We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in Biarritz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A great place in Biarritz”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Biarritz for 4 nights to overcome jet lag after flying from Australia prior to heading off to St Jean Pied to Port to commence the Camino Frances. this place was perfect for that purpose.

The hotel is in an excellent location and is very comfortable. On first arrival it appears a bit tired but within a short period of time you just relax into it. We were booked balcony rooms which have a nice view down to the water.

Contrary to the other reviews we did not find the staff arrogant at all but were very helpful. English is not their first language and We could not speak much French, however they helped us with whatever we needed including taxis, setting up internet access, printing off travel documents, restaurant recommendations etc.

We had a great time at Les Alizes and can recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
15
58
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here on a laid-back girls holiday with two of my friends, the hotel was so cute with an old fashioned lift and spiral staircase, and perfectly located opposite a gelato shop- make sure you visit! Our room was a decent size for the three of us, perfectly clean and had been nicely decorated. There is a safe too which is useful.The staff were friendly and helpful (especially when I stupidly managed to drop my towel out of the window into the courtyard below)! Biarritz is quite a small town and everywhere is walkable, that said the hotel is in a good location. I've seen in some reviews complaints about late night revellers, but I found the area to be quite laid back rather than "party central" and was not kept awake. However, we stayed here in June so maybe we were out of season. All in all, a great little place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

just stayed the one night prior t o flying home. Nice welcome and helpful owners. Central location right near the beach was very good . Room compact but very clean and with all facilities so good value. Unfortunately it is on a street that is used by late night revellers and our night was disrupted from 1am to past 3 am by very noisy groups returning from somewhere ... A room out the back (without sea view...) might help but can imagine this street is very busy in high season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent location, close to shops bars restaurants and the Vieux Port beach.
Easy going owner on site provided details of wifi (thankfully no password to remember). Lift and vending machines for drinks. Breakfast in rooms.
We were on first floor overlooking the street and it was quite noisy, hence we found a couple of nights enough .
Parking in Biarritz was a nightmare after about an hour we found a space in the Belle Vue underground car park at 15 euros a day whch was within a 10 minutes stroll. There is other paring nearer but it is on street and you have to be lucky!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor overlooking the street if you want a quieter room. Good for people watching but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is right on the main restaurant/cafe street, short walk to the beach and shops. There is no reception or concierge at night so you need a code to get back in. I had a top floor room which was quiet, but could be noisy on the lower floors - and in the morning there was evidence that there had been quite a party going on on the lower floors!
Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALacy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorokan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The rooms are neat & clean. There is no air conditioning but the sea breeze and ceiling fan was enough for us. The hotel is no smoking for guests however the owners smoke in the reception area and the smell travells up the stairs and throughout the halls. As a non smoker I found this unpleasant. The staff are accommodating but not great at English, even though they claim to speak English. Well priced & the breakfast was good. The street below being the most popular is very very noisy, we were unable to have the balcony doors open at night - bring ear plugs!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great value as we booked in high season. LOvely room for a couple with opening shutter door with sea views to the left and vibrant cafe scene below. Did not notice lack of air conditioning has ceiling fan and open door provided plenty of comfort. Free internet and a safe were very handy. friendly staff and clean rooms. Great stay for the money and you cannot fault the location.

Room Tip: Central to everything and great value for a small hotel so close to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.0 mi away
Brit Hotel Marbella
Brit Hotel Marbella
#31 of 64 in Biarritz
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Gamaritz
Le Gamaritz
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palym
Hotel Palym
#32 of 64 in Biarritz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#39 of 64 in Biarritz
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz

Property: Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
Address: 13 rue du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Alizes Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing