We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Biarritz, June 2013 On way to Lourdes”
Review of Hotel Maitagaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maitagaria
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel in Biarritz, June 2013 On way to Lourdes”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is very impressive as I said in the previous column. A bit dated furniture and there is a stale smell of something like very old carpet or some kind of a cooking somewhere in the building every day. Not off putting but not pleasant either.
The other thing if you are not French speaking - There is a non English speaking person behind the counter most times, except sometimes probably her son who occasionally is there for any help.
Parking is on the street sometimes you need to drive a little more to the next street.
Did not have breakfast there as it is extra, but we had outside in the local restaurants, you need to walk a bit.
So do not think it is a boutique hotel from their pics.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulle, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends.It has some art deco rooms and a charming terrace, neither of which we used. Our room was clean and smart, but a little lacking in charm ,industrial style toilet roll dispensers and small, rough towels. That said, however,the location was superb, just 5 minutes to the shops and restaurants and 10 minutes from the front. Breakfast was expensive at 10 euros per person.

Room Tip: Excellent value for Biarritz. Newly installed lift, but still a few stairs to access some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in this little gem in mid September, had a room on the ground floor with a beautiful terrace opening onto the enclosed garden that has an amazing fish tank. The room and bathroom was quite big and the bed was very comfortable and the owner was very helpful in giving information on where to go and eat in Biarritz As they were no air con we left the window open all night and there was no noise problem which was great. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground rooms facing the garden are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel itself is really nice and in a great location away from the main tourist area (but just a short walk). there is a lovely park across the road with an amazing restaurant that we went to every night cos it was so perfect and cheap! Unfortunately room 18 while very spacious and lovely was extremely noisy from the street right outside. Perhaps this would have been fine in winter with the windows closed but in summer with no air con or fans available it was pretty hot and loud - not much sleep was had at all and I think scooters should be outlawed! The owner was nice and helpful. I would recommend if you enjoy the beach to get the 1Euro bus to Anglet beautiful and uncrowded unlike Biarritz beach.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous little Hotel in a great location. My room looked out over the garden and enjoyed the morning sun. Lovely breakfast and Madame and her son where both so helpful and welcoming. Comfy clean bed and new bathroom! Very happy

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiChic2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very good choice to visit Biarritz, as it is a 10-minute walk to beaches and city centre, also 5-minute walk to Les Halles (market) and a zone full of little bistrots and bars. The downsize is that this is an old house, very well-kept, but with NO elevator and you may have to climb up to 6 flights of narrow staircases - not very convenient if your aged, have small children or a lot of luggage (in my case an 8-month pregnancy). The room was spacious, clean and well furnished, bed very comfy, large bathroom recently refurbished (no curtain on the shower though, peculiar!). Amenities are just a little sachet of shampoo and another of shower gel for two people. We had actually booked what was advertised on Booking.com as a "junior suite" but it was really a large room. For 2 stars no problem. Biarritz is pricey at this time of the year (August). Breakfst is not included (9,50 euros continental breakfast) but we preferred going down to the market where any of the bistrots will serve you café au lait and croissants or toast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice little hotel, great location near the public gardens in the centre of town. The breaky is worth getting, ask to sit on the terrace if it's a nice morning. The lady that runs it is really lovely and her English speaking son is also great and very helpful eg to get the password for the free wifi. Big comfy rooms, comfy bed nice bathroom. A bit expensive but it was peak time in Biarritz. Very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parc Mazon
Hotel Parc Mazon
#36 of 64 in Biarritz
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#39 of 64 in Biarritz
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcyon
Hotel Alcyon
#16 of 64 in Biarritz
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Gamaritz
Le Gamaritz
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacito
Hotel Palacito
#49 of 64 in Biarritz
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oxo
Hotel Oxo
#34 of 64 in Biarritz
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maitagaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maitagaria

Property: Hotel Maitagaria
Address: 34 Avenue Carnot, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maitagaria 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maitagaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing