We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of School Cottage

Trois Maisons from the air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trois Maisons from the air
salon / kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Trois Maisons from the air
salon / kitchen
kitchen/salon
bedroom
bedroom
view from the bedroom
shower and toilet
patio area from house
patio/garden
patio to house
view of Trois Maisons from across the valley
9m x4m solar heated pool
boules
view towards the pool
across the valley from the pool
table & chairs by the duck pond
from duck pond to the cottages
local wild flower area
Roger & Roger
young chickens with turkey mum
kalkoen
mini- everyones friend
Bien Hoa
Layla
canoeing picnic
chateaux Millande
wild boar farm
water powered hand made paper factory
roque St Christophe - stone age - medieval
St Emillion wine caves
chateau bridoire
outside games chateau bridoire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Herz0g
Herford, Germany
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fabulous picturesque surroundings were its easy to switch off from day one! The kids (6,14 and 16) had the most wonderful time ever. Our six year old daughter was free to roam the premises, feed the animals, play with the dog etc. so much freedom! Our son loved hiking through the woods, swimming, feeding the animals, cuddling the chickens and the highlight of the week, driving the tractor! Our eldest daughter loved playing badmington, doing yoga underneath the trees with an amazing view, lazing by the pool with her book, shopping in Bergerac and the other town nearby which I can't remember how to spell. As the kids loved it so did we, so relaxing when the kids are happy... We specially loved Tim's Pizza oven, we're going to have to get one ! Looking forward to going back, would recommend it to families with kids all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefullness.
Liked least: The supermarket is a bit of a drive, but if your organized you don' t need to go that often.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLC21
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home - Loved it”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2013

School Cottage in the Beautiful Dordogne was like a home from home. Well furnished and very comfortable and relaxing. We travelled with our two children then aged 14 and 11 who were able to have lots of freedom and loved meeting the lovely animals there especially Mini the dog. Sarah and Tim (the owners) made us feel really welcome and introduced us to the delights of the Street Fair in Villamblard. The Cottage has a lovely BBQ area and we spent many a evening wining and dining Alfresco with our lovely neighbours. Facilities at Trois Maison were good, the pool was lovely and we look forward to visiting again. The Dordogne is a great holiday destination with loads of things to do we especially enjoyed the canoeing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed location
Liked least: No TV we visited during the London Olympics!! It's ok though as we bought the DVD :-)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aanda2015
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely rural cottages in Bergerac region of France”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We have stayed in all three of the cottages at Troismaisons and thoroughly enjoyed our holidays in this well-equipped and comfortable accommodation. We're so pleased we discovered it.

For our most recent holiday in 2014, we stayed in School Cottage, a 1 bedroomed spacious cottage with a small garden to sit out in and enjoy BBQ's in the evening and a shaded area to enjoy reading and relaxing in the heat of the day. The design of the cottages is perfect. They stay cool in the summer and there is a wood burner in each for stays during the cooler season. The kitchens are adequate for cooking indoors if necessary with an extra shared freezer/fridge facility available, as well as the one provided in your own kitchen. So you can stock up on provisions and then enjoy your time doing other things! School Cottage would easily accommodate four people by using the sofa bed in the main living area. The bed in the bedroom is comfortable and everything is rustic, but spotlessly clean.

There is a washing machine and drying area and a well stocked book, games and local information area.

The quiet location means a relaxing holiday with amenities (shops, markets, etc) nearby to make this a perfect holiday for all. The pool is a good size for the small number of guests there are at any one time. We have often had the pool all to ourselves! There are lots of things to see and do in the area too for the days you want to get out and about.

The owners, Tim and Sarah, couldn't be more helpful. They are always around to help and advise and also share their great experience of moving to the area and developing their holiday business.

Whether you are a couple, family or single and any age group, this is a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly feel
Liked least: We were happy with the whole experience
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaylaJ321
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and convenient location, with lots to see and do nearby, plus chill out and relax. Great for families.”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

In 2014 we enjoyed our fourth trip to Trois Maisons staying in the now familiar School Cottage, ideal for our family of four. The Cottage has all the basic equipment needed for the self caterer, and a private rear garden area for eating outside/bbq. There is a pool onsite which brings welcome relief when the temperatures rise, and is great for the kids and socialising with other guests.
The local village is approx 2k away, great to walk or cycle to for those that wish. Last year we visited the village distillery, and did the tour and enjoyed some sampling despite our limited French. We also enjoyed seeing the Tour and post celebration events. Previous years we have enjoyed going to the Marche Nocturne in the village and would recommend to anyone there at the right time.
Villamblard is ideally located between Perigeux and Bergerac, we have been to both, plus enjoyed several canoe trips and visits to Lascaux and various Chateaux in the area.
Short walks can be taken from Trois Maisons itself, and being a runner and cyclist I have enjoyed going around the various local quiet roads, albeit that it is hilly.
Sarah and TIm are always welcoming and can offer advice on places to go, shops, etc. The boys were gutted they missed the Pizza oven. Next time! There are various animals on location, which you are welcome to go and see. Our youngest son is horsey mad and has loved helping Sarah feed the animals.
We have also enjoyed sampling veg and fruit grown by Sarah and Tim, lovely to have truly fresh produce.
We can thoroughly recommend this as a get away from it all sort of holiday in beautiful countryside, with plenty to do and the chance to socialise too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendliness of owners.
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing