We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great modern room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kemaris
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Playa Del Rey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great modern room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room was small but not bad at all compared to other places we have stayed at in France, but we loved how new and modern the rooms were. The shower was amazing as well. They included breakfast which was really nice. It is a little further from the town, but still only a 10-15 minute walk.

This would have been a great experience, except for a rude employee that we encountered, when we were asking for help. I am not fluent in French and tried to speak a little French, but then continued in English (I had heard her speak English to someone else so I knew she knew some). Her first comment to me was "I am French" - so what if you're French, it doesn't mean you can't speak another language if you were French and you don't have to be rude about it. Not only was she rude to us during the entire encounter, she had a terrible attitude as well. I am not going to call her out on this review, but if management wants to contact me, I'm more than happy to let you know who it was.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Many thanks for compliments, our purpose is that clients are happy to stay with us. We have five categories of room and the size depends of the price and the location.If return, please call the desk to explain what you prefer size, location, balcony or not etc..and w’ill make our best to satisfy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    185
    42
    4
    7
See reviews for
39
194
15
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warringtonengland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Clean, nice staff, good breakfast, supposed to be ten minutes from the beach...perhaps 15 minutes downhill about twenty five minutes climbing very steep streets..poor bar facilities..have to either get a taxi into town or pay through the nose at a local cafe..taxis are quite expensive, the reviews stating this is perfect for Biarritz Town centre were probably marathon runners or hill climbers..it is a very hilly area..too far for most people to walk into and up the hill later.Biarittz itself is a lovely place, nice beaches,nice promenade..cafes very good, especially the sardine cafes at the beach..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for yours compliments about our hotel. We hare surprise the time you indicate to go to the down town. In fact if you control on goggle map our hotel is exactly at 500 meters from the local market area (les halles) and 800 meters from the main beach of Biarritz. Google indicate 7 minutes for the first place and 10 minutes for the second place. When you go back to the hotel it’s a little beat longer because the hotel is localized at 45 m upstair the sea…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is all that has been said - modern, contemporary, fresh, stylish design & located near the beach etc. When we arrived on a very hot afternoon we had to wait over an hour for our room yo be ready - eventually getting into our room after 4.30. Once in our room we found that it was incredibly small (the balcony was bigger than the room) and that there were no towels or soap. Later that evening, we realised our air con was not working properly and a receptionist eventually found a fan for us. Breakfast is very limited and the "hot" food is never hot - but breakfast is OK. On each of the days that we were there, our room was never serviced before 4.00. Must say, the car park was a god send in Biarritz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxcat6IsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemaris, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Kemaris, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your commentaries they help us to ameliorate our clients services .As indicated on general conditions of booking our rooms are available at 16h.In your case and infortunately you have had to wait 30 before getting into your room. We apologise .
About the room size some people prefer especially in summer, have small and big balcony,some others prefer bigger rooms .If you return please call the desk to indicate your wishes.
We have 50 different products in our buffet : we are trying to add more.If our “hot” food was never hot we apologise and examine what happened during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our 2 nd time here and will return.....This hotel is perfect for a few days in Biarritz. Friendly, helpful staff. Modern, contemporary, fresh, style design. Located on a quiet street, up a hill, only 10mins stroll from the action of the town. Great value. It is near Les halles(a fab authentic indoor food market) so get breakfast or lunch here instead of at the hotel. Only negative to this hotel are the showers which although beautiful, end up soaking the entire bathroom, as there are no shower doors. Don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12longford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good located near the beach, just a few minutes walk. Rooms are neat and clean but a bit smal. our room had at nigt a lot of incoming light from the street lanterns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#26 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcyon
Hotel Alcyon
#16 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kemaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kemaris

Property: BEST WESTERN Kemaris
Address: 34 Avenue du Marechal Joffre, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kemaris 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris Biarritz ***, located 200 meters from the beach of La Cote des Basques, allows you to visit the city walking. The hotel welcomes you in a warm and calm ambiance. You will appreciate the charm of this totally renovated structure. Enjoy all the comfort of our 48 rooms perfectly equipped (flat screen television, CNN channel and free wifi), divided into two buildings. Each room offers a decoration that combines design and natural wood, and some of them are fitted with a wide terrace. The hotel has a private car park (reservation required) which will release you from any parking obligation. Easy to access, the hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris is located only 10 minutes driving from the airport and the station. The hotel BEST WESTERN Kemaris offers 5 categories of rooms to meet your expectations and to respect your budget. Our hotel has been totally renovated (furniture, isolation, floors, walls, plumbing and electricity) during the past two years, all the rooms are furnished with quality equipments and individual air conditioning. One of the best hotel at biarritz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kemaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing