We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz
Nearby Hotels
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$368
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$118
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$277
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$200
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$223
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcyon(Biarritz)
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz(Biarritz)
$147
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel du Palais(Biarritz)
$436
$423
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveler rating
104
200
145
70
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
200
145
70
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationshort walk to the beachcomfortable roomprivate parkinghotel restaurantcontinental breakfasta great staysea frontclarinsspain
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 565 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I love this little hotel right in the heart of Biarritz. I stay here regularly on business travel. My second time this year. The rooms are nice, not extravagant, and the beds are comfortable. 1 block from the beach, and many nice restaurants close. Staff is friendly. Restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

4+ ? Extractor fan still not working four days after we complained. No internet connection and no refund. Staff really unhelpful and aloof AND mini bar not replenished. Reception just not interested. BAD VALUE and no tea making facilities

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cainem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay in The Grand Tonic Hotel in Biarritz. After a dull day where we walked all of Biarritz - along the prom to the old fishing port and back through town - with a stop for a real hot chocolate in Miremont (founded in 1872 - the real thing) delicious! Back at our hotel we met Gaeton the Maitre d' who showed us the menu and prepared a perfect Piña Colada for me and a Gin and Tonic for my husband while we made our decisions for dinner. Decisions made and drinks drunk we retired to our room for a spa bath to refresh us further for the food ahead. We were not disappointed. To start my husband had the charcuterie plate and I had a salad of tomatoes (which the chef had gone to the bother of peeling!) with asparagus and smoked anchovies and tiny squares of goats cheese totally delicious - especially if you share! For mains my husband had the Saltimbocca de Lapin (rabbit ) and I had the Poisson Jour (scallops on a bed of leeks) Perfectly cooked. Cheese to follow with a plum conserve and to finish a chocolate plate - just gorgeous.

All iof that washed down with Bordeaux Chateau Seguin. I did have a glass of Seguin Sauvignon blanc with my scallops and it was perfect.
Great hotel to stay in, very central, and a great restaurant. We did meet the chef after the dinner and congratulated him on his food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews & were dubious but after driving around barritz one ways streets a few times it was the only place easy enough to pull over to enquire about a room. Thought the price was reasonable & after a big day of driving & a change of weather coming I really wanted a room. Happy to pay 18 euro for under hotel parking as barritz is crazy for parking & in light of rain the next day our luggage stayed dry. We had room 501 that had a view over a nice building at the back of the hotel. Lots of space, had an extra single bed in the room & still lots of room. I liked their decor, not sure if it is completely finished, but bed comfortable ( quite firm). Wifi in the room that worked no dramas. Good location to walk along the waterfront, stroll the shops etc. nice friendly lady on reception considering my lack of french. You could probably pick at small things if you want but ultimately you want location good price & cleanliness. Guess only downfall if you call it that no kettle/ coffee tea facilities, but plenty of cafe nearby. I would stay again.
Ps had nice dinner at the casino overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeTonicHotel, Directeur général at Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest
From all the staff and us, thank you for encouraging us and letting you know of your advices.
Be sure all of them will be considered. Your concerns are ours and we are very gratefull of your help.
We look forward the pleasure to welcome you again at any time
Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel four times and nothing changes. The hotel is in a great location very close to the beach but it really is looking very sad and in need of a complete redecoration. There is free parking which is great. Our room on this trip was ok and pretty quiet but the air conditioning hadn't yet been turned on so it was extremely warm. We did open the window but then we got the traffic noise so not a good solution. We had breakfast which was 15 euros per person. It was not worth 5 euros. The breakfast was really horrible with cold coffee, soggy slimy eggs and break rolls that would have doubled as door stops. On previous stays we have had breakfast in a nearby cafe and we should have done the same this time. We found the reception staff to be very helpful but could only speak good English when it suited them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeTonicHotel, Directeur général at Grand Tonic Hotel Biarritz, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are really sorry that your sojourn was so deceiving.
We are doing everything to improve the quality of the service and have changed many things, even in the Breakfast. The mattresses have also been changed again ; it is a point that we make to change it a lot . That's why we are confused that you had considered our bedding a bad point for us - Thank you to have alarmed us.
Our Air Conditioning is working all year, but we have to admit that, due to the bad weather conditions of these last months, it is still not reversed to cold air, it is still hot air...We agree that it should be time for coolness but....we are obliged to give priority to guest that are cold.
We hope that you will give us a chance again, it is really important for us.
All the staffed is joining to us to apologize for all the inconvenience and be sure that we look forward the pleasure to welcome you again and improve your impression.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews