We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a minus rating”
Review of L'Atelier - CLOSED

L'Atelier
Price range: $28 - $78
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“a minus rating”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On arrival the host was very hostile and unfriendly. The food was worse than a cheap restaurant - just presented well .. really awful - not sure why this place has a michelin star ???? AVOID AVOID AVOID !!!!!!I would not return even is someone paid me

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    73
    24
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Biarritz”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The restaurant is located in an attractive residential shopping area just outside the town centre but within easy walking distance. It's not large and just becoming established having recently gained its first Michelin star. It's run by a couple with the husband as chef and the front of house covered by his wife. The restaurant was full on the evening we went and I think it's growing reputation means that booking is essential. The food was light and well flavoured with many highlights. A particular favourite was a tomato soufflé served as a starter. The menu changes regularly and the have good wine list with a number of 50 cl bottles. Chatting to the owner after our meal (she speaks very good English ) they are keen to provide a good service and listen to any comments
Very enjoyable evening and ranks with some of the best meals I have had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“ZERO STARS...STALE FOOD”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I went to this restaurant based on a few good previous reviews from Trip Advisor.... Regretted it thoroughly.. The service was awful the food even worse... it tasted like it had been prepared from the day before and left in a fridge and served cold or luke warm.. I would avoid this restaurant.. There are many other restaurants in Biarritz which are far far better

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent - need more restaurants like this in England!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great ambience and great food. This seems like a dream operation. Tables turned in the evening, consistent food delivered at a reasonable pace and a chef who knows what he's doing. Certainly deserves a Michelin star. Forget about "The worst dining experience in Biarritz..." more like one of the best!

Great flavours and a great competence in cooking. Pigeon was expertly cooked and tasted delicious. Would definitely return. Nothing not to like.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B10LLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont waste your time or money..food was stale and we were food poisoned”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The worst dining experience in Biarritz.. from the minute we entered we were forced to order desserts,starters and mains! The attitude of the owner towards us was condescending and rude.. the food delivered was not the same as what we had ordered from the menu.. in fact half the items were missing from our main courses! When we mentioned this to the owner she simply said 'that they thought it was best!'Absolutely diabolical attitude..avoid like the plague is my advice

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Remyshah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing