We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Silhouette Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stunning hotel in Biarritz. The hotel is housed in a 16th Century Building but was renovated to an exceptionally high standard last year. We loved the style and cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms, especially the shuttered windows which frame the city outside beautifully. Staff were friendly, helpful and multilingual. Make sure you try the Macaroon Shop directly outside the door!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just come back from a 3 day stay in Biarritz in the Hotel silhouette and we really enjoyed ourselves. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Biarritz. It was located close to the beach and all the good bars and restaurants. It is just across the road from two very popular 'Tapas' bars , the "Bar du Marche" and the "Le Comptoir du Foie Gras" both on the Rue Des Halles for those evenings that you're just too tired to venture down into the town.

I couldn't fault the staff at the Hotel silhouette , they were all very friendly and helpful and had excellent english (for those of you with rusty french like me!) They have lovely gardens to the back of the hotel which get the sun during the day and it's a lovely relaxing place to have breakfast or even relax with a drink in the afternoon. They had an outdoor art exhibition on the friday we were there and everyone in the Hotel was invited. It was really enjoyable with free drink and nibbles and even a ballet performance ! What an unexpected treat !

The only negative thing i could possible say about the Hotel silhouette is that the room we got was very small , and there was no chance of moving as the Hotel was booked up at the time. Having said that , it was spotless, the shower was amazing and it had the most comfortable bed we stayed in during our whole two week holiday in which we stayed in 5 different Hotels in 5 different cities. And we stayed mostly in 4-5 Star Hotels , so that's saying something !

Room Tip: Room 102A is very small !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DominoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night golf break with another couple,& we were all made to feel so welcome by the lovely staff.The rooms are contemporary,& very comfortable,the only criticism is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities inthe rooms.

However,would have no hesitation in staying again,& we much preferred this hotel to the larger hotels inthe town.Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view,as this is away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfhBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Hotel de Silhouette during our honeymoon in August. As others have mentioned, the location is excellent. Lots of stores and restaurants, a grocery store and the beach are all within easy walking distance. The hotel itself has an old french exterior but is completely modern on the inside with nice decorations and a great bar and restaurant. As with many smaller hotels service was swift and excellent, we were eg able to upgrade to a larger room for free without any discussions. The nicest thing about this hotel is however its lovely garden in the back. Either you can read a book in the shade under a tree or have a few drinks by the bar or simply enjoy an excellent lunch or dinner. Not cheap but certainly worh its price. There is no pool at the back but on the other hand the beaches are nearby. The absence of a pool also means the hotel is quite with no kids playing around and stuff so great for couples. I agree with previous reviews that many of the more expensive hotels in Biarritz aren't as nice as this one. Personally I'd rather go for a drink at eg Hotel du Palais and stay somewhere more cosy and friendly like Hotel de Silhouette. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here as a special treat en route to a self-catering holiday. Arrived to be told we had been 'upgraded' to a garden room - which was lovely, but for the price (we paid E233 in August 2012) we had expected much more. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, and the hotel is well located, but the breakfast was very expensive (we didn't take it).

Room Tip: You need to ask to be looking over the garden / sea - but be prepared to pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglishFamilyAbroad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were surprised by how much we loved this hotel. We had booked additional nights at a much more expensive place in Biarritz, to "treat ourselves" for the last half of our stay, but we wish we had booked the whole time at Hotel de Silhouette!. It is a lovely boutique hotel and the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. It is not right on the beach, but it is within walking distance to the beach as well as everything else! We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Biarritz.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located in Biarritz, a short walk to the beach. As others have mentioned, there is an indoor market across the street and a variety of restaurants nearby. The hotel is quite new and feels that way. The room was spacious and we found the staff to be quite helpful. We highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Biarritz.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViequesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cafe de Paris
Hotel Cafe de Paris
#11 of 64 in Biarritz
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.2 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#22 of 64 in Biarritz
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Silhouette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Silhouette Restaurant

Address: 30 rue Gambetta | Quartier des Halles, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range: $117 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Silhouette Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Silhouette Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing