We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place in Biarritz for a family with small kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Biarritz Ocean
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2010

First of all, this hotel's location is just superb. Everything is within a walking distance: the Grand Plage, a lot of various restaurants, city market, shops and supermarkets. You don't have to spend money on taxi at all.
The staff at the reception speak English well, and are very attentive and helpful.
We took "Suite Quadruple Garden view". With one double bedded bedroom, one living room with full kitchen, and one alcove with 2 bunk beds and quite big balcony.
The room is spacious, toilet and bathroom a separate.
Cooking facilities is a good point at least for breakfast as you can buy here wonderful eggs from free-range hens (even bio) and make great fried (or boiled) eggs. Porridge and other types of cooked cereal (which is what our kids normally eat for their breakfast) is a thing that you not see everywhere in France, so kitchenette in a hotel room is also a good solution.
But there was, as we say in Russia, "a spoonful of tar in a barrel of honey".
First, and the biggest part of it was the absence of air-conditioning, so you have to sleep with open windows and traffic noise or noise from the people coming from the night-club and singing songs at 4 a.m. is not what helps you to sleep well, even in a room with garden view.
Second, the choice of international TV-channels is very poor, and IMHO a family-hotel should have more TV-channels dedicated for kids than just one Japanese cartoon-channel.
And third, the water heating system in the hotel is a bit strange: in the beginning water from the hot-water tap was just boiling! It is dangerous, and one of our daughters has scalded her hand and we couldn't sleep until 3 a.m. as she had pain and cried. Next day the gentleman from the service has adjusted the system, and we were told to wait a couple of days as the system is very inert. After two days we've got just cold water from both taps! Now we are waiting for the service again...
But everything else is was okay.
Conclusion: If you will book this hotel at promo-rate (as I did) this will be a very good value. But beware of noise in the night...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anton_Panasenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stayed for two nights. We were very impressed with the room.It was spacious with a double bedroom ,a lounge area with well equiped kitchenette and a very clean modern bathroom.There was a good sized balcony overlooking the garden. The receptionist was very helpful and polite. It is very well located in the centre and only a few minutes walk from the seafront. Very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Nice accomodation, friendly helpful staff close to amenities BUT no air conditioning when we were there it was very hot so unable to sleep at night either got very hot at night or opened window so were kept awake all night by noisy street traffic/pedestrians returning from late night &/or noisey neighbours on balcony. Bring earplugs - definately wouldnt stay here again because of noise

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DevonViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

In previous years we had stayed at Hotel Tonic but there wasn't any room this year so we booked in to Biarritz Ocean. The staff were friendly, I was able to be fairly lazy as they all spoke perfect English (I suppose it's a good thing as my French is awful), the decor was OK, nothing special. The room was better than I had expected, we had a self contained appartment that had a nice balcony facing the evening sun (garden view).

The only thing I would say is don't go for the continental breakfast, it's 16 euros for couple per day and you can walk just down the road to the boulangerie and get exactly the same, probably more, for about 5 euros.

All in all a good hotel, great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andy30London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

The biggest question in my mind is how does this claim to be 4 Star accommodation, while at first glance there was a fresh coat of white paint making the apartment appear clean. After a couple of minutes in our apartment the following problems were obvious: no light in the windowless toilet, the curtain was falling off the bedroom window, the breakfast bar type thing was balanced on a thin upright (attached with sealant for sinks & baths) and see-sawed when touched, the remote control for the T.V. fell apart when it was picked up, soft furnishings were grubby, the kitchen had no kettle, toaster, or microwave (not designed for convenience) and the balcony is on a busy side-street and facing in a direction that never gets the sun. When we expressed concerns we were told in excellent English, what did we expect booking cheap on the internet! We have stayed in both hotel and self-catering accommodation in many other places and this wouldn’t even be up to 2 Star standard. The description also refers to restaurant facilities that were not on site and the patio is an area beside reception with a few of the cheapest white plastic tables & chairs. Having re-read other reviews I am left wondering were these people in the same place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonegalDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed at the Biarritz Ocean from 16 to 23 June, as we wanted a lodging with cooking facilities. The property disposes of roomy apartments ( ours was about 50 sq. meters, with balcony facing the garden ) and is very conveniently located. There' s a nice bakery 1 minute from the hotel, the supermarket at Galleries Lafayette 200 meters away, and you can walk 5 minutes to the Grande Plage beach. The staff at reception desk is helpful and courteous. The are some drawbacks, though: the annoying cleanness warning signs - for example, you have to "defrost and clean the fridge before leaving" and check-out is at 10 am ( you must call someone at the reception before leaving for a final inspection ); there' s neither AC nor ceiling fans in the apartments ( at the reception they told me " it's seldom hot in Biarritz " ); internet access is restricted to a WiFi area in the lobby, so you must bring your notebook down just to check the mail. On the whole, unless you are struck by a heat wave, the balance is positive, the Ocean Residence is a quiet and friendly lodge in Biarritz.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

The apartments in the hotel are roomy – much more so than those we’ve been used to in Spain. There’s a good sized lounge/diner and the kitchen is not small either.It’s got a dish washer – but no microwave. Otherwise it’s well set up for a holiday – one could cook there. However, the hotel is in the centre of things, and there’s plenty of places to eat. They supply mini rolls, croissants and pastries for breakfast - so it’s better to walk a few steps towards town to a really great patisserie. The market is a bit further away – but well worth a visit. The main bedroom is also large, and there are two bunk beds in an adjoining alcove. There is a large bath room, The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. If you’re arriving by car – phone ahead to reserve a place in the hotel garage. Otherwise they supply a card that gets one in and out of a local car park. The only jarring note is provided by the signs which warn one to leave the apartment clean and tidy. But don’t let that put you off if you want an apartment in the middle of Biarritz. It really is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank henry.d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Haguna
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Large - Residence
Le Grand Large - Residence
#20 of 64 in Biarritz
342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Biarritz Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Biarritz Ocean

Address: 10 rue Etienne Ardoin, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: $89 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Biarritz Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Biarritz Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Biarritz Ocean Hotel Biarritz
Residence Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing