We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner/chef but still very good”
Review of Aretes et Vous

Aretes et Vous
Ranked #46 of 135 Restaurants in Bergerac
Price range: $19 - $61
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the center of Bergerac, discovery fish specialities and original cuisine...
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“New owner/chef but still very good”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This restaurant has recently been sold (March 2014)however the new owner-chef is excellent. Sadly no more fabulous magret with the famous brioche however have just had a very delicious lunch with my husband......He had a very good asparagus salad whilst i threw caution to the wind & had new potatoes over a sort of morilles ragu.....SO bad but SO delicious!! I was then very good & had excellent oven cooked salmon with shelled broadbeans.....& there was an impressive quantity of broad beans;anyone who gives you that many all shelled is dedicated as if you have ever done it you will know how labour intensive it is!! My husband had a large piece of beautiful turbot (not often on the menu in these parts) with new potatoes & morilles. He then had cherries confited in mandarin with vanilla ice cream that he said was delicious. I had a take on tiramisu which I rather regretted as it was very creamy & not a lot of fruit. We sat outside & have to say the chairs were not that comfortable which was a shame so they need to address that issue but otherwise we had a very nice lunch,good service & all nicely presented.Not cheap as it was €80 for 2 with only one glass of house wine but it was a beautiful day.......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must do!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My parents have a holiday home in the Dordogne and we often venture into Bergerac to have a walk around the market. We regularly eat at Le Repaire de Savinien and have never been disappointed.

The warm foie gras in brioche is to die for!!!!!!! As one of our friends said "You can die a happy person after eating there!!!"

Do not miss this place!!!!!!1

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“French cuisine at its best”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I generally try to avoid eating 3 courses but the food here was so wonderful I just had to. The ambience was also good, as was the service. I friendly little place and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Highly recomendable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrocket1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent beyond expectation - do not miss”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

we came there (8 in total) on a recommendation from local winemaker. Nice and clean and simple interior, warm services (one of owners), meals described only with chalk on board, described by the service. Very good appetizers (we had foie gras, cassolet de moules+langoustines - simmmered in white wine with zucchini), Main - briche with foie gras + magret de cenard. Big brioche was filled with cream mushroom sauce (no chamipgnons, cépes) , smooth, rich, full of flavour. The hole was closed by the "decků of warm foie gras, excellenty made. Magrte de canard was also very good, soft and full of taste. Some friends had other meals, but this was a clear winner. Dessert - another supris, zabayone sauce with large pieces of fruits (melon, figue, strawberry, forest strawerry, big raspberry and several others), in a deep saucer, averything baked under grille with anic crust of the top. we had local sweet wine for foie gras, nothin excellent, but the cuvée Mademoiselle Jane from Chateau Panissau was very very good, with nice froral smell and fruit taste, velvet structure, tones of toast. We paid about 50 E per head incl service, water, several bottles of wine. The only thing we were not satisfied with was it is far from Prague were we live. The chef insisted they do nothing special except they buy absolutely fresh and high quality local products. It was too modest, they defintely know how to deal with these

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivantomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aretes et Vous also viewed

Bergerac, Dordogne
 

Been to Aretes et Vous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing