We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our best ever Holiday "”
Review of La Masion Perigord

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dordogne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Masion Perigord
Ranked #304 of 398 Specialty Lodging in Dordogne
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Recommended by us all and it was one of those Holidays you always remember with affection. The girls spent all day every day in the pool and on the one day it rained they had a pile of Disney DVD's to watch. The girls still talk about how they had the biggest Ice cream ever at the village Pizzeria and their adventures in the woods when they saw their first Wild Deer .The house was very large and comfortable with lots of space and my Mrs loved the fully equipped Kitchen especially the Dishwasher. For me just sitting by the pool with a Beer watching the girls splash about was very relaxing . We never had to find things for them to do unlike other holidays. When we did manage to get the girls away from the pool we saw Fairy Castles and took them Horse riding . One thing that suprised me was my Mum in law loved the the food especially the local specialities. Before we went the Owner provided us with great Driving directions, a list of places to Eat and a pile of Leaflets on where to go ,Very helpful and Very kind.
Would we go again Yes i would in fact we are thinking about booking another stay later in the year if available or if not definately next year .I've never been so relaxed and with such a peacful setting it was hard work going back to work.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you for your honest and accurate review. So pleased you enjoyed your holiday and loved the house and the pool. Thank you for booking a second holiday look forward to making your next visit even better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was a brilliant holiday.
What a beautiful location and a warm and welcoming house. It was our first hols to France great pool great house even my disabled brother was able to get around and enjoy the grounds. We are hoping to go back the host was very helpful with information, directions and to cap it all the weather was hot. Great September get away and the flights were cheap.
We especially enjoyed the free fruit and veg from the owners garden, the kids loved the pool and for once ignored the PS3. We had a couple of great nights at the local pizza restaurant and it is about 15 minutes walk but on a warm summer night great fun. We saw deer in the nearby forest and the starlings displaying in the valley below were an incredible sight. It is apparently a local spectacle in summer.
We had no issues the condition of the house and the upstairs fireplace is massive and impressive all the rooms are large and with Sat TV I could watch Eastenders in peace for once and the UK news. My partner even had a go at fishing in the local river which is just outside the village. We were provided with all our bedding and towels which saved us a great deal.
I have encouraged a number of my friends to book a holiday.
If it wasn't for the Olympics we'd be back in 2012 next year perhaps.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestmares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

True, honest and sincere. Thank you for your constructive and positive feedback. We do our very best to make your stay as pleasent as possible, glad the kids enjoyed it and that your disabled brother was able to take full advantage of the facilities. We look forward to seeing you again in June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is one of those holidays we will be able to laugh about in years to come but at the time it wasn’t that amusing.
We selected this place as it was well located for where we wanted, plus it had wi-fi and a pool.
The pool was great for the 1st day, but after that we were all kind of put off put off from being in it by the fact that most mornings we had to scoop out small dark brown swimming snakes and/or drowned mice from the pool.
As for the advertised Wi-Fi, as I was away during an important work project, I checked with the owner whether the Wi-Fi would need a password and if so what was it, just before we went? I was told in fact the Wi-Fi would be off when we were there due to an issue with the ‘transmitter’ in the village; however we found this clearly to be untrue, as when we were actually there, we went out in the street in front of the house, where we found we could pick up live passworded networks. So if you need to send/receive any important e-mails and don’t have 3G – this place is unreliable in terms of how it is advertised.
Local is area and local markets are lovely – but we already knew this – so do try Bergerac, just avoid this place, unless you like swimming with snakes…..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Be aware. This review is in response to my witholding the deposit. This guest caused £400 of damage and was playing music at 2.00 AM prompting a neighbour to call the police. Note the date of the review Jan 2012 this is an attempt to impact on my 2012 bookings. They also ot a friend to add a 2nd negative review, again an attempt to discredit my property ecause I refused their deposit. Below this review are two reviews from families who stayed either side of this guest and were very happy. Also note there is no actual complaint about the quality of the property
1. there was no building work this is untrue
2. a mouse in pool is hardly in my control and was removed immediately
3. the guest was warned that the Wi-Fi hard line was damaged by France telecom now restored
4. I have e-mails (which I can supply) showing the guest was 100% happy with their holiday before the deposit issue - this review is honest and malicious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Bayac is a fantastic area. The house is big and airy, slightly grubby but habitable. We were disappointed that no mention of the building work taking place was made. The large rocks made for an unpleasant environment in the parking area causing potential danger for the children and damage to our cars. In the end if was safer to park on the main road.

The swimming pool was great, but it too had danger for our children with loose tiles around the steps which meant we had to avoid that area of the steps. The weather was brilliant and we played in the pool often. However one afternoon when we were playing in the pool, one of the neighbours entered the property and started shouting at us to not make so much noise. She was very unhappy that the children were playing too loudly - this was a most unpleasant experience. It seems that there are `issues’ with the neighbours. This was a real shame and made us nervous about future use of the pool.

The house was advertised as having wi-fi and did not have any working wi-fi. Disappointing when we had planned to use our computers to obtain more information about the local area.

The owner came back with a long list of reasons for charging us more than was agreed which included taking bark off a tree in the front garden. Yes that’s right; taking bark off a tree and amongst other things for a stain on the dining room table that was there when we arrived. We were also charged for not cleaning the house properly which was laughable as it was considerably cleaner and less grubby that when we had first arrived! We really regret not taking pictures.

Several lamp holders did not have bulbs fitted when we arrived and many of those fitted stopped working during our stay – which was rather ironic as the owner charged us more for using too much electricity!

The locks on both the front door and the back door did not work properly and caused many difficulties when unlocking and locking.

A word of warning: if you do decide to stay at this property, ensure that on arrival you take photographs of every possible item inside and outside the house (don’t forget the trees). This will protect you if any dispute arises. Also best to avoid taking children as safety can be an issue and the neighbours really don’t like any noise!

Room Tip: Don't take children. Don't make noise. Take lots of pictures of items inside and outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Honest-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Be aware. This review is in response to my witholding the deposit. This guest caused £400 of damage and was playing music at 2.00 AM prompting a neighbour to call the police. Note the date of the review Jan 2012 this is an attempt to impact on my 2012 bookings. Below this review are two reviews from families who stayed either side of this guest and were very happy. Also note there is no actual complaint about the quality of the property
1. there was no builing work this is untrue
2. a mouse in pool is hardly in my control and was removed immediately
3. the guest was warned that the Wi-Fi hard line was damaged by France telecom now restored
4. I have e-mails showing the guest was 100% happy with their holiday before the deposit issue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I flew to Bergerac (the smallest airport ever) from Leeds and it couldn't have been simpler. We hired a car from the airport and staff spoke English and were wonderfully helpful.

The bar is a good walk from the property although not impossible we drove there and ate there on one occasion. I would recommend good mosquito spray and keep the shutters closed. I seem to be the only person in our party who was bitten alot and I would take more precautions if I went again.

There is plenty to see if you don't want to chill round the pool or house. The surrounding villages and caves etc. There are loads of supermarkets in the area and good places to eat that are not outrageously priced.

There is a noisy donkey which we loved and the occasional buzz of an insect but otherwise perfect silence!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank LINDA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

This family have given a true and honest review they stayed just before the negative reviewer and can confirm the house was fantastic - further evidence that the bad review above is not honest and should be disregarded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Me, my husband, kids (aged 11 & 17), parents and father-in-law all holidayed in Perigord Farmhouse for 2 weeks in August this year and loved every minute! The house is beautiful - though thanks to fabulous weather, we really only cooked, slept & showered in there. That said, on the 2 evening when the kids had had enough of us of an evening they were entertained by British television! (Not something the adults were interested in apart from when the men caught a 1960's re run of Batman!) The gazebo outside is such a bonus. It provided shade at very hot times of the day and a great place to sit at night eating and playing games; on the odd cooler night we lit the fire in the BBQ. Just bliss!

The pool had been a major selling point for us and everyone enjoyed it. Our daughter was rarely out of there! There was also enough room for us to set up our own badminton net for games, and we played boules right outside our door. The privacy of the house was of great importance for us (and another selling point) - so nice to just be with our family and chill.

There are many places to visit if you have a car though we didn't do quite as much venturing as we'd intended due to everyone being happy chilling at the house! We did go to Bergerac - lovely! And Beaumont - tiny village, but very pretty and has a great pizza place!

We picked fruit and veg from the allotment which was a lovely thing to do and we had great fun with the (very loud) braying donkey! Look out for the starlings at about 7.45 in the evening; absolutely stunning. Every night we watched in awe!

Practicalities: You do need a car. Little Louie's pizza place is within walking distance (10 or 15 mins) but not for anyone with mobility problems as it is a steep hill! There is a huge supermarket (Carrefour) about a 20 minute drive away - stock up and don't forget Sunday closing (from lunch time). A little closer (10 minute drive) were the smaller local stores which were just fine for topping up. Lovely restaurant a short drive away is Moulin de Temps. Good food and lovely staff. It looks like just a bar/tabac from outside but has beautiful gardens to the rear and a beautiful restaurant inside too. We drove from Yorkshire and Mr Walker - the owner - gave us absolutely spot on directions through France which was very much appreciated - particularly by the last 2 hour leg.

Don't forget to keep the shutters closed during the hot season!

Every one of us loved our holiday. Thank you.

The Dawsons, Leeds.

Room Tip: Excellent location for privacy and venturing out by car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FADawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

This family stayed just before the malicious reviewer and recently contacted me to say how disgusted they were that such a review could be made just because a deposit was witheld. They are puzzled as to why it is allowed when clearly untrue. If you want a true picture of the house contact these or other positive guests or me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We travelled to France in May of this year, with our two children 10years and 6 years.
The Dordogne area is very beautifull area to holiday.
We hired a car and made our way to the house. It is, in my opinion a beautifully restored farnhouse in a lovely village.
The kitchen was lovely and in my opinion, quite typically french very tastefull and the house felt warm and welcoming . A fabulous huge open fire in the living room and big dining area.
The bedrooms were lovely very french in style.Lovely views of the countryside and out to the huge garden. Bathroom and showers very clean all the house was, i feel decorated to a high standard.
The children loved the bedrooms and had a bedroom each! which they were very excited about.
We enjoyed a ccouple of meals inside but spent a lot of time outside as weather was so good. There was a lovely area outside to eat overlooking the garden, It was fantastic relaxing outside with a glass of wine especially once the children were in bed !!
The children enjoyed the outside areas ,the big garden and the pool ,whch they though was fantastic and they had so much fun splashing around not having to worry about disturbing anyone. Myself and my husband enjoyed relaxing by the pool!
Usually in the afternoon we would venture out to a near by village to buy food and wine for the evening .
We had a few lovely walks and the chidren rode their bikes, enjoying the nearby woods.
Also, if you did not want to venture out to eat the local pizzeria would deliver pizza to your door.! The children really enjoyed this holiday and would love to come back, the house is so big we would like to bring some friends next time!!
Myself and my husband had a fantastic relaxing holiday, but if you wanted to do more there are plenty of places to see and do with the children.
The house is a fantastic place to stay, i would recommend this property to anyone ,as i feel it is a special property suitable for families, young couples or anyone who likes relaxing in the french counrtyside!! Would love to go back at christmas time as think the house would lend itself to a fabulous winter break big roaring fire ,good food and good friends!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank margaretb678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofcourse, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Thank you for your review
This is a true and honest reflection of the quality of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dordogne hotels
66.4 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
223 reviews
58.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
273 reviews
25.4 mi away
Couette et Chocolat
Couette et Chocolat
#1 of 1 in Les Leches
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Chateau des Vigiers
Chateau des Vigiers
#1 of 1 in Monestier
592 reviews
63.2 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#5 of 6 in Montignac
57 reviews
25.6 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#8 of 13 in Bergerac
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Masion Perigord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Masion Perigord

Address: le Bourg, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 398 Specialty Lodging in Dordogne
Price Range: $865 - $1,930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your own beautiful 13th Century farmhouse set in private grounds with private pool. Lots of space, 5 large bedrooms and modern kitchen. 25 Mins from Bergerac Airport, daily UK flights. Great location. UK satellite tv and kids play area.Your own private pool. Set in own private gardens with lockable gates to keep youngsters safe. There is ample secure parking for up to 6 cars, 3 large south facing patios, solar shower poolside, barbecue and plenty of shade in the gardens and walnut grove. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing