We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Pre booked room in for a stay in September, the room wasn't ready when we arrived at 4pm. Although It was actually promised at 2pm, we were asked to come back in another hour. We were very tired and hot and there was no parking due to a noisy Saturday market and we advised the receptionist that we wouldn't be staying, she then came rushing out to tell us the room was ready after all. We got our suitcases out and had to carry them up a steep circular stairway which absolutely crippled us. The room was so small and cramped with all sorts of tired looking furniture in it. It was noisy as it overlooked the market. We went for a walk and came back and told the Receptionist we were checking out as we didn't like it. She said she would charge us as we had used the toilet. Finally we found a very nice Chambre D'Hote for the night overlooking the river with a bit of help from Tourist Information. Absolutely dreadful

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ziggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

This is a very basic three star hotel, close to the old part of Bergerac. The rooms are cramped, the bathrooms small but OK and there are no frills. That said, it is all clean and well run. The staff, particularly the receptionist/waiter, Antoine are efficient and helpful, and speak good English. The breakfast is the typical French offering, with fresh orange juice, croissants, pastries, jams, yogurts, fruit, cheese, coffee etc, and is actually quite good. The rooms facing the street have a nice little balcony with table and two chairs. There is a bit of street noise though, particularly from an incredibly noisy street cleaning machine which crawls around the square in the small wee hours. If you want peace and quiet, book a back room, but be prepared to forsake air conditioning. Only the front rooms have a/c so that the guests can close the windows and shut out the noise.
There is no bar and only a few chairs in reception to sit and relax in, sort of. There is a small pool at the back, surrounded by a few sun loungers and chairs and tables. The hotel can serve drinks if required. The TVs in the room offer only a few French channels, plus, oddly enough, a soft porn channel which pumps flesh at you day and night. Those with children should watch out.

If you are looking for a place to spend one or two nights, and everything better is booked, the Hotel de France will just about do. I should add, though, that the visitors book is packed with messages of fulsome praise, so it seems to suit some.
There is an excellent street market in the square outside on Wednesday and Saturday mornings.
If you are going to eat in Bergerac, go to an Italian restuarant called La Mama, on the edge of the old town. Really good, and even the French queue to get in. Avoid a modern looking place called Au Bureau, not far from the hotel. The food is terrible. Also avoid a tourist trap near the little square with a statue of Cyrano de Bergerac. Again, food is terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank watchdog54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Un point d'éclairage au-dessus du miroir du lavabo rendrait le rasage plus facile. Mécanisme de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AroCVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: rien à dire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LoneSomeLaurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Gérant at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPCH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Jean-Yves L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Gérant at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank dan080674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Gérant at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
195 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Hotel Spa du Commerce
#12 of 13 in Bergerac
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 18 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range: $88 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of Bergerac, lies the Hotel de France with a warm and friendly welcome for its guests. The hotel has 20 bedrooms, 10 with balcony facing into the old square of Place Gambetta, 10 further rooms with views on the courtyard garden and swimming-pool. The rooms are comfortably equipped to satisfy your business as well as your leisure stay: double glazing, air-conditioning, LCD TV, hair dryer, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, phone and alarm clock service…A buffet breakfast is available and can also be served in your room or by the swimming-pool in fine weather. Drinks can be served at all times. Secure private garage – limited spaces. Please book with reservation so that you are not disappointed. Place Gambetta and its 100 places also offers parking.The Hotel de France is at your entire disposal to satisfy your wishes and make your stay with us more enjoyable.TourismBergerac, the capital of the Dordogne, invites you to discover the old town, museums, French markets, its legendary cuisine (foie gras) and its famous wines (Monbazillac Pécharmant ...).The "Valley of a Thousand Castles" leads you to discover its extraordinary heritage: barge trips on the Dordogne river, fascinating medieval architecture, immortal literary authors, world famous archaeological sites and unforgettable French gardens ... all contribute to a perfect change of scenery. In order to make our guests’ stay memorable, we will advise on your itinerary and recommended restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing