We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”
Review of Hotel de l'Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Ocean
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Our bedrooms were Nos 4 & 5, both of which had balconies and overlooked the square and had a view of the sea. Bedroom 4 was quite small and the toilet and shower were reminiscent of a ships cabin in size. The towels were poor quality and inadequate in size. There weren't any tea / coffee making facilities. Bedroom no 5 was larger and also had a fridge. The air conditioning was centrally controlled at reception. The noise of the air con was very loud.It wasn't possible to sleep. We requested that it was turned off. Safe in bedroom 5 broken. Only 1 bed room key available, for two people sharing. Very peculiar!
Receptionists friendly and helpful. Don't buy bottled water from hotel bar. 4 litres cost approx €26!!
We paid nearly €200 per room per night, with 2 people sharing. Breakfast Not included. Definitely far too expensive for hotel of this standard which is basic but clean. You are paying a premium rate for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patriciamoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    100
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
40
115
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is OK. Normal 3 stars, what to say else. Old towels (really small), small bathroom and a separated toilet. Uncomfortable old furniture on the balcony. Poor cleaning.
But the worst experience was hotel's restaurant: overpriced food/drinks and terrible waitress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronika_17_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived here on a warm day and really liked this very busy beach side town. We probably would have liked our stay even more if we were not in the Annex room which although it had a little garden and was opposite the church was distinctly cell like. The bed upstairs was very comfy but the sofa bed downstairs was not. Still we didn't spend much time there but made the most the close by surf beach, the crepe cafe on the way to the beach and very pretty view from the cafe. The price of 193 for our rather musty Annex room was way too high we thought, but Biarritz is a popular place plus they charged extra for the sofa bed. Location is great, central and in the heart of things.

We didn't have breakfast there as there are loads of eating places very handy. We got a great take away lunch from Miremont on the Place Georges Clemenceau!

Room Tip: Don't think I would want to stay in the Annex room again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgrunfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Little difficult to find but once there ideal location. Staff helpful friendly. Balcony rooms good for people watching---did not find them noisy even on Fete weekend. Added bonus watched firework display from balcony and orchestra concert next evening. Safe in room not working and was not mended during our stay.
Food fine.
Would recommend but be prepared to store car in underground parking---fairly highly priced.

Room Tip: Room on front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sut2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the centre of the city.
We live in a family room which is rather comfortable, but you get the impression that everything is very cheap here and can easily be broken. Moreover, there are problems with the shower.
The hotel is certainly not suitable for a long stay. The price is too high for what you get.
Staff is not really helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KsushaYagubova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our second year staying in this hotel, we tag it on to our keycamp holiday. We booked the family room, which as 2 double beds. We really love this hotel, the rooms are very clean and the decor is lovely. Its a great location near to the beach and shops. The restaurant attached is excellent and very child friendly. The staff are very friendly. Perfect for a stay in Biarritz, cant recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janea74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in mid May on a Saturday night. No parking at the hotel-had to use underground public parking lot at excessive price .Hotel very clean but restaurant food very
poor. Hotel in central location and because of this exceptionally noisy until the early hours of the
morning. Can not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wickedwoolacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Silhouette
Hotel de Silhouette
#19 of 64 in Biarritz
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcyon
Hotel Alcyon
#16 of 64 in Biarritz
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ocean

Property: Hotel de l'Ocean
Address: 9 Place Ste Eugenie, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL DE L'OCEAN IN BIARRITZ offers a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The 26 air-conditioned rooms in this renovated (june 2012) hotel have been decorated in a fresh and cosy 'Atlantic' style and are spread out over 2 floors. Many of them have a delightful sea view from the balcony. Here you are in the heart of Biarritz, right by the sea, above the Fishing Port. Sit comfortably on the terrace of the hotel's restaurant-brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Ocean
De l Ocean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing