We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a MUST see!! amazing hotel, stellar service, what a location!”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a MUST see!! amazing hotel, stellar service, what a location!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

enjoy the south of france in your own seemingly private haven! regal hotel, delicious food! check out the lunch buffet! the manager there and staff make it heaven on earth! breakfast is plentiful! spa and gym are top notch. outdoor pool is great! indoor lap pool nearby, indoor spa pool. luxurious rooms, linens, views. beach is fabulous! can rent bikes and do activities nearby at takamara. will go back for sure!

Room Tip: full ocean view, or side view, not on the side of the gym is better. but if you want to be close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anengineeredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    172
    86
    34
    12
See reviews for
177
570
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

What more could we wish for than to be staying at Hotel du Palais again. This was once the home of Napoleon and his Empress Eugenie. This isn't the orginal palace he built for her holiday home but since the roaring 20's many of the rich and famous have slept in these rooms overlooking the atlantic ocean including Edward and Mrs Simpson and Frank Sinatra. Wow! I love swimming in the indoor pool and dining in the restaurant overlooking the sea. Our bedroom is quiet and comfortable, especially the extra super size bed. Always feel so pampered when staying here in lovely Biarritz

Room Tip: I have only ever stayed in a bedroom at the rear but found this very sunny in the morning which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling through France on our honeymoon, firstly beginning of course in Paris via 1st Class Eurostar, then to Annecy - Clos des Sens, then Nice - Boscola Exedra and finally Biarritz. Upon arrival to Biarritz the coast was clouded in mist and scattering of showers. Not a great start. The very warm welcome from the staff at Du Pallais made up for the gloom outside and they were delightful and proceeded to give us a short tour before taking us to our room. My heart sank. Although the room was well appointed it overlooked the entrance car park and lacked atmosphere. It was a room, an expensive room nonetheless, but just a room. Perhaps when we mentioned to Jessica the receptionist that this was our honeymoon she returned to her post and promptly enquired with her manager and then called us in our chamber to offer us another room, which after viewing, we accepted and moved. Although the size was similar it had a side view of Biarritz and the nearby beach. It was light and airy and was very agreeable. Jessica was a star.
Despite being five star there were no simple facilities to make tea or coffee, these had to be ordered via room service and unlike equivalent hotels in the UK all room service requests were charged. €8 for a coffee seems a little on the steep side. Equally it seems that the mini bar sports very expensive water and beers.
All of the staff at the hotel of this nature were outstandingly helpful and efficient. The breakfast was utterly superb, very well staffed and beautifully presented. Breathtakingly sumptuous.
Thankfully the doom and gloom from our arrival the previous evening was rewarded the following day with warmth and sunshine as we relaxed beside the pool reading the newspapers of the day and books. The staff never once pestered for us to purchase drinks or food. This is a five star hotel and the staff have a good sense to know who the five star customers are so that the rest of us can watch our budgets accordingly. :-)
The outside pool and bathing area was superb with the heated (24 deg) 33m american style salt water pool a true gem. Once again a large array of staff were always nearby to assist and provide clean fresh towels and cushions for the loungers. A small stroll onto the nearby beach is a must as is a dip in the rolling waves that crash in from the Atlantic. Truly refreshing and a breathtaking experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel du Palais built for Napoleons overlooking Le Grande plage is truly magnificent 5 star hotel that fully lives up to the Orient Express brand. Beautiful interiors and wonderful views of the beach. The spa we had to ourselves was really nice. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The bar is a really nice setting for a nightcap and the Rottunda restaurant a great place for breakfast which is excellent. I would definitely stay here again if returning to Biarritz.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ianoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york ny
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

An old-fashioned seaside hotel. Our room had a magnificent sea view, really first rate. The room was fine, a bit tired looking. The location is central. The restaurant, la rotunde, was disgusting and an enormous disappointment. Perhaps the best of the lot in Biarritz. The location is what sets is above all others....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A fascinating old pile of fin de siècle excess, reminiscent of some of the great Canadian railway hotels in the west. Sadly, the overall grandeur of the premises has been cheapened by the many vitrines and display cases hawking 'brand name' merchandise - these are spaced every 2 meters apart throughout all the public areas of the property. Heck, there's even a display cabinet hawking Hennessy cognac given pride of place in the middle of the dining room. I'm sure this impresses nouveau riche Russians, but it does make a mockery of the hotel atmosphere for everyone else.

Service is obsequious, at times almost over the top.

Outrageously expensive - this hotel truly belongs in the "if you have to ask, you can't afford it" category, it offers no value for money spent, but it was fun to spend a night and see what life was like in the heydey of this hotel, back between the wars.

Worth a look if you are curious about history, otherwise, I'm sure that the same level of luxury and service can be found at other hotels elsewhere in the town for half the price.

Room Tip: Fall asleep to the sound of the ocean from the ocean-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Loved this hotel; authentic old-school elegance. Great location. We had a sea view. These older hotels are solid, and it was wonderfully quiet. Great linens, bed, excellent sleep quality. The bathroom, while it hadn't been updated recently, was still excellent. Loved the formal dining room. Dinner was very good, and the breakfast buffet was lavish. Service was above reproach. I didn't have any services in the spa, but did make use of the swimming pool, which was very nice and of sea water. If you love grand old hotels like I do, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 1 Avenue de L'Imperatrice, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#1 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#13 Business Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Palais 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel
Du Palais Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing