We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, clean, friendly hotel with good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at Hotel du Commerce for a week with a group of 19 people for wine tasting holiday. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. My room was cleaned thoroughly every day. My room decor was contemporary and good. The bed had a new mattress and was firm but very good. Only neg was no air con (but had a fan). Many other rooms had air con. With temps around 23-26 deg it was fine. Garden at the back with seats and tables. Recommend rooms at the back as more sunny that side. I kept thinking that this hotel was much better quality than it appeared at first sight. The food was very good. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a clean, reliable, comfortable hotel in the centre of Bergerac. They provided English newspapers all the week we were there. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Specify if you need air conditioner. Back of hotel quiet and sunny. Not overlooked at back.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodview43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spa du Commerce
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Quite dated, but clean, with a comfortable bed and a good shower. Free wi-fi. The tiny lift is weird because it stops on the half landings so not good for anyone with heavy bags or who has trouble with stairs. Breakfast at €8.50 was limited and overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FliesM20P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a pleasant place to stay for a day or two on a charming square. The rooms are a bit dated, nothing fancy, but clean, welcoming and conveniently close walking distance to the old city. We were there in November so it was very quiet. I would recommend asking for a room in the back during the season because the square might get a bit noisy. The town of Bergerac is wonderful, not as large and touristy as Perigreux, beautiful old buildings. And oh la la the food!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back away from the square.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristineMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were part of a large coach party of 50. The staff were under a lot of pressure but they were lovely. They were always smiling and cheerful and worked unbelievably hard to ensure that we were happy. It is an old hotel with charecter and all that that entails. It was clean and friendly if a little chaotic at times.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here for one week with my elderly mother and my daughter. This hotel offers basic acommodation, similar to that of a Campanile. We had a room for three people which was a bit cramped and needed updating but it was clean and clean towels were provided daily.
There was a good selection for breakfast, which was an optional extra. The staff were polite and helpful.
Car parking is available in front of the hotel, free overnight and weekends, however you are not able to park Tuesday or Friday evenings prior to markets on the following days.
There are several good restuarants within easy walking distance as is the city centre. Also the railway station is nearby. The airport is about 10 - 15 minutes by car.
All in all a good base to visit the Dordogne area and the pretty city of Bergerac.

Room Tip: Park in the street behind the hotel, it's quiet and free!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendij76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed here for one night after travelling up from Spain with my friends, by car. Unfortunately, my booking had been mucked up but, the receptionist sorted things out, found me another room and gave me a discount. Price for the hotel is pretty reasonable and the rooms were nicer than you would get in an equivalently priced Travelodge in the U.K. On street parking in the Place Gambetta is extremely limited but, the hotel does offer the use of a secure private garage, a few blocks away, which was perfect for us because we had a load of stuff in our car and a motorbike to park. For a short visit this place was perfectly good and I would book the same place again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel is very central, and the location is remarkably quiet. The decor is dated but fairly clean. There is a lift, but, bizarrely, it stops at landings between the floors, so you always have to go up or down a half-flight of stairs with baggage.

The real problem is that the hotel is understaffed. The reception is helpful and pleasant - but is not always manned (sometimes the receptionist helps with meals service when the hotel is full). Service in the restaurant was dreadful - so slow and inattentive that diners were sticking their heads into the kitchen to see if anyone was alive in there. This was a shame, because the food was pretty good.

There is free parking in the square overnight, and daytime pay-parking: or you can rent a garage 5 mins walk away for €5 per day.

There is a spa, but the hotel charges €20 per day for its use. We didn't see anyone use it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ursosarctos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citotel Verotel
Citotel Verotel
#7 of 13 in Bergerac
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa du Commerce

Address: 36 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few yards away from the historical town centre, the exhibition centre and the SNCF Train Station Brithotel Spa Restaurant Du Commerce is the ideal place that allows you to discover Bergerac and the Perigord. Its restaurant will awake your culinary senses with its traditional local cuisine and its Spa area is ideal for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Spa du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing