We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!”
Review of Hotel Oxo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oxo
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Such a welcoming and helpfull hotel. We stayed for 6 nights in September. After a few problems with our original accommodation, we stumbled apon hotel Oxo and we're extremely happy to have found them. Perfect location, lovely clean modern rooms with great pillows! All the staff were very friendly, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 128sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    115
    42
    14
    8
See reviews for
38
138
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in August 2013. It's a fine hotel and our room was small but perfect. The hotel is well-located - about 5 minutes to the beach, and even closer to some wonderful local restaurants and bars. The staff were great and were very helpful in providing us with maps, bus and train timetables, and directions to places around town. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent hotel, clean and modern, very friendly and helpful staff. Room and bathroom were very small but got the job done ok. Breakfast was good value. Ideal base for a short stay in Biaritz and would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone planning such.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Perfect charming small hotel to access all that Biarritz has to offer. Being a frequent solo traveller I tend to take service to heart. The owners of Oxo are extremely friendly and thoughtful. I stayed at the hotel on the tail end of a surf trip and was interested in exploring more of Biarritz. The owners suggested a soak at Thalasso Spa Thalmar . They even set me up with a bathing cap and towel. It is a very local experience with families and folks of all ages getting the kinks out. The walk from the hotel was fabulous and I suggest you time it to enjoy sundowner at Les 100 Marches. As the other reviews have stated, the rooms are small but give you everything you need. Surf is in walking distance and the hotel will store your board. Try Viennoiserie down the street for morning pastry. Hard rain on my last night drove me next door to Los Dos Hermanos, a communal style seating restaurant. The hostess not so in tune to a single dinner sat me basically in the bus station. This was not unnoticed by the very animated bartender who immediately sent me a glass of champagne. He seemed to be a bit of an institution to this restaurant. A good number of regulars seem to show up for his antics. He definitely turned around the dinning experience for me. The boudin noir was delicious. Great value for the location and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYLA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in Oxo in June 2012, based on the recommendation of our younger daughter who had stayed there in 2011. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were both friendly and helpful. The room was compact but comfortable; the breakfast was good; we hope to stay there again as we enjoyed Biarritz and found the Oxo to be a great place to stay. We are not easily pleased but were very pleased with the Oxo - where the Pyrenees meet the ocean. If you go to Biarritz, make time to visit the TLB restaurant. Table le Basque - excellent food and reasonable prices. S & D M Dublin

Room Tip: Be prepared for a small room; however, I don't think this should spoil your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very friendly and service minded staff. A bit small but nice and clean rooms. Nice overall modern feel and design. Breakfast was great. A good WiFi. A perfect stay in the stunning and beautiful Biarritz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel has a very modern, clean-cut feel to it with pleasing decor and a welcoming atmosphere! The room was small and somewhat cramped but ideal for a short stay. The 'wardrobe' is in an alcove open to the room, which was absolutely fine but the lack of lighting in this part of the room made it very difficult when unpacking clothes or even trying to find them once hung up....this could easily be sorted by putting a light in the alcove. The shower room was very functional and suitable to our needs. The hotel was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are travelling during the warmer months check out about air-conditioning as the rooms are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaypeasuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parc Mazon
Hotel Parc Mazon
#33 of 64 in Biarritz
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#39 of 64 in Biarritz
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palym
Hotel Palym
#32 of 64 in Biarritz
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palacito
Hotel Palacito
#48 of 64 in Biarritz
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxo

Property: Hotel Oxo
Address: 38 Avenue de Verdun, 64200 Biarritz, France (Formerly Hotel Christina)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oxo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Biarritz, in front of the media library and the public parks, the hotel OXO is less than 3 min away from the beaches, the Casino and the congress centre. The hotel's ideal location will let you discover the town centre: the shops, the restaurants and the Biarritz market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Oxo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxo Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing