We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmful”

La Cote des Basques
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.54*
and up
1 Hour Private Surf Lesson in Biarritz
More Info
$251.31*
and up
Day Surf Trip around Biarritz
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charmful”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We thought this would be just another touristy beach town, but it really proved us wrong. This coast line has a charm of its own, and it's nice to ser people enjoying it in many different ways. Also surprising, the water temperature was rather warm when we were there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    418
    42
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Surfing with kids....lov'in it !”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Before the tides change, when they are at the lows and coming back in this beach on the other side of Biarritz is magnificent. I took my eldest (9) and youngest (5) surfing and body surfing respectively. Whilst my eldest gave up on the full surfing, the sheer delight to catch a wave on a boogie-board was more than enough for her - long waves gave her a great ride and tired her out on the way back out. My 5 year old loved it, jumping the waves took more attraction and energy out of me than his sister.....but be careful as the tide moves quickly and the currents change quickly from being a fun place with youngish kids to being a tough place to manage two of them and we left as they sea approached the rocks...but wonderful fun !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickjcthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Biarritz - WARNING POLLUTION”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The sewage system can not handle the tourist crowds. When it rains the sewage system is unable to handle sewage and rainwater and the sewage is emptied out on Le Grand Plage! Due to the high levels of bacterial pollution bathing is often forbidden. Go else where! If I had known this before coming here I would have made other plans for a beach vacation!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SwedenLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,578 reviews
3,177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,133 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Stroll”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Cote des Basques is a beautiful place to stroll. We enjoyed seeing the multicolor umbrellas on the beach that added a touch of color to the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Ideal for those who "Promenade"”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Biarritz isn't as well known as it once was - but you can see how the stunning coastline attracted the original tourists. There are so many hidden features as you walk next to the ocean you never know what you'll find next.
It's a pleasant town, with plenty of shops etc, although you will need to rely on the local buses to reach the train station which is well out of town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cote des Basques also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to La Cote des Basques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing