We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is a great hotel -- conveniently located, and the staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. We skipped the breakfast because it's nicer to have a croissant and coffee at one of the places right on the beach, but overall, we were very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank MMCH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 547 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

We booked this hotel with British Airways. Stayed three nights (October 6-8). The hotel is clean. Our room is nicely furnished with shower and separate toilet. The staff is friendly, spoke English and helpful. For breakfast you can have juice, coffee/espresso, tea, yogurt, croissants, la madeleine, cold meats, cheese, fruit salad (not freshly cut fruits) which is from a tin, creme fraiche, It was great to have free Wi-Fi. Location is walking distance to restaurants, shops and beach.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed here for three nights whilst in Biarritz for a rugby weekend. Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and booked it through a discount website. It was execellent value for money, rooms were clean and comfortable with a large modern shower in the bathroom.
All the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. The breakfast was plentiful and replenished regularly throughout the morning service. The small bar and lounge area were adequate for the size of the hotel and were open all hours.
Overall, an excellent hotel in this price range, close to the town's attractions and beautiful sea frontage. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touring_Tetankae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Booked this hotel through a discount website. Paid around 70 USD per night. Could not have been more satisfied. I can sleep anywhere but the wife can't, and it was fine for her. Clean, friendly, comfortable, and not small (I think the reviews listing super-small rooms are from people not used to travel in Europe as small rooms are standard but the room was in no way exceptionally small). Good shower, basically unlimited hot water. Could not really get the A/C to get truly cold but it was October so it didn't really matter and wasn't anything an open window couldn't fix. Free, high-speed wireless was great, worked fine, and allowed free, and actually functional Skyping and usual internet use. Room got changed despite a "do not disturb" sign on the door, but no unwanted 9:30am wake-ups to change the room as I have found elsewhere in France. Also, it was VERY quiet. How they found (and purchased) non-widescreen flatscreen TVs I will never know but they did. Bottom line: Exceptional value for the money, CLEAN, comfortable, and wife-friendly accommodation close to everything in Biarritz (particularly the tourist office, cafes and shopping). Stay here if you are not an uptight prince/princess. Otherwise, buck up and spend a bit more money. I would recommend this to any/all of my friends and relatives including grandparents.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelernumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

A small, well run hotel in a good location - near both the beach and shops. We had a small room, but it was clean and nicely furnished. Also has a private car park. Staff spoke good English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Droulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Twenty of us arrived at 930 on 3rd Sept and nearly all of the rooms were ready for us to use. Check in was simple and the staff are very friendly and spoke very good English in response to our pigeon French, giving us free French tuition. The rooms are small but how long do you spend in them really ? The shower room was very modern with a large shower and a plus being the seperate wc room. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and the town centre. Make sure you visit the small harbour at the far end of the cove as the restaurants here serve magnificent fish. (Allée Port des Pêcheurs). They managed to serve us all with very tasty hot food, an achievement considering the number of us. The fact that the restaurants are packed with the locals speaks for itself. Breakfast was eat all you like and served quickly (even if the tables are small, so what ?)
Check out was simple and very efficient. Top marks.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wotnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Biarritz. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. It had no frills and if its luxury you're after this might not be the right place! However it was a perfect base for sightseeing and walking distance from everything in the town.. Go to the city-market before 1pm, take a walk along the sea front to the cliff and go to a bar called MARCHE. Nice city, but can definitly see everything in 2 days! Very quiet nightlife. Note: most of the city closes down for siesta.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
641 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kemaris
Best Western Kemaris
#23 of 64 in Biarritz
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz

Address: 19 ave de la Reine Victoria, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range: $70 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Escale Oceania*** Biarritz is ideally located 328 yards from the main beach and a few minutes on foot from the Casino, the Palais des Congrès, the thalassotherapy centre and the Phare Golf course. You'll want to experience as soon as you can our warm and professional welcome and 43 rooms completely renovated in 2008 offering modern conveniences and quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing