We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #105 of 135 Restaurants in Bergerac
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ended up here yesterday after failing to be served at another restaurant further up the road. They served us promptly and the food was tasty although the portions were on the small side. We didn't get any bread with our meal and our cokes were served without glasses but the owner was very friendly and accommodating. I was surprised to read such poor reviews about it as we weren't dissatisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyLWQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    29
    36
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“appauling”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Looked good from the outside, what a terrible choice we made.
Food, service and attitude not what you would expect in France.
Two couples got up and walked while we were there as not even been served for drinks and they were not busy.Late arrival of poor food and completely forgot one of our meals and were not particularly bothered.
Suggest dont eat anywhere in that square as all appeared the same .Walk one street away and completely different.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, western australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So disappointing!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Poor choice when there are so many other lovely places. Indifferent waiter with no idea of customer service. Not rude but completely disinterested. The food was poor throughout, how can you mess up salmon? Definitely advise all potential customers to keep walking. What a waste of an opportunity.

Helpful?
Thank york8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great set menu”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

La Scala had a fantastic 3 course set menu offer available when we visited including fois gras to start, duck confit as a main and a choice of dessert. It was great value and absolutely delicious. The outside dining area is lovely and there was a really nice atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeahG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only place where you can eat after 2PM”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After a lot of walking and being rejected from every place (at 1:30PM), this was the only one place that accepted us. Nice service, average food, really good location!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vdiegov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

 
Bergerac, Dordogne
Bergerac, Dordogne
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing