We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in Biarritz”
Review of Hotel Gardenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gardenia
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Hotel Gardenia is a cute little family run hotel. The rooms are very clean and look like they have been recently re-painted/carpeted. It is located on a quiet street which is about a 5-10minute walk to the beach. There are some nice little cafes and bakeries around the corner from the hotel. The people at the front desk are nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANSSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

Biarritz is an expensive place as we found when visiting for the weekend to watch Gloucester vs Biarritz at rugby. This hotel is simple and unpretentious, but for Biarritz is excellent value for money. The hosts are charming, rooms a bit simple and old fashioned, but perfectly clean. Very quiet location - but only 5 mins walk to the town centre or beach.
If you're lucky you can park on the road outside. There is wifi available for €2.
Breakfast is simple, but good value at €6 (the price of a beer in town).
We ate at Hernani and Bistrot Les Halles - both of which were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesmoCheltenham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We were a party of 9 people and booked Hotel Gardenia for a couple of days during Easter vacation in Spain (the frontier is quite close to Biarritz, a 30 minute drive)
The hotel is wonderfully located iwhithin the city center, close to several bars and restaurants.
The couple in charge were extremelly friendly with us, even they pointed us where to park the car without paying.
The rooms have been recently redecorated with bathroom ensuite, all of them were different but really nice.
Breakfast is a must, since we did not take it the first morning and we should have done it, because it happened to be really expensive and pricey in a place not very far away. We paid a lot of money for a whitecoffee and a croissant (4€ for the coffee and nearly 5 for an orange juice-although delicious-) while in the hotel breakfast was 6€ for coffee, juice, croissant and toast with butter and jam.
the area really deserves a visit and I would really recomend going to that place, double room is not more than 55€ and as I said is a clean and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Stayed with a group of 13 rugby fans for Biarritz v Cardiff Blues.
Hotel opened especially for the weekend of the game. Had a great weekend, hotel was accessible and affordable, important in Biarritz where prices were eye-watering with the weak pound. Owners Annie and Serge were lovely hosts and very informative and accommodating. Hotel only a five minute stroll from anywhere and there was a restaurant de nuit only a minute away, perfect for late night singsongs. Have breakfast at the hotel, only 6 euros, and well worth the value. Highly recommended for a sound, no-frills stay in a very beautiful area.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank Vandal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

The Hotel Gardenia provided everything I was looking for in a hotel - - small, friendly, clean, in a quiet location and friendly on-site owners. What more could one ask? The room was spacious with a window on an interior courtyard, and the street was residential, but within easy walking distance of the town centre and the front. The breakfast room was clean and pleasant, with a wide variety of breakfast choices. There was even a resident cat and dog, so I felt right at home. Biarritz is an incredibly beautiful spot, and I was was grateful to have found such a lovely base to view it from (thank you, previous Trip Advisor posters!). If you are looking for a clean, reasonable, quiet and friendly spot, this is the hotel for you. I would also recommend taking a day trip to Bayonne, another majestic Basque location.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank bawndhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint James
Hotel Saint James
#40 of 64 in Biarritz
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parc Mazon
Hotel Parc Mazon
#38 of 64 in Biarritz
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
#55 of 64 in Biarritz
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#37 of 64 in Biarritz
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argi Eder
Argi Eder
#45 of 64 in Biarritz
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia

Address: 19, avenue Carnot, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range: $65 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gardenia 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing