We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, unpretentious and beautiful food”
Review of Baleak

Baleak
Ranked #114 of 348 Restaurants in Biarritz
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool, unpretentious and beautiful food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fantastic place to go in Biarritz- excellent food, cool ambience, nice staff and not too pricey! I would definitely recommend recommend if you want a delicious but unpretentious meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    164
    78
    44
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A 'whale' of a time”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been here twice now most recently for a birthday celebration and on each occasion it has proved to be well worth the money. It is an extremely lively and modern restaurant by French standards and the service is informal and friendly but professional at the same time. What is most impressive though is the food and the very good wine . We have had lunch both times we have eaten here so cannot comment on the standards in the evening . But lunch is a very lively animated time with a very excellent choice of specials and fixed price menus all containing some really original touches . The wine is really superb and not as can often be the case ruinously priced . All in all well worth your time and well worth the money - we are hoping to be eating at Baleak again soon .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

had a fabulous dinner at baleak, pefect fish filet and great service. Good advice on wine was part of it. We had one of the two small tables outside, which we enjoyed very much, but the inside of the place seemed cozy as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biarritz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best food yet in Biarritz”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have had mixed food thus far in Biarritz mainly due to accomodating different tastes but this restaurant has it all for fish eating meat eating and veggies -gastros alike. Melon soup vealchop and swordfish particular highlightsand mojito dessert fantastic great wines. Do not miss.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adele p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Superb staff with great attitude.
Food great - sea bass and sea bream as mains couldn't be faulted.
My wife said the Tuna tartare starter was lovely.
I had a "soupe de fraises, ile flottante a la rose meringuee" desert - an atheist's heaven !
Vibrant atmosphere - what else do you want?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baleak also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Baleak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing