We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Masion Perigord
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mounea(Marquay)(Great Value!)
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de la Fleunie(Condat-sur-Vezere)
$103
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Bergerac)
$105
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Moulin du Roc(Champagnac de Belair)
$221
$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Chateau(Beynac-et-Cazenac)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Villa des Consuls(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
$121
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
5
3
0
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
3
0
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Bayac is a fantastic area. The house is big and airy, slightly grubby but habitable. We were disappointed that no mention of the building work taking place was made. The large rocks made for an unpleasant environment in the parking area causing potential danger for the children and damage to our cars. In the end if was safer to park on the main road.

The swimming pool was great, but it too had danger for our children with loose tiles around the steps which meant we had to avoid that area of the steps. The weather was brilliant and we played in the pool often. However one afternoon when we were playing in the pool, one of the neighbours entered the property and started shouting at us to not make so much noise. She was very unhappy that the children were playing too loudly - this was a most unpleasant experience. It seems that there are `issues’ with the neighbours. This was a real shame and made us nervous about future use of the pool.

The house was advertised as having wi-fi and did not have any working wi-fi. Disappointing when we had planned to use our computers to obtain more information about the local area.

The owner came back with a long list of reasons for charging us more than was agreed which included taking bark off a tree in the front garden. Yes that’s right; taking bark off a tree and amongst other things for a stain on the dining room table that was there when we arrived. We were also charged for not cleaning the house properly which was laughable as it was considerably cleaner and less grubby that when we had first arrived! We really regret not taking pictures.

Several lamp holders did not have bulbs fitted when we arrived and many of those fitted stopped working during our stay – which was rather ironic as the owner charged us more for using too much electricity!

The locks on both the front door and the back door did not work properly and caused many difficulties when unlocking and locking.

A word of warning: if you do decide to stay at this property, ensure that on arrival you take photographs of every possible item inside and outside the house (don’t forget the trees). This will protect you if any dispute arises. Also best to avoid taking children as safety can be an issue and the neighbours really don’t like any noise!

Room Tip: Don't take children. Don't make noise. Take lots of pictures of items inside and outside the house.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Honest-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Be aware. This review is in response to my witholding the deposit. This guest caused £400 of damage and was playing music at 2.00 AM prompting a neighbour to call the police. Note the date of the review Jan 2012 this is an attempt to impact on my 2012 bookings. Below this review are two reviews from families who stayed either side of this guest and were very happy. Also note there is no actual complaint about the quality of the property
1. there was no builing work this is untrue
2. a mouse in pool is hardly in my control and was removed immediately
3. the guest was warned that the Wi-Fi hard line was damaged by France telecom now restored
4. I have e-mails showing the guest was 100% happy with their holiday before the deposit issue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I flew to Bergerac (the smallest airport ever) from Leeds and it couldn't have been simpler. We hired a car from the airport and staff spoke English and were wonderfully helpful.

The bar is a good walk from the property although not impossible we drove there and ate there on one occasion. I would recommend good mosquito spray and keep the shutters closed. I seem to be the only person in our party who was bitten alot and I would take more precautions if I went again.

There is plenty to see if you don't want to chill round the pool or house. The surrounding villages and caves etc. There are loads of supermarkets in the area and good places to eat that are not outrageously priced.

There is a noisy donkey which we loved and the occasional buzz of an insect but otherwise perfect silence!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank LINDA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

This family have given a true and honest review they stayed just before the negative reviewer and can confirm the house was fantastic - further evidence that the bad review above is not honest and should be disregarded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Me, my husband, kids (aged 11 & 17), parents and father-in-law all holidayed in Perigord Farmhouse for 2 weeks in August this year and loved every minute! The house is beautiful - though thanks to fabulous weather, we really only cooked, slept & showered in there. That said, on the 2 evening when the kids had had enough of us of an evening they were entertained by British television! (Not something the adults were interested in apart from when the men caught a 1960's re run of Batman!) The gazebo outside is such a bonus. It provided shade at very hot times of the day and a great place to sit at night eating and playing games; on the odd cooler night we lit the fire in the BBQ. Just bliss!

The pool had been a major selling point for us and everyone enjoyed it. Our daughter was rarely out of there! There was also enough room for us to set up our own badminton net for games, and we played boules right outside our door. The privacy of the house was of great importance for us (and another selling point) - so nice to just be with our family and chill.

There are many places to visit if you have a car though we didn't do quite as much venturing as we'd intended due to everyone being happy chilling at the house! We did go to Bergerac - lovely! And Beaumont - tiny village, but very pretty and has a great pizza place!

We picked fruit and veg from the allotment which was a lovely thing to do and we had great fun with the (very loud) braying donkey! Look out for the starlings at about 7.45 in the evening; absolutely stunning. Every night we watched in awe!

Practicalities: You do need a car. Little Louie's pizza place is within walking distance (10 or 15 mins) but not for anyone with mobility problems as it is a steep hill! There is a huge supermarket (Carrefour) about a 20 minute drive away - stock up and don't forget Sunday closing (from lunch time). A little closer (10 minute drive) were the smaller local stores which were just fine for topping up. Lovely restaurant a short drive away is Moulin de Temps. Good food and lovely staff. It looks like just a bar/tabac from outside but has beautiful gardens to the rear and a beautiful restaurant inside too. We drove from Yorkshire and Mr Walker - the owner - gave us absolutely spot on directions through France which was very much appreciated - particularly by the last 2 hour leg.

Don't forget to keep the shutters closed during the hot season!

Every one of us loved our holiday. Thank you.

The Dawsons, Leeds.

Room Tip: Excellent location for privacy and venturing out by car!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FADawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

This family stayed just before the malicious reviewer and recently contacted me to say how disgusted they were that such a review could be made just because a deposit was witheld. They are puzzled as to why it is allowed when clearly untrue. If you want a true picture of the house contact these or other positive guests or me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We travelled to France in May of this year, with our two children 10years and 6 years.
The Dordogne area is very beautifull area to holiday.
We hired a car and made our way to the house. It is, in my opinion a beautifully restored farnhouse in a lovely village.
The kitchen was lovely and in my opinion, quite typically french very tastefull and the house felt warm and welcoming . A fabulous huge open fire in the living room and big dining area.
The bedrooms were lovely very french in style.Lovely views of the countryside and out to the huge garden. Bathroom and showers very clean all the house was, i feel decorated to a high standard.
The children loved the bedrooms and had a bedroom each! which they were very excited about.
We enjoyed a ccouple of meals inside but spent a lot of time outside as weather was so good. There was a lovely area outside to eat overlooking the garden, It was fantastic relaxing outside with a glass of wine especially once the children were in bed !!
The children enjoyed the outside areas ,the big garden and the pool ,whch they though was fantastic and they had so much fun splashing around not having to worry about disturbing anyone. Myself and my husband enjoyed relaxing by the pool!
Usually in the afternoon we would venture out to a near by village to buy food and wine for the evening .
We had a few lovely walks and the chidren rode their bikes, enjoying the nearby woods.
Also, if you did not want to venture out to eat the local pizzeria would deliver pizza to your door.! The children really enjoyed this holiday and would love to come back, the house is so big we would like to bring some friends next time!!
Myself and my husband had a fantastic relaxing holiday, but if you wanted to do more there are plenty of places to see and do with the children.
The house is a fantastic place to stay, i would recommend this property to anyone ,as i feel it is a special property suitable for families, young couples or anyone who likes relaxing in the french counrtyside!! Would love to go back at christmas time as think the house would lend itself to a fabulous winter break big roaring fire ,good food and good friends!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank margaretb678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofcourse, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Thank you for your review
This is a true and honest reflection of the quality of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Our Dream week in BAYAC which is a tiny village near Bergerac was in August 06 which we booked through; [----]

After a good flight and lunch in Bergerac we drove to find our dream "Tastefully Restored" farmhouse. Tastfully restored as a kenel should of been the description! We were informed by the cleaner that 5 dogs were in the week before and the place wash a wash with Dog hairs! Even the dogs were allowed in the pool! The pool area which was recently constructed looked like a DIY botch job and the shower didn't work.

Inside once you got over the smell of dogs and the ugly decor the house had 5 bedrooms which weren't that bad.

The shower downstairs would be condemned in any UK prison but in France it must be fashionable. The kitchen was horrid and the fridge door wouldn't close therefore useless!

All that apart we spent most time away from the "Tastefully Restored" house and drank copious amounts of local wine to get us through the week!

Outside the property there was a sample of stone put up against the barn, it measured 1 metre high x 2m wide and was without us knowing held up by a wooden stale! One of our children brushed passed and the whole thing collapsed. Luckily nobody was killed but another reason to AVOID this place.

Finally after us leaving the property we paid for a local cleaner to clean the place up. On arrival home the owner contacted us to say the place needed 2 cleaners for 8 hours to clean the mess we had left! Amazing as we never used most of the hell hole! "Sweety Wrappers were left on the floor" and for this we got charged another 100 Euros off our deposit!

Avoid this place like the plague unless you want somewhere for your dogs to go for a week!

33  Thank DUNKMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofcourse, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2010

This is not a true reflection of the quality of this property. We have had hundreds of happy guests as our guest book confirms. These people left the house in a mess and I had to employ two cleaners for 8 hours each (as they refer to in their review) before other guests could use it. The mess was so bad we took photos and they broke a number of items as well. I withheld the deposit and in response they posted this unpleasant review. We always encourage feedback and are happy to make improvements; the house has a four star rating from the local tourist office. I will ask all my guest now to post the positive reviews - this is the only way to deal with these kind of reviews.
I appreciate that guests should be able to express their opinions of accommodation freely but please do consider this review in light of the circumstances it was written. The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews