We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overnight stay of my mom.”
Review of Hotel Oxo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oxo
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An overnight stay of my mom.”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I booked a room for my mom at this hotel (around the month of May 2010). It was a last minute booking and gladly that there was still a room available. The owner was kind enough to accept our reservation at 22h00!
First impression of the hotel as we entered is good. Clean, enough space to move around and the decoration will make you feel like home. The idea of not having an elevator when you have a room on the top floor did not disturb my mom that much as the man helped us bring her suitcase. The room, even if it was small, and has limited space to move around, it was clean and neat. Cosy, warm colors on the wall. The only negative part my mom did not like was that she told me that is was very cold at night as the heater did not work that well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    116
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
138
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Expensive room bad breakfast nothing fresh.. I compared with a lovely night we spent in La Ferme de Biarritz which room plus breakfast plus service was all outstanding but a lot cheaper than Oxo.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pshopshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Breakfast was uninteresting.
The room was tiny and overlooked by a communal terrace.
The bed was too small and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pshopshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in May with my brother on a trip around Europe and was very happy with my choice of hotel. Yes I suppose the room was a little small, but I was expecting this. The room was reasonably priced, modern and kept very clean. Being Australian we could only speak English and this was not a problem and we were made to feel very welcome. We didn't try the breakfast, but every morning I walked past it I regretted not including it as it smelt and looked really nice. Overall had a great time in Biarritz and this hotel was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Based on the positive reviews, we booked for 3 nights whilst visiting the Basque country. I booked over the phone to confirm cot availability and they explained that only a superior room is large enough to accomodate one. So, we had no expectations regarding room size!
Positives - Great design, very welcoming and friendly staff. Good location, close enough to the centre (easy stroll) but reasonably quiet.
Negatives - Honestly, there were none from our perspective however, do check the room you are getting (they will be completely honest with you) because of the following:- the rooms are small, but typical for the type of hotel (I was surprised it was only a 2-star, felt like a 3-star in terms of quality, so the room size might explain it) Also, there is no lift, we were on the 3rd floor, but we were happy to walk off the ice-cream ;-)
Other tip, if coming by car, they have two parking spots at a reduced rate daily (EUR6) at the Mediatheque. Potentially worth trying to reserve them in advance (although the saving is only EUR4/day).
In summary, we felt we'd made a smart choice, it was an attractive, friendly and relaxing base to explore from and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmet2gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Imagine a "supérieure" room with a small window looking a public terrace... Otherwise, room and location are all right

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francherepue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxobiarritz, Propriétaire at Hotel Oxo, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Hello,
I regret that you have not informed us of your disappointment during your stay, we could change rooms and you give one you had with other clients. In fact this room is in high demand, precisely because it opens onto a terrace.
In addition, a window 35.4 inches x 47.3 inches does not seem a "small" window ".
Finally, you find our establishment too expensive, without specifying what you compare. I give you the facts: we are one of three cheapest hotels in Biarritz (you can check) ... obviously if you compare us to a hotel in a remote village in central France ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Located on the way into Biarritz Hotel Oxo proved to be a modern little design hotel. Nicely decorated and ideal for a short stay, the only thing missing was air-conditioning in our room but there was a large table-fan to make up for it. Also there's no lift so avoid bringing heavy suitcases.
Staff were very friendly and spoke very good English which saved me from my embarrassingly bad French skills. In my opinion it was very good value and recommended if you're passing through the area for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wuarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxobiarritz, Propriétaire at Hotel Oxo, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel.

About the size of the rooms, the U.S. rules are not the same as French. Room sizes in France for a similar hotel class, is actually smaller than U.S. hotels.
The size of our rooms is significantly superior to French standards of a hotel 2 *.

Finally, we confirm that the size of our triple rooms are identical, their arrangement may be different, you have probably suggests that some are larger: it is not the case.

Bon voyage to France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parc Mazon
Hotel Parc Mazon
#36 of 64 in Biarritz
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#39 of 64 in Biarritz
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint James
Hotel Saint James
#40 of 64 in Biarritz
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palacito
Hotel Palacito
#48 of 64 in Biarritz
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Argi Eder
Argi Eder
#46 of 64 in Biarritz
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxo

Property: Hotel Oxo
Address: 38 Avenue de Verdun, 64200 Biarritz, France (Formerly Hotel Christina)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oxo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Biarritz, in front of the media library and the public parks, the hotel OXO is less than 3 min away from the beaches, the Casino and the congress centre. The hotel's ideal location will let you discover the town centre: the shops, the restaurants and the Biarritz market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oxo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxo Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing