We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect get-away!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diana G
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect get-away!”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It was exactly as advertised; a very attractive rustic cottage, surrounded by rolling countryside and sunflowers, with a multitude of activities to keep us occupied. In particular we loved the "hobbit's room" upstairs and the 4-poster bedroom on the ground floor which was very suitable for my disabled husband. There were fantastic views fom all the bedrooms and there was a wonderful atmoshere as the sun set. We enjoyed barbecuesand eating on the patio but it was good to move to the dining table indoors on the cooler evenings. The bathrooms were modern and clean.

The swimming pool was well-maintained and heated, and had the most amazing number of blow -up rings, lilos and balls, and even a blow-up volleyball net which certainly kept our youngsters (aged 27 to 32!) well-occupied They also enjoyed the pool table and table tennis, and of course the cards and backgammon were in constant use.
Lizette was the perfect host and provided everything we needed.

We did regret not eating out more as prices for the lunch menu of the day were very reasonable. The restaurant overlooking the river at Lisle was fantastic (but you do need to book) and we also enjoyed Brantome where the "kids" canoed down the river and we took a leisurely cruise. A great holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities provided
Liked least: Would like more large casseroles/dishes when cooking for eight,
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jos M
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A relaxed holiday with friendly and helpful hosts in a beautiful setting with plenty to do and see.”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

For a relaxing holiday with active and 'take it easy' options to suit the family with adult children, you cannot go wrong here. Markets and restaurants to explore, river and pool swimming to try and plenty of excellent cycling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was always a place to relax, whatever the weather or time of day.
Liked least: Tricky getting phone access, unreliable reception.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiimbob
Staffordshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exactly What I Wanted”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked the cottage for a trip with a group of friends for my 30th birthday and it was exactly what I wanted.

The cottage itself had plenty of space, and loads of character and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. Rooms are all of a good size, and whilst there was only 6 in our group I don't think 8 would struggle for space at all. The kitchen is well equipped and the hamper of bread, cheese and chutney was appreciate after the day of travelling.

The cottage is very much in the countryside. The nearby villages are very small although Celles (about 5 minutes by car) has a Tabac/Bar/Boulangerie and tennis courts. Riberac is the nearest town with a supermarket, bars etc, about 20 minutes away and an excellent market on a Friday. Being i nthe countryside didn't put us off, the quietness was just what I wanted, and we were well placed to explore (Brantome - about 25 minutes away, Riberac about 20 minutes away, Perigueux - 40 minutes).

Lizette has provided plenty of options to keep yourself occupied; we played plenty of table-football, swing-ball, table-tennis and even made use of the trampoline.

Only one little complaint - the wi-fi wasn't available inside, but as we'd booked somewhere in the country to get away from it all, I'm really not upset by this!

Would absolutely stay again and thanks Lizette for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character, pool, location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, accommodation and local restaurant
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing scenery”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great place to be based for touring the area but also perfect for chilling by the pool and gentle walking! Definitely recommend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing