We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Would go back in a minute.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Biarrot - CLOSED

Bistrot Biarrot
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it! Would go back in a minute.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great local food, casual setting, great prices. Everything we wanted our first night in Biarritz. The garlic shrimp were great. I even tried chipirons or calamari. So good here that I ordered it again during the weekend at a different restaurant. The duck breast in cherry sauce was excellent and the portion was huge.
The creme brulée was really good and my gateau basque (shortbread cake with cherry filling) was wonderful. Good wine added to the wonderful evening.
We were the only people in the place at 8:15pm but by 8:45pm the place was packed and now I know why. I'd come back in a flash on another trip to Biarritz.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biarritz, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've been living in Biarritz for a couple of years, and only recently discovered the Bistrot Biarrot. It has quickly become my restaurant of choice (in a place where good restaurants are not lacking). In an ambience that is perfectly relaxed and informal, one finds here excellent ingredients transformed into mouth-watering cuisine with skill and care typical of more pretentious (with respect to price) establishments. Here, everything is done with discretion- from the handsome decor, to the the authentic warmth of the owners and staff, nothing is overdone and everything is as it should be. No whistles and bells, just excellent food and very nice people. The menu comprises a perfectly balanced offering of basic and sophisticated, notwithstanding its justly restricted size that allows for only fresh ingredients. Enough said, the Bistrot Biarrot is a gem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinsonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ate here on sat 13th Oct. Fabulous and great value. Waiter did not speak English but we were given English menu to explain food. The best meal we had in biarritz. Loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch first day, dinner second day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived in Biarritz by train at lunchtime on a warm late September day and set off to find the Tourist Office and somewhere to eat outside that looked as thought it might be good but wasn't too expensive. Heading for the former, we found - by chance - the latter, i.e. The Bistrot Biarrot, having decided against several pavement cafes on main road as being too noisy. The Bistrot is up a street at rightangles to the main promenade with an attractive looking exterior and tables set on the pavement along one side at which we sat. When ordering, we were presented with a well-thumbed and slightly torn menu in English as well as the main menu which initially didn't augur well; after all, most people travelling in France can decipher French menus even if their general French isn't fluent. However we selected from the French menu - as a previous reviewer mentioned, no English is spoken, but this really doesn't matter. A salad and a glass of wine seemed appropriate, but what a salad! Listed as a hot goats' cheese and avocado salad, it was a meal and a half in itself. There were four crisp toasted slices of french bread (crostini) and on each there were two generous slices of warm goats' cheese. The basis was 3 or 4 lettuce varieties with a delicious dressing, and added to this was Bayonne Ham, avocado, tomato, onion et al and on top of the whole thing was a fried egg. It sounds odd, but was brilliant. We had a pichet of red wine - we didn't expect it to be fine wine and it sure wasn't, would have been better to have decided on something of better quality or done without! We were only in Biarritz for two days and returned to the Bistrot the next night. Perhaps rather unadventurously I had the same salad, but my companion had one of the evening specials, kidneys in red wine with all the necessary accompaniments. I had a taste and wished I had also chosen it, it was absolutely delicious. Again we sat outside, this time it was much noisier as it was the end of a weekend and people were driving home - but, as visitors, you tend to look on this as entertainment rather than as irritation. The Bistrot is obviously a favourite with Biarritz locals as on each visit it filled up quickly with people to whom it was obviously familiar, which naturally made the service rather slow. I was torn between giving it 3 or 4 stars but, on balance, although it's not an outstanding restaurant, decided on 4 because we had enjoyed the atmosphere of the place as much as the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaptagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you are in Biarritz you have to take the time to dine at Bistrot Biarrot. We had an amazing culinary experience. Francois and Francoise, the owners, were as gracious as can be. The chef, Francoise, prepared a foie gras with cherry coulis that is a must have! The cote de boeuf that was best I have ever had, tender, juicy and cooked perfectly. I don't remember what the name of the dessert was but it was a pastry with a hazelnut cream that was to die for. Francois, the master bartender, helped us with the perfect wine selection. The service was outstanding, super attentive without being annoying. Located just a block from the beach, we took in a breathtaking sunset over the sea. I could go on and on but see for your self, you'll be happy you did.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Biarrot also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing