We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retrospection in 20/20”
Review of Biarritz by Locals

Biarritz by Locals
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.79*
and up
Walking Historical Tour of Biarritz
More Info
$117.31*
and up
Basque Cooking Class in Biarritz
More Info
$139.60*
and up
4 Hour Basque Villages Guided Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 Food & Drink in Biarritz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Biarritz by locals we offer authentic cultural, gastronomic and sport tours; whether you’re a foodie or a sportsman, you will find the tour that suits you! Join us and experience Biarritz the local way.Our selection includes Cooking Classes, Market Lunch Tours, Tapas Nights, walking historical tour, dinner at a local's surfing, cesta punta and more adventures...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retrospection in 20/20”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Been around. Multiple tours across Europe.

This is the one I remember most fondly of.

Perhaps it's just nostalgia, or the true generosity of spirit, or the genuine passion our guide had for local produce? It's hard to tell.

I still recall the crunchy freshness of the prawns, tasty cheese, wonderful duck rillette, etc.

Bravo! Keep up the good work!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TH_Mok1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    9
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off at Biarritz for an afternoon on our way to Northern Spain. The beach promenade is beautiful - great beach, beautiful buildings, great atmosphere. Would recommend on a sunny day for a splash/paddle/walk along the waters edge and a nice lunch. Take a walk up to the lighthouse, passing some great buildings

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larryshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Its such a beautiful place. What I say you should do is wait until the afternoon for the tied to be out so then you can walk to Barritz using the beaches.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephansalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent thing to do on a rainy day!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have recently got back from Biarritz and this was one of the best things we did during our stay.

It was a very wet when we arrived at the market but the tour certainly brightened up our day! Julie was a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide through the culinary delights of the Basque region and as promised we didn't leave hungry! Julie also even marked some local hot spots out on the map for our last night in the city.

I would definitely recommend this to others as a 'must do' during their stay!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DJBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were struggling to keep ourselves occupied while the unseasonal rain poured down in Biarritz, when we came across the market tour on TripAdvisor.
We contacted BBL and they were able to accommodate us the next day.
Julie enthuastically met us at the entrance to the local food market and brought us through the various local food stalls - Oysters,Sea Snails, Prawns, Foie Gras, Cheese, Meats and all washed down with delicous wine, finshed off with local Basque cake and coffee!! My belly was full for the entire day!
The tour was excellent, Julie was really knowledgable, extremely friendly plus gave us great tips on the local area with brilliant restaurant recommendations.
It truly is a great way to learn (and taste!) the decadant food of the local area and rain or shine I would recommned this to anyone.
Thanks Julie!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flashpacker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biarritz by Locals also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Biarritz by Locals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing