We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great solution for a surf trip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biarritz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Hostel Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent like 5 days over there and we had a great powerful time.
Jono is super friendly and their breakfast filled you up with energy. Surf is very nice and spots are quite easy to challenge. We definitely recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonamj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

A great spot. Included bikes and surfboards. An amazing, yet busy in August, town. The rooms are comfortable and definitely clean. I felt very safe there, leaving my ipad out of sight, but far from locked. Didn't have great surf, but had a great experience, with great suggestions from the management on where to eat and go, and what to see. The real complaint is that it is not too close from the "downtown" or even beachside area of Biarritz. But when you pay what you do for this place, you definitely get more than you deserve, or at least expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited the hostel in mid August and received a warm welcome by great staff who are prepared to put themselves out for you. It is a basic surf hostel but it is clean and the food is brilliant, and there's always something a bit unusual for breakfast.
We had a group that ranged from ages 11 to 50 and we were all very happy with the rooms and service. One of our teenagers is already considering an independent trip back next year. Thank you to jono, phil and Yvonne

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne2751965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with quite a few friends for the weekend in Biarritz.

It is minutes from the airport in a taxi and we had a nice welcome from the staff when we got there.

Jono and all the staff were very helpful and welcoming. We were given maps with bar locations, restaurants and places to avoid, directions to both beaches too.

The surf boards and bikes came in very handy as we tried our hand at surfing. The beach and town is a 20 minute walk, all down hill and not very strenuous. It's a little bit trickier getting back as there are not many taxis about and after being on the beach all day it can be a bit of hard work walking back.

Breakfast was served each morning between 8:30 and 9:30 and was varied too. A great way to start the day.

We took all of the bikes out on one of the days, rode them in to town and locked them up, then cycled back after surfing all day. A great idea and a nice touch for the hostel to have this in place.

If I was going back to Biarritz with friends or for some surfing, I would definately stay here (if Jono will let me ;-) ). If this was a weekend away with my wife, I'd probably stay a bit closer to town, but with friends and for surfing, it's pretty perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for three nights at Surf Hostel Biarritz after reading the other great reviews on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint.
Jono and the other staff are so hard working and friendly and helpful.
The breakfasts are delish, better than any restaurant, and set you up for a morning of surfing. Having free boards and bikes is also brilliant!
15-20 min walk from either Grand Plage or plage de la cote de basque.
Great gang of like-minded people both working and staying there, overall fabulous experience. Would go back in a flash! Thanks Jono and co!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piste_Off_Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Such an amazing place with amazing staff! Jono, CJ, Josh and the crew made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Jono's breakfast's were unreal and set us up perfectly for an adventure filled day in Biarritz. The bike hire that is included make the journey to the beach super quick and accessible. Place is clean, beds are comfy and atmosphere was chilled and relaxed. If you come to Biarritz it's the only place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't have been better. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast served each morning was delicious. It was also great to have bikes and surf boards supplied.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Éilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.8 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.9 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#37 of 64 in Biarritz
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Hostel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Hostel Bed & Breakfast

Address: Building E, Domaine de Migron, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Biarritz
Price Range: $41 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Hostel Biarritz is a relaxed 15 bed guest house ideally located in the heart of Biarritz. We are within walking distance of cote de basque's beautiful beaches and some of europe's best waves. In shared or private rooms, our welcoming staff provide you with a free breakfast everyday, free bike hire and free surf board hire.The hostel offers a fully equiped domestic kitchen and washing/drying facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Hostel Bed And Breakfast
Surf Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing