We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
297
250
66
39
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
250
66
39
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming hotel sized hotel star hotel great central location would stay again restaurants and bars market reception centre tub
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 666 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at La Maison du Lierre for 1 night in July.
The hotel is excellently located for walking to shopping, beach and restaurants.
The staff couldn’t have been more helpful and pleasant.
The hotel is a family run quaint building in which customer care has been well thought through.
Breakfast on the terrace was perfection!!
If you are looking for something different to chain hotels, then La Maison du Lierre is the perfect alternative.
We will certainly be back........

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre D, Responsable réception at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Dear Madame,

We thank you for your kind review.

All our team is happy to see that you had a great stay at la Maison du Lierre and that you will be back among us if you have the opportunity.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, the charm of our house and our Brekfast.

We would be pleased to welcome you again for your next trip.

Kind regards,

Sarah
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

It was a pleasure to stay in this traditional hotel with lovely staff. It is very well located for both town and beach. The decor reminds one of (better) past times and the whole hotel reflects a regency style. Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
254pierre267, Responsable réception at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you very much for your review
.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us, especially thanks to the service of our team, our location and the decoration of our house.

We would be happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Biarritz.

Kind regards,

Sarah
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

The hotel was very enjoyable. It was in a great location that wasn't too noisy from people partying at night. When I arrived the receptionist provided refreshments and then went through the process of check in. He was very helpful and his english was very good. The hotel has an elevator and I took it up to my room.

Unfortunately on entry to the room I smelled a strong mildew smell. I was concerned this would be a problem, but once I opened up the balcony doors the smell started to dissipate.

Overall it was a great stay, but they need to do something about the mildew.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vincentsordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre D, Gérant at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Monsieur Sordo,
Thank you for your detailed review,
We are pleased to see that your overall experience was a success,
Regarding the Mildew you smelled in the room, we sincerely believe its is only due to the black soap we use to clean the wooden flooring. And as you got the room a little before usual check-in time, it had not fully dried.
Furthermore, the room you stayed in was fully refurbished two months ago and no mildew was to be found.
We will however, continue to inspect our rooms and double-check them prior arrival.
Thank you once more, Monsieur Sordo, for helping us improve our general service quality.
Best regards.
Oihan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Very pleasant and helpful staff. They easily rescued me from across the Jardin
Public as taxis were not operating due tp The World Cup. Rooms were clean and
fresh and it has a Lift . Lovely garden in front. I confirm what a previous reviewer
said about the steps; A handrail fitted on at least one side would help oldies like me
Well located for most of the delights of Biarritz.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre D, Gérant at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Madame, Monsieur,
Thank you for your detailed review,
It is always a pleasure to acklowledge that our guest enjoyed they stay with us,
We would like to remind you that we have a lift in our Maison and that there is handrails on each side of our steps.
Best regards.
Oihan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

We booked 4 rooms for a family stay. I loved the property for its charm and friendliness. The location was perfect...just a few short blocks to the main street, tons of food options, the beach and the open market. It's like staying in someones mansion! But this is not a 5-star hotel. No A/C (it was warm for late June), basic-plus for room amenities, and breakfast was decent. However, the staff was extremely kind and helpful in accommodating our requests. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank slpaynesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre D, Responsable réception at La Maison du Lierre, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear Madame, Dear monsieur,

We woudl like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at la Maison du Lierre, especially for its location, charm and the service of our team.We take good notice of your remarks concerning the room amenities and breakfast in order to always improve the quality of our guests' stay.
We wish we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next trip to Biarritz.

Kind regards,

Sarah
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews