We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but beware on the location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Biarritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campanile Biarritz
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value but beware on the location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is essentially a roadside motel. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and plenty of free parking. Location is a 35min walk from the town centre - we didn't mind that but it is not a particularly scenic route (part is through an office park area and beside busy roads) and taxis were a bit of a problem at night (tip: leave before 1.45m or after 2.45am but not in between - 2am is bar closing time). Taxi costs approx. €15 at night . The hotel is also near the end of the airport runway but that caused us no issues in terms of noise - appears to be relatively little traffic at night or early morning, Would probably not stay here again because of the fact it was so far out but it is a lot cheaper than other hotels so it is worth considering in peak season.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask for one not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    124
    103
    44
    15
See reviews for
61
157
20
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a convenience stop over.whilst touring around Biarritz and Spanish border. I found the room disappointing for the Campanile chain and have seen bigger and better rooms in the Campanile Cherbourg.
It is located next to a busy highway and very near the airport - great for plane spotters as large planes take off and seem to skim over the hotel at regular intervals.
The quality of food served in the restaurant was very good, especially the buffet.
However, if like us you are tourists, read your bill carefully and question the term "divers".(extras) We did and discovered that we had been charged for vegetables which were listed on the menu as included with the meal. Naughty!
When I spoke to the restaurant manager about it, "divers" was removed from our bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you book a Campanile, you understand that they are simple places, close to main routes, designed for short stays. So, this was perfect for exactly that. On our way up from Spain to SW France, stayed one night and all was good. Nice room, good bathroom, comfortable bed and not too much noise(only heard one plane go overhead, despite being very close to the airport). Unusually, even had a kettle and makings for a basic tea/coffee.

Staff were helpful and friendly, so all in all I couldn't fault it for the one night I stayed.

Taxi into Biarritz was about €10 each way, and we had a pleasant dinner in the centre. However, it is an expensive town!

Tip: the hotel is on a main roundabout but when you leave, you can't turn left onto it from the hotel, so just go right and about 500m up the road is another, small, roundabout, do a u turn and back to the main one and out to the Autoroute!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is good for a one night stop over as right of the motorway but also next to the airport and industrial estate so noisy and not scenic. The rooms are small but clean. The restaurant does serve good quality food and was full dinner and also excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galloppinggourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here as a night stop en route to Paris from Spain. Biarritz is a lovely little place and wish we had of been able to stay longer.

First stay at a campanile for around 10 years and was suitably impressed. The bathroom and rooms were simple although tastefully decorated. Great showers, looked as though a recent refurb had been completed. Staff were polite. Made booking on day of stay and paid €73 although kicked myself, as had I have booked the previous evening it would have been a bargain at only €43. Would recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here overnight when driving from Santander to Calais, The rooms are quite small but functional - it is just a basic motel, It was clean and the bed was comfy - a good shower too.
The food in the restaurant is ok too

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmondCroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were driving to Southern Spain and needed a stopover hotel. We decided on Biarrritz at it was practically halfway between Calais and Marbella. Having never used a stopover hotel before we wern't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. Whilst its appearance is nothing special more like a motel it was a Campanile Next Generation hotel. This means it had been revamped and was now a 3*, ideal just for a stopover. We had a ground floor double and 1st floor twin room on different levels. If you have a ground floor room overlooking the parking area you can practically back your car up to your room which is good. The shower was excellent in both rooms and completely new in bright white with mosaic tiling. The decor was mainly brown and lime green with white pillows and bedding. Flatscreen tv, free wifi and tea/coffee facilities in room were welcome. Breakfast was €9.50 pp but we had to leave before so cant comment on the food. We only heard 1 aeroplane overhead perhaps because it was a sunday and it is very close to the airport. The reception staff were polite and obviously there are better hotels but it was ideal for just 1 night. Biarritz itself is beautiful and well worth a stopover.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank benmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biarritz
0.5 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palacito
Hotel Palacito
#49 of 64 in Biarritz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oxo
Hotel Oxo
#36 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Biarritz Anglet
0.7 mi away
Mirano Hotel
Mirano Hotel
#17 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Biarritz

Property: Campanile Biarritz
Address: Bld Marcel Dassault - Rn10 Rond | Point Du Mousse 43 Rue Chapelet, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Biarritz 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Louvre hotels so you can book your Campanile Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing