We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Campsite in France.”
Review of Manzac Ferme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dordogne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzac Ferme
Ranked #10 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Dordogne
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Campsite in France.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having stayed in a number of campsites over the years we have come to the conclusion that Manzac Ferme is without doubt the best campsite in France. This was our second visit and by no means our last. From the moment you arrive you are greeted and welcomed as special guests and nothing is too much trouble. The site is spotlessly clean, surroundings beautiful and Georges, Margaret, Laurence and Vera are wonderful hosts. We can guarantee you will not be disappointed if you go and we will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TraceyA707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
82
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first proper camping trip and we really enjoyed camping at this site, which has a gorgeous set of tent pitches down in the trees by the stream and some more open caravan hook-ups up the hill near the farmhouse. It's a very small site, so easy to carry things up and down from the parking spot outside the house, and not far to trek to the excellent and clean toilets/shower block. The caravaners all seemed to be touring British retirees very much enjoying themselves! However, the site was lovely and quiet, and we were one of only two tents there during our three nights.

Georges, Margaret, Laurence and Vera were very helpful in all ways. We can highly recommend the services they offer: buy some of the wine they sell and sit amongst the trees eating cheese and listening to the sounds of nature (but bring insect spray); enquire about hiring bikes and take them off to the lake at St Estephe for a swim (the bike hire company will deliver and pick up the bikes to/from the site); borrow Vera's bespoke local map and explore the rolling countryside (buy supplies at the bakery and shop at Abjat-sur-bandiat - or stop at the pub there and chat to the resident ex-pats!); visit the knife factory at Nontrons (and buy one: excellent for cutting sausage); and take a canoe down the Dronne at Brantome (though not sure I'd recommend the 'tour' of the Château de la Hierce, which only gave access to the overgrown garden and mainly involved being shown laminated pictures of other chateaux!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr_Waller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antequera, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Its a small rural site, beautiful countryside,peaceful

. Facilities are kept spotlessly clean.

The thing that is special is the special people that own and run this site, You somehow feel you share their joy of being here and they welcome each and everyone that comes individually

I cannot speak highly enough about George and Margaret their son Laurence and sweet vera that will go the extra mile to help you.

We are ex-pats recently residing in Spain and we unfortunately were robbed of all our holiday money and passports on route. Before we had even arrived Margaret had contacted the UK passport office 4 times for advise for us and the next morning took us to the local police station to report and get documentation and even posted it off to the consulate at Bordeaux for us.

Even though we got off to a real shocking start to our vacation this wonderful family made things a lot better and we have been here almost 3 weeks the pleasure of experiencing Manzac Ferme will be with us always.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scham_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived at Manzac in the glorious sunshine, giving us a chance to see the beautiful site and all the pitches that are perfectly cut out amongst the woodland and alongside the river at the bottom of the site. We were greeted by Laurence and Vera who welcomed us with a tour round the site and asked us to pick our pitch so that they could mow it freshly for us! After a quick tour of the facilities - super clean every day - we were helped to carry our kit down to our chosen pitch and Vera brought us homemade banana muffins and a caffitiere of fresh coffee! I have never had such a warm welcome at a campsite before, the hosts really care about you staying there and the facilities are excellent. Unfortunately we could only stay for one night due to a severely leaking tent and some extreme Dordoigne rain! We will be back next year for sure.

If you visit one campsite in France... make it this one! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: There are a selection of pitches - caravans at the top of the site & tent pitches at the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJamesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 2 weeks here last August and could not fault anything. The owners Georges and Margaret were excellent hosts and made us feel at home immediately (and we were camping!) as did Laurence and Vera. Fantastic small, adults only, quiet campsite in wonderful countryside. Showers hot and clean everyday. I can not rate or recommend Manzac Ferme high enough, so much so we have already booked to go again August 2013!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank TraceyA707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We wanted an adult only site where we could take our little dog. We were not disappointed, as Manzac was everything we had hoped. Lovely and quiet, nice big pitches among the trees - a plus in the hot weather. Caravans are at the top of the site.

The owners are friendly, helpful and available to answer questions.

The shower block is spotlessly clean and the showers are good and hot. There is plenty of information on hand - maps for local walks and leaflets for sightseeing.

What we liked most was the quiet and peace of the site - a lovely holiday. We would definitely return to Manzac and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Spent the first week of my holiday in France at Manzac Ferme and can highly recommend this lovely, peaceful, small adults only camp/caravan site. The owners, a lovely english family are very friendly and helpfull, transport is needed as nearest shops etc are about 5 miles away, although within walking distance is a lovely restaurant set in an old mill, its a set menu uncluding wine and i can highly recommend it...especially the chocolat mouse.
Georges, Margaret, Laurence and Vera, the owners, make you feel really at home and nothing is too much trouble, they are new to the business, so if your a tenter or caravaner, please give them a go, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nellybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordogne
11.8 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
363 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques
#1 of 2 in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
131 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Vieille Maison de Pensol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
O Bois Dormant
O Bois Dormant
#1 of 1 in Lempzours
20 reviews
40.7 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
211 reviews
26.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Perigueux - Boulazac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzac Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzac Ferme

Property: Manzac Ferme
Address: Lieu Dit Manzac, 24300, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Dordogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking an adults-only rural retreat, offering peace and tranquillity, with the attractions of the Dordogne, Charente and Limousin all around, then look no further!We are a very small, family run, friendly and well established site, catering for caravans, motor homes and campers. The site offers the peace and quiet of a grown-ups only environment and is open March to October.We are nestled in the beautiful unspoilt Dordogne countryside and situated in the Parc Naturel Regional Perigord-Limousin, some 7 kilometres from the town of Nontron. Manzac Ferme is forest cloaked, surrounded by lakes and deserted roads. It is a truly idyllic location.Our unique site has been purposely designed to cater sympathetically and exclusively for the needs of adults and their four-legged companions.We warmly invite you to share with us the sun-blessed countryside, charmed with bird song and colourful butterflies busy pollinating the abundant flora. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing