We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 3 stars hotel with heated swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect 3 stars hotel with heated swimming pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We got our room within 5 minutes upon arrival; the reception was efficient and we paid 90 euros inclusive breakfast.
To my opinion, this 3 stars hotel is perfect what belongs the equipments: this place was obviously renovated a short time ago and I can't see anything to improve.
The buffet breakfast was really good (with some original Tropicana orange juice served!).
I have only one recomandation to the management: could you please allow the sound of the television in the room to be a little bit lounder?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrik_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    274
    49
    9
    0
See reviews for
74
331
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed 11 nights at the Karitza. Lovely hotel Spotlessly clean and fresh. . Friendly ,helpful staff. Ideal location, close to Biarritz centre and beach. Great breakfast ,quantity,quality and variety of food excellent. Bright ,newly decorated bedroom with airconditioning of course. We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely go back there. Easy access to bus transport and train from Bayonne to Lourdes , Saint Jean Pied de Port. etc. Would love to have had more time there. Beautiful weather also .Great place to stay.Felicitations et merci beaucoup to all at the Hotel Karitza. A bientot !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was a lovely place to spend 3 nights. It was a very close walk to the centre of Biarritz (under ten minutes) and for those that like a pool there was an outdoor pool,

The room itself looked to have been recently decorated with a seaside theme so all the finishing touches were fresh. The room was fairly small but I just use it for sleeping and the odd late afternoon rest so there was no need to be bigger. The bathroom was again newly done up but small and they provided shampoo/gel etc. The lady at the front desk helped us to navigate to Saint-Jean de Luz and the coach station etc in a friendly manner. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
274 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights at the Best Western Plus Karitza. I have no idea why this was a "plus". My room on the 3rd floor overlooked the outdoor pool, and had an ok view, certainly not a spectacular ocean view, that if I had, would have been at a much more expensive property. This hotel was not an inexpensive place, compared to several other 3 and 4 star hotels I stayed at during a long trip to Europe. The room was incredibly small. It had a tiny open closet just as you entered the room, a bathroom with sink, toilet, and a shower that a was so small that a person who was fat would have had trouble fitting in it. It had a nice bed, but no where to put anything. I ended up squeezing my suitcase on the floor and it was a tight fit. No mini refrigerator as is usual for many 3 and 4 star places. The location was not too bad and was a short walk down to the main area and the Grande Plage. Overall it was just ok, nothing special. There was a big market just across the street.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly (and english-speaking) staff. Location good with just a gentle stroll to the centre of Biarritz. Advantage having its own private swimming pool and grounds. Rooms very well serviced. would definitely recommend and stay at the Karitza again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room overlooking the swimming pool and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsDunkerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice hotel in good condition.
Great to have accessto the swimming pool whn the beaches are crowded!
The room was clean and quiet.
The staff was helpful and the hotel is well located once you found the shortcust to the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dongo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Lots of customers seem to have had a good experience at this hotel - and certainly the location, off street parking and pool are all pretty good. For me though, something went wrong with the booking process and I came a way feeling ripped off.

When I booked this through the Best Western website I booked an Executive Room and breakfast for three nights at 150 Euro per night - on arrival we were given a standard room. I complained about this and as there were no Executive Rooms left vacant they offered some additional toiletries as compensation. It then turned out that the booked deal including breakfast didn't in fact include breakfast so to avoid any further upset I asked that they reinstate the breakfast which they agreed to. So I now had a package advertised at about 120 Euro but was paying 150 Euro. Sometimes (and especially when with family) as a customer you walk away from a conflict - the supplier knows that he's has turned you over, you know that he has and all you can do is resolve not to do business with them in the future.

This may have been down to Best Western and their booking systems but the operators of the hotel knew that this was a mess-up and didn't make any meaningful effort to put it right.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Haguna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
Address: 2 rue Guy Petit, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#13 Family Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel situated near the city centre and the beach of Biarritz; near Palais du Festival and the casino; multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Biarritz Louisiane Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing