We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familyholiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Large - Residence
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Biarritz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Familyholiday”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great location between the Grand plage and the basque plage. Great outdoor pool. Breakfast was good. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg_SBiarritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    165
    39
    15
    4
See reviews for
132
105
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great views, nice pool, great location, vert roomy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Murphyfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visited Tues-Fri via Ryan Air, with wife and sons 14 & 17, stayed in a studio (612 overlooking pool and great sea view) which was well equipped witha good sized bathroom wity large shower and seperate tiolet. Room has twin beds and 2 bunks, plenty of wardrobe space and decent cooking facilities. Only 5 mins walk to the beach with lots of surf hire and 10 mins to main Grand Plage beach and harbour areas. Only 2 min walk to plenty of places to eat and excellent pattiseries nearby, also the market Halls and supermarket. The pool was clean, well heated and although fairly small was ideal fora short break. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and visit again if we return to Bairritz.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank GARY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Friendly and helpfull staff. Spacious and clean accomodation. Fantastic location. Accomodation is clean and spacious. Did not eat in restaurant. Would stay again and will recommend to family and friends.

n

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azerat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights last weekend and having beautiful weather for the beginning of October was a real bonus. We arrived at 12.30 and although check in was from 2, we were given our room straight away.
We were on the 5th floor overlooking the sea and the views were stunning, the best view we have ever had from a hotel room.
Our room was large clean and bright, and having read a previous review decided to bring our kettle - makes a much quicker early morning cuppa than the coffee machine. Also took a hairdryer.
Lovely large bathroom with spacious and powerful shower, great if you have small children.
As stated in previous reviews, the situation is great for beaches, restaurants and shops. We had dinner in the hotel one night, and found it reasonable and inexpensive.
In the hotel details it stated that the heated outdoor pool was open till the end of September, but when I asked at reception, they said they would keep it open as long as the good weather lasted.
We sat on our balcony trying to think of any negatives to this hotel, and the only slight inconvenience was the lack of wifi in the rooms, but it is accessible in the foyer.
I would certainly reccomend this hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: higher rooms on the sea side have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The hotel is well situated. It is walking distance from Port Viux, the Cote de Basque and the Grand Plage. Also walking distance from the Halles market.
Rooms are average to good. A little dated, but excellent for the price. We had a family room, not easy to come by in Biarritz.
Lobby staff is unbelievably helpful.
Most of the crowd is families or retired couples, mostly French of Spanish.
Excellent Value

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank khanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarrazac, France
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel is really well located for the old port in Biarritz, 5 minutes walk away and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. There is a bit of a climb back up the hill so may not be suitable for everyone. The room was spacious and clean and well equiped. Having a fridge and cooking facilities was really handy as we did our own breakfast in the morning and it was great to be able to make a cup of tea when we came back in the afternoon. There wasn't a kettle but we just boiled a small pan of water. The fridge was great for keeping the wine chilled which we enjoyed on the balcony in the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with an extractor fan not turning itself off. I told reception in the morning before going out and it was fixed when we returned. The parking was cheap, 5 euros a day for the secure garage or 3 euros a day for outside. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane4973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Residence Biarritz Ocean
Residence Biarritz Ocean
#26 of 64 in Biarritz
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gamaritz
Le Gamaritz
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Large - Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Large - Residence

Property: Le Grand Large - Residence
Address: 1, rue Dalbarade, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Large - Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Large - Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Large résidence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing