We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday!”
Review of La Masion Perigord

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Masion Perigord
Ranked #281 of 370 Specialty Lodging in Dordogne
Leeds, Yorkshire
1 review
“Fab Holiday!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Me, my husband, kids (aged 11 & 17), parents and father-in-law all holidayed in Perigord Farmhouse for 2 weeks in August this year and loved every minute! The house is beautiful - though thanks to fabulous weather, we really only cooked, slept & showered in there. That said, on the 2 evening when the kids had had enough of us of an evening they were entertained by British television! (Not something the adults were interested in apart from when the men caught a 1960's re run of Batman!) The gazebo outside is such a bonus. It provided shade at very hot times of the day and a great place to sit at night eating and playing games; on the odd cooler night we lit the fire in the BBQ. Just bliss!

The pool had been a major selling point for us and everyone enjoyed it. Our daughter was rarely out of there! There was also enough room for us to set up our own badminton net for games, and we played boules right outside our door. The privacy of the house was of great importance for us (and another selling point) - so nice to just be with our family and chill.

There are many places to visit if you have a car though we didn't do quite as much venturing as we'd intended due to everyone being happy chilling at the house! We did go to Bergerac - lovely! And Beaumont - tiny village, but very pretty and has a great pizza place!

We picked fruit and veg from the allotment which was a lovely thing to do and we had great fun with the (very loud) braying donkey! Look out for the starlings at about 7.45 in the evening; absolutely stunning. Every night we watched in awe!

Practicalities: You do need a car. Little Louie's pizza place is within walking distance (10 or 15 mins) but not for anyone with mobility problems as it is a steep hill! There is a huge supermarket (Carrefour) about a 20 minute drive away - stock up and don't forget Sunday closing (from lunch time). A little closer (10 minute drive) were the smaller local stores which were just fine for topping up. Lovely restaurant a short drive away is Moulin de Temps. Good food and lovely staff. It looks like just a bar/tabac from outside but has beautiful gardens to the rear and a beautiful restaurant inside too. We drove from Yorkshire and Mr Walker - the owner - gave us absolutely spot on directions through France which was very much appreciated - particularly by the last 2 hour leg.

Don't forget to keep the shutters closed during the hot season!

Every one of us loved our holiday. Thank you.

The Dawsons, Leeds.

Room Tip: Excellent location for privacy and venturing out by car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FADawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayac, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
This family stayed just before the malicious reviewer and recently contacted me to say how disgusted they were that such a review could be made just because a deposit was witheld. They are puzzled as to why it is allowed when clearly untrue. If you want a true picture of the house contact these or other positive guests or me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We travelled to France in May of this year, with our two children 10years and 6 years.
The Dordogne area is very beautifull area to holiday.
We hired a car and made our way to the house. It is, in my opinion a beautifully restored farnhouse in a lovely village.
The kitchen was lovely and in my opinion, quite typically french very tastefull and the house felt warm and welcoming . A fabulous huge open fire in the living room and big dining area.
The bedrooms were lovely very french in style.Lovely views of the countryside and out to the huge garden. Bathroom and showers very clean all the house was, i feel decorated to a high standard.
The children loved the bedrooms and had a bedroom each! which they were very excited about.
We enjoyed a ccouple of meals inside but spent a lot of time outside as weather was so good. There was a lovely area outside to eat overlooking the garden, It was fantastic relaxing outside with a glass of wine especially once the children were in bed !!
The children enjoyed the outside areas ,the big garden and the pool ,whch they though was fantastic and they had so much fun splashing around not having to worry about disturbing anyone. Myself and my husband enjoyed relaxing by the pool!
Usually in the afternoon we would venture out to a near by village to buy food and wine for the evening .
We had a few lovely walks and the chidren rode their bikes, enjoying the nearby woods.
Also, if you did not want to venture out to eat the local pizzeria would deliver pizza to your door.! The children really enjoyed this holiday and would love to come back, the house is so big we would like to bring some friends next time!!
Myself and my husband had a fantastic relaxing holiday, but if you wanted to do more there are plenty of places to see and do with the children.
The house is a fantastic place to stay, i would recommend this property to anyone ,as i feel it is a special property suitable for families, young couples or anyone who likes relaxing in the french counrtyside!! Would love to go back at christmas time as think the house would lend itself to a fabulous winter break big roaring fire ,good food and good friends!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretb678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofcourse, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank you for your review
This is a true and honest reflection of the quality of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Our Dream week in BAYAC which is a tiny village near Bergerac was in August 06 which we booked through; [----]

After a good flight and lunch in Bergerac we drove to find our dream "Tastefully Restored" farmhouse. Tastfully restored as a kenel should of been the description! We were informed by the cleaner that 5 dogs were in the week before and the place wash a wash with Dog hairs! Even the dogs were allowed in the pool! The pool area which was recently constructed looked like a DIY botch job and the shower didn't work.

Inside once you got over the smell of dogs and the ugly decor the house had 5 bedrooms which weren't that bad.

The shower downstairs would be condemned in any UK prison but in France it must be fashionable. The kitchen was horrid and the fridge door wouldn't close therefore useless!

All that apart we spent most time away from the "Tastefully Restored" house and drank copious amounts of local wine to get us through the week!

Outside the property there was a sample of stone put up against the barn, it measured 1 metre high x 2m wide and was without us knowing held up by a wooden stale! One of our children brushed passed and the whole thing collapsed. Luckily nobody was killed but another reason to AVOID this place.

Finally after us leaving the property we paid for a local cleaner to clean the place up. On arrival home the owner contacted us to say the place needed 2 cleaners for 8 hours to clean the mess we had left! Amazing as we never used most of the hell hole! "Sweety Wrappers were left on the floor" and for this we got charged another 100 Euros off our deposit!

Avoid this place like the plague unless you want somewhere for your dogs to go for a week!

Helpful?
33 Thank DUNKMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofcourse, Owner at La Masion Perigord, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
This is not a true reflection of the quality of this property. We have had hundreds of happy guests as our guest book confirms. These people left the house in a mess and I had to employ two cleaners for 8 hours each (as they refer to in their review) before other guests could use it. The mess was so bad we took photos and they broke a number of items as well. I withheld the deposit and in response they posted this unpleasant review. We always encourage feedback and are happy to make improvements; the house has a four star rating from the local tourist office. I will ask all my guest now to post the positive reviews - this is the only way to deal with these kind of reviews.
I appreciate that guests should be able to express their opinions of accommodation freely but please do consider this review in light of the circumstances it was written. The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dordogne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dordogne hotels
47.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Perigueux - Boulazac
66.4 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
204 reviews
55.9 mi away
O Bois Dormant
O Bois Dormant
#1 of 1 in Lempzours
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
189 reviews
58.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
236 reviews
40.7 mi away
Les Magnolias
Les Magnolias
#2 of 7 in Lalinde
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Masion Perigord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Masion Perigord

Property: La Masion Perigord
Address: le Bourg, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 370 Specialty Lodging in Dordogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your own beautiful 13th Century farmhouse set in private grounds with private pool. Lots of space, 5 large bedrooms and modern kitchen. 25 Mins from Bergerac Airport, daily UK flights. Great location. UK satellite tv and kids play area.Your own private pool. Set in own private gardens with lockable gates to keep youngsters safe. There is ample secure parking for up to 6 cars, 3 large south facing patios, solar shower poolside, barbecue and plenty of shade in the gardens and walnut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Masion Perigord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing