We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistrot du Haou

Le Bistrot du Haou
Ranked #115 of 344 Restaurants in Biarritz
Price range: $11 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nacka
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Friendly staff and warm welcome despite we could'nt speak french. The dessert was the best my soon ever has eaten, he told me. The qualty of the food was excellent compare to the price-level. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blixten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    71
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Can always be relied on for a good meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've been here lots of times since Jerome and Michelle have been running it and we've always found them to be enormously friendly, welcoming and helpful. They don't have a huge kitchen and there's often only one person working front of house, so service can be a little slow if they're really busy. However that's the way things are in France, so just look on it as an opportunity to have another glass of wine! And I'd rather wait and know that the chef - who's very good - didn't rush mine! Quite a varied and good-sized menu, with meat and fish specials most days. Good wine list too, and always on the mark with their recommendations for something to suit a particular dish. Basic English spoken, and they have a French-English specialist food directory (which I've never seen before!). We will go again. And again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnwiththewind47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
220 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good value local bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived just before 2pm - normal closing time - but the welcome was warm and they offered us the menu del jour which was just 15 euros per person and enjoyable. Service was efficient and so we had eaten our lunch within 30 minutes

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pipayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Saw the reviews on Tripadvisor and thought we would try Le Bistrot de haou. Glad we did the food was excellent all the way through. We had pork filet mignon with coffee sauce (unusual but good) and caramelised carrots, and Bass with red pepper and zucchini with bacon. The sabayon for dessert was wonderful. Impressed by the service- one waiter serving a busy restaurant working his socks off, never felt had to wait long, absolutely spot on. Puts restaurants with more staff to shame where it seems to be diffiicult to attract their attention, impressed with the way this guy remembered my request for a glass of wine in the middle of serving 4 other tables!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andygord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent plat du jour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Thé ingrédients for thé "plat du jour" were so fresh! The presentation of the dishes were that of a "grand cuisine", Although this is considered a bistrot with market cuisine. If you go for the menu, the prices go up considerably. This a small restaurant, all the customers were locals. Excellent overall experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 507Jose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot du Haou also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Le Bistrot du Haou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing