We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, decor is a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service, decor is a little tired”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great service and view (if you can get a room facing the sea). The hotel staff from the receptionist to the concierge were extremely helpful and friendly.

Our room and the corridors leading to it were quite tired due to heavy use ... must be nearly time for a refurbishment I imagine. The room was well appointed with all the mod-cons although the toilet was tiny and bath not even close to full length. This was in a delux sea-view room!

Noise and shouting outside the hotel woke us a few times in the night - drunken people heading home after a night out? Not sure.

Overall a very decent hotel, but lacking any real sense of luxury you might expect from a ~€400/night 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    341
    118
    52
    34
See reviews for
236
601
62
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, very friendly And helpful staff. Amazing breakfast & beds.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vcantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a great hotel, offering a real 5* service! Breakfast is amazing, each morning we were looking forward the incredible buffet. We also tried the restaurant, the food quality and service are on a very high level! The Spa is incredible as well, very professional and numerous different treatments... the perfect location to relax and explore the cosy city of Biarritz!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Baptiste007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Comfortable hotel with great beds. We did experience building works but our room was changed and a special thanks to Celine the Director who organised this for us. The reception Manager Catherine was too busy to help us apparently which was surprising for a five star hotel. However the location of the hotel is very good and whilst parking is overpriced it does keep your car safe. There are some very good restaurants close to the hotel and the other ladies on reception and the concierge are both knowledgeable and very helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

professional and were happy to recommend restaurants and planned a self drive sightseeing tour when we asked. The hotel had a large lobby, the rooms were not big but very luxurious and comfortable (bed was amazing) with a lovely bathroom. We paid extra for a sea view terrace that was big enough to relax on and worth the extra. Even in October the weather was good enough to use the outside pool and the pool staff ensured everything was set up as we wanted and drinks/lunch could be brought to you from the restaurant bar.

Breakfast was delicious but it was an easy walk into Biarritz town if you preferred a simpler and cheaper option.


I booked via a 3 for 2 deal and this made the stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

Property: Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
Address: 13 rue Louison Bobet, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#8 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel and its thalassotherapy institute are located in Biarritz on the Basque Coast, just a stone's throw from the golf course and near to the town center with its luxury boutiques, cosy tearooms, theaters and museums. The hotel's bedrooms boast a balcony and terrace that overlook the magnificent beach. A breathtaking view and truly enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Thalassa Biarritz Hotel Biarritz
Sofitel Biarritz
Biarritz Sofitel
Accor Thalassa Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing