We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classical French House”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Garnier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Garnier
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classical French House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a superior room. Room 2. There are 7 rooms in this place and it was centrally located. Room was spacious and was very clean. It is centrally located and for the prices in Biarritz, it was worth the money. The owners were nice and friendly. The place is secure and didnt feel like a hotel, more like a house. Id recommend and would stay there again if i go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlynch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Maison Garnier has only seven rooms and likes to be considered as a B&B. It is well located in the center of town but not with a view on the ocean. Our room was on the second floor (third floor by US standard) and there is no elevator. Don't count on the owner or an employee to help you with your suitcase even if you are elderly.

The room was rather small and unattractive. The only antique in the furnishings of the room was the TV set. The windows were so high that you could see only the sky, you would have to climb on a chair to see the street.

At 105 Euros for one night the room was not a bargain. Maison Garnier has 3 stars, but a two stars rating would be more appropriate.

We skipped the continental breakfast they charge 13 Euros per person. At that price you can get a decent breakfast for 2 in a café close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlington_VAJc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

The hotel is located up a busy one-way street several blocks from the beach and casino. Our room was #3 on the second floor. The bedroom was spacious, exceptionally clean and well kept with comfortable furnishings, TV, twin beds made up as a double, bedside tables with reading lamps. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious with a shower, two sinks, toilet, hair dryer, plenty of hot water. The outdoor balcony shutters can be closed to soften early morning light and the balcony window doors can be closed to keep out street noise. The top floor rooms have air conditioning. Our room had a standing fan which we didn't use in early June. The first floor has a breakfast room and a small but inviting reception/waiting area. The proprietors are most accomodating and speak English for those who do not speak French. The hotel has good security. All in all, this is a charming, friendly hotel and a good value. It is very close to bars, restaurants and shopping. The hotel would not be suitable for someone who has a problem walking up and down a hill - much of Biarritz involves walking up and down elevations with the exception of the beach Casino area to the Hotel du Palais

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

This is a very nice little hotel in the heart of Biarritz, just a few blocks from the waterfront, with the feel of a B&B. Good sized room, clean, and adequate hot water. A bit noisy at night with the windows open, as there are a few "townie" bars just down the street, but otherwise pretty quiet.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirdRail_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Maison Garnier. We enjoyed this holiday more than any other and would thoroughly recommend Maison Garnier as an excellent place to stay. Patrick and Joanne, the owners, were wonderful hosts and even invited us for some champagne one evening. The hotel itself is a wonderful example of French decor with a great ambience. The furniture is in traditional French style and the hotel is situated within minutes of the beach, museums, casino and great restaurants, shops and bars. We stayed in 2 different rooms during our stay and both were immaculate and very comfortable. We are looking forward to a return trip to Maison Garnier and Biarritz very soon!

Tony and Jenny.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Metalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

Enjoyed a pleasant 3 night stay in Biarritz in this small family run hotel which has approx. 6 rooms. The hotel is maintained by the owners and is therefore spotless. The twin room on the top floor is very spacious and contains nice period features. The hotel is very close to all amenities. I would recommend a trip to Saint jean de Luz nearby which has more going on in June than Biarritz.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Yosemitefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

We were severely mislead by the entry on the Alistair Sawday website which stated that this property was "located at the corner of a quiet street .....". The traffic noise was appalling during day and most of the night for the 5 days we stayed there. In addition, the bar next door had very loud live music on the Thursday & Friday nights which went on into the early morning hours. (We enjoy live music but this was out of key, out of time and far too loud!). On the Friday night/Saturday morning, there was a lot of shouting and yelling, bottle throwing and eventually the police arrived to calm things down. By then, we were on a count-down to leaving on the Saturday morning.

Having said all of the above the hotel staff were welcoming, the bedroom clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast good quality and adequete (although you had to let them know each evening if you wanted breakfast the next day). There was only a small internal lounge area to sit which smelt a little musty. There was no outdoor area to relax. The property itself was centrally located within Biarritz and it was within easy walking distance of all the 'tourist' areas/attraction and many good restaurants.

If you have a reduced hearing problem or are deaf, then this is the hotel for you!

Biarritz itself has been taken over mainly by the Surfing fraternity and is not the well heeled resort that it has been noted for in the past.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable bedrooms with comfortable beds; fresh orange juice for breakfast
  • Disliked — Very noisy traffic outside hotel; 4 flights of stairs to climb to get to bedroom; high line windows in bedroomso that no view available (rather prison like)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alwayspackless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Silhouette
Hotel de Silhouette
#19 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#26 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
La maison du Lierre
La maison du Lierre
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#25 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Gamaritz
Le Gamaritz
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint James
Hotel Saint James
#41 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Garnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Garnier

Property: Maison Garnier
Address: 29, Rue Gambetta, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maison Garnier Biarritz Authentic charming hotel of 7 bedrooms in the heart of Biarritz, with its matchless charm, Maison Garnier kept its sober and elegant character in a villa from 1876. She invites you to enjoy its bedrooms spacious and bright with relaxing day strolling through the city or its area.On entering we discovered on the left the salon, and right a charming dining room where we serve breakfast, with large windows overlooking a flowered balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maison Garnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Garnier Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing