We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is 3 minute walking distance from the city center and 1 minute from the beach. A nice modern hotel, and we even found parking space (that belongs to the hotel) in the back. Service and everything was pretty good.

Unlike other hotels, the walls between the rooms seem to be pretty thick and noise-blocking, but during the night we constantly heard the noises from the street below.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitsan_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    141
    113
    43
    36
See reviews for
59
238
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was amazing. Really comfortable, cozy and very convenient, bed's really soft. It is along 1 of the main streets, just across the road from La Grande Plage beach (2mins walk) although the view is blocked by the beachfront buildings. Surrounded by eateries, bars, shops, the bus station is just behind it as well. Bathtub comes with jacuzzi features, bathrobes provided too. It was low season when I visited so it was fairly quiet in Biarritz. Wifi works well but requires re-login registration after 4hrs or requires re-entry of details after being inactive for awhile which can be a little troublesome. But overall an awesome stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

A very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Everything was beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff at the reception were very helpful with questions about where to go and how to get there from the hotel. Excellent hotel in the middle of Biarritz centre and just 2 minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bertAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have not stayed at the hotel as I have an apartment nearby.However I regularly eat there and find the set dinner at about €25 euros consistently good and good value.The atmosphere is not great but I find the food better than a number of higher priced local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just returned from a few days in Biarritz and stayed at the Grand Tonic Hotel was a little wary as had read mixed reviews. However we found the hotel very helpful when we arrive we were on the 4th floor however hubby doesn't use lifts and the girl immediately moved us to the 1st floor to a lovely room. She also gave us a map and marked the hotel and other points of interest. The hotel is a very short walk from the promenade and very central for walking to most locations. I found the staff very helpful and friendly when you pasted reception or asked for assistance. Their is a nice bar with very attentive barman.

Room Tip: We were in room 102 which had a side street view but was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way through to Spain. It claims to be a four star but I would say it is more like a three star. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. We had a room overlooking the street which I expected to be very noisy but they have very good windows so was not a problem. We didnt stay for breakfast so I cant comment on that. We had dinner at La Pizzeria - La Trattoria which is literally three minute walk from the hotel and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleymcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#26 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Property: Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Address: 58 Avenue Edouard VII, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break in the very heart of Biarritz in a charming 4 *hotel, at 2 minutes from the Grand Plage & the Casino.The Tonic Hotel Biarritz will welcome you with its 63 inspired design & comfortable rooms, and appreciate the appeal of a well-deserved break. Just feel the pleasure and quietness to be there.It will be the right circumstance to try the Restaurant LMB , local menus, quality and simplicity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing