away. My wife and I were heading out the next day on a 6-day bike trip and she was feeling ill and mentioned this to the manager, Natalie, who during a break in the afternoon accompanied my wife to a nearby pharmacist, who suggested seeing a local doctor for a prescription. Natalie accompanied my wife to the doctor's home office, got her settled, and then came back by to assist further after running some errands.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a very good small independent hotel with helpful friendly staff and a pool. We had a nice room although it was not air conditioned. In the morning a traditional style French breakfast was provided.
The hotel does not have a lift but as there are only two floors this will not be a problem for most guests. The hotel has a small garage and there is a lot of public parking outside in Place Gambetta. However, this cannot be used when the next day is Wednesday or Saturday as a market day is held there then.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
195 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Hotel Spa du Commerce
#12 of 13 in Bergerac
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 18 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range: $89 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of Bergerac, lies the Hotel de France with a warm and friendly welcome for its guests. The hotel has 20 bedrooms, 10 with balcony facing into the old square of Place Gambetta, 10 further rooms with views on the courtyard garden and swimming-pool. The rooms are comfortably equipped to satisfy your business as well as your leisure stay: double glazing, air-conditioning, LCD TV, hair dryer, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, phone and alarm clock service…A buffet breakfast is available and can also be served in your room or by the swimming-pool in fine weather. Drinks can be served at all times. Secure private garage – limited spaces. Please book with reservation so that you are not disappointed. Place Gambetta and its 100 places also offers parking.The Hotel de France is at your entire disposal to satisfy your wishes and make your stay with us more enjoyable.TourismBergerac, the capital of the Dordogne, invites you to discover the old town, museums, French markets, its legendary cuisine (foie gras) and its famous wines (Monbazillac Pécharmant ...).The "Valley of a Thousand Castles" leads you to discover its extraordinary heritage: barge trips on the Dordogne river, fascinating medieval architecture, immortal literary authors, world famous archaeological sites and unforgettable French gardens ... all contribute to a perfect change of scenery. In order to make our guests’ stay memorable, we will advise on your itinerary and recommended restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing