We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Biarritz breakfast!”
Review of Milwaukee Cafe

Milwaukee Cafe
Ranked #3 of 12 Dessert in Biarritz
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since October 2011, An American Bakery/Coffee Shop right inside the wonderful Biarritz food market. We have excellent coffee and delicious fresh baked goods available every day. Cheesecake, carrotcake, brownies, muffins, banana bread, cookies, lemon shortbread and fresh hot pancakes too! We have a healthy juice bar with fresh fruit and vegetable juices available as well. Everything can be enjoyed at the counter or if you're in a hurry, take it to go! Now open since Oct 2013 our new flagship downtown location at 2 rue de Helder in Biarritz! We are very excited to announce that our new location features not only our fabulous baked goods but also delectable savory items including fresh salad, hot and cold sandwiches, chili, burgers, soup and savory muffins and a much requested Sunday Brunch. Stop by and check out the coolest coffee shop in town!
Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Biarritz breakfast!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here (having read all the great Trip Advisor reviews) for a special breakfast on my birthday, and we weren't disappointed! The pancakes are the best I've ever eaten, and the orange juice was delicious! We all had different things, ranging from cookies to cheesecake, brownies and granola. Everything we had was top quality, good old-fashioned American home baking! Staff were attentive and friendly. Definitely to be recommended when in Biarritz! Hope to go back there ourselves sometime. Thank you for a fab start to my birthday! :-)

Just one correction from a previous review: the walk from the market stall café bar to the afternoon branch is barely 5 mins (not 25 mins!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CelticGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    114
    41
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Supercute café!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Really nice café with lovely staff! Found this place when I grew tired of the dry piece of bread and jam that all the french cafés serve for breakfast. They have great pancakes and a really lovely yoghurt and granola. Came back many times on my trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmoTheOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pancakes EVER!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Starting your day with a batch of Milwaukee Cafe's pancakes and a freshly squeezed orange juice is a must do!!! Their service is efficient and they are all extremely friendly!! It is a very welcoming atmosphere and I really loved it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romeolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Biarritz”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Milwaukee cafe is a must in Biarritz. Walking through the indoor market place we came across the cafe and couldn't resist returning every day. Finally ate some of the beautiful cakes......amazing!! Wonderful staff and a great spot to sit and do a little people watching!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smileyjene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Start your day in Biarritz at Milwaukee Cafe!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Freshly squeezed juices...great coffee....delicious pancakes....freshly baked slabs of Citron Cake and Brownies...the best Carrot Cake I have ever tasted!!
All the girls at Milwaukee are extremely friendly and the service is exceptional!
So much so that my four children would make there own way to the cafe and enjoy a fresh juice and pancakes for breakfast.
My husband would wake early to be one of the first to have his morning coffee.
Miwaukee Cafe is a must for any visitor to BIarritz!
Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Cafe also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Milwaukee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing