We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel in the heart of Biarritz”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alcyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alcyon
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel in the heart of Biarritz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

After looking on the reviews on this website we booked this hotel at the end of May and were not disappointed. The rooms are close together and are on the small side but had everything you would require and were actually well designed, comfy and modern. Despite practically being in the centre of the town, we got a very good nights sleep, mainly down to the blackout blinds you have in the room.

The owners were very helpful and charming and gave good advice as to what to see in Biarritz as we only had one day there. The whole hotel has a very good vibe to it and a feeling of home. The buffet breakfast was 11 EUR and is well recommended if you have a long car journey ahead as we did.

The location of the hotel is excellent, only 5 minutes walk to the beach and town centre, however you don't get the noise associated with town centre hotels. There is plenty to do in Biarritz and we really want to go back for a longer time to explore more of the town and would without a doubt use this hotel again. However if you do go by car then you would have to perfect your reverse park as there is no allocated parking and only small side roads to park on.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talby_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    109
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
250
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had already been to the Alcyon a few years ago when it was under different management, and it has improved from this previous visit. The location remains excellent being at a mid-point between key points in the town with lots of restaurants for all budgets within five minutes. Just occasionally it can be a little noisy at night when local youths on their mopeds and small motor-bikes accelerate up the hill with the sound echoing off the old stone buildings. The hotel is triangular with all rooms facing these narrow side-streets, but that's the only blemish, and you get used to it very quickly.

The hotel is extremely clean and carefully managed. Reception isn't manned 24/24, but the owners are available if required. There is no bar, restaurant or pool. It is not the place for a young, exuberant family, but for people wanting a convenient corner in a lovely town while not being in one of the more palatial hotels it is perfect. We will certainly go there again, when we return to Biarritz

Room Tip: Higher floors have roof top views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crw197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Perfect position in the centre of town, and very charming owners. Doors locked at 8.00 p.m. so make sure you let them know if you are going to be late on arrival. When booked in you are given the pin number to unlock the door.

We stayed one night and our room 204 was very small but perfectly adequate for one night's stay.

Breakfast is buffet style and extremely good.

When booking rooms in good hotels in France always go direct instead of through any booking agencies for the best rooms. I was told this by the manager of a hotel in Nime.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel not with an agency
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suseyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

When you first see the old stone corner building, with it's simple modern sign and impressive automatic glass door, you think, "this place might just be something special," and you'd be right! This family owned hotel in central Biarritz is something very special indeed! Eric and Christine welcome you into their hotel as they would welcome you into their home.

The lobby is small, but clean and tastefully decorated and the beautiful, winding, wooden staircase made me wonder about the building's history and the many grand entrances that must have been made on this very spot.

The small elevator took us and our luggage to the second floor where we found our room. The room was small, but quit comfortable and very clean. A good size bed, two night stands, a wardrobe, a small desk, a TV and a small refrigerator.... it had everything we needed. The bed linens were new, clean, crisp and white. The sliding door reveled a good sized, modern, clean bathroom; shower, sink and toilet.

We opted for breakfast each day, at 10.50 pounds each. Served from 8:00 - 10:00 offered wonderful (unlimited) coffee, served with warm milk, a selection of teas; associated breads; fruit; yogurt; meats and cheeses. Eat as much as you like, and don't worry about feeling rushed or hurried ... you won't.

The dining room/lounge area is again clean and comfortable with a television on in the background you get your dose of the day's news (in French of course but isn't that half the fun, trying to understand what the newscaster is talking about?).

As breakfast ends and our day of Biarritz exploring begins either Eric or Christine bid you a good day, and off you go... the hotel is so centrally located you are where you want to be in minutes!

In the evening Eric is all too happy to recommend a local restaurant and offers to make a reservation for you, should one be required. We tried one of his recommendations and were very pleasantly surprised. What looked to be a "tourist trap" ended up being a lovely meal with a charming waiter! Give it a try; "Les Colonnes."

All in all we loved this hotel... for us, it's the perfect size, it's charming, warm, welcoming and independently owned (which is important to my husband and I). It's the kind of place you want to go back to... and we will!

Merci Eric and Christine!

Room Tip: Next time we'll ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mwhite4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We booked to stay one night but extended for a second. The area was quite quiet following a holiday period but the hotel was lovely. A cute little boutique hotel, the rooms are not large but they have everything you could want and are clean and tidy. The owners clearly take great pride in the place, it has a classy feel that wouldn't be out of place in an up-market area of a capital city. Our car was having major difficulties and the owners were very proactive in assisting us, booking a garage nearby and even offering to 'lend us' their son to go with us and translate. When our car couldn't be fixed the owners helped investigate all possibilities until we found a suitable solution. Of our week long stay in a number of cities in France this hotel stood head and shoulders above the others. I would certainly recommend it to friends and if I were to travel to Biarritz again this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_Smith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

This hotel cannot be recommended highly enough. From crossing the threshold for the first time until departure this place was perfection personified. A must stay place! A piece of heaven on earth- a compliment not given lightly.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Prompted by the high ranking from previous reviewers, I booked for a three-night stay. I was delighted by every facet - central location but in a quiet street; a warm welcome on arrival and thereafter; clean, spacious, comfortable and characterful room. The family proprietors work as a very effective team. I will happily return and certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcyon

Property: Hotel Alcyon
Address: 8, rue Maison Suisse | angle rue du Helder, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Best Value Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#9 Family Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcyon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christine & Eric welcome you in Biarritz at Hotel Alcyon.If you are looking for a quiet, comfort and warming place, you have chosen the best place in the centre of the Basque city, Biarritz !Designed by local architect Raymond Larrebat Tudor, this building dates back from the 19th century.A complete non smoking establishment, our charming hotel and its 15 rooms has been completely renovated and modernized, well equiped with quilt on comfort bed,air-conditionning, flat screen, mini fridge, making tea & coffee facilities, safety box, phone, hair-drying, double glazing and black-out blinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Alcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcyon Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing