We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, close to beach, mouldy smell”
Review of Hotel Le Caritz

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Biarritz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Caritz
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Average hotel, okay value for the price paid (seaview compensated) but the room stinked like mould and/or sewage. Would not have stayed any longer. Wifi worked well, some sunbeds on the terrace, good location in old town close to small public beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Congresstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Found this hotel by chance - literally stopped in street outside when looking for a hotel - they had rooms! It's more of a restaurant and bar with rooms - and we loved it!
Tiny reception desk in corner of bar - and no 'hotel lounge' area as such.
Had room on first floor, which had large opening windows allowing you to step onto terrace with sunbed. The terrace was shared with other rooms - no problem to us - and also, with a small physical divide, the outside bar and restaurant.
The beds were comfy, large bathroom,we had a corner room so guess might have been more spacious than some.
Breakfast was ok, but the restaurant lunch and dinner (serving food all day - so rare for France) were excellent! If you like fish or seafood then this is the place to eat! And the terraces have marvelous views over the little cove and beach.
Staff were so friendly - just loved our stay. Will be back!
Can thoroughly recommend this hotel, bar and restaurant!

Room Tip: Ours was on the first floor, which had terraces. Higher rooms had better view but no terrace or bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186220Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at hotel le Caritz during the first weekend of August '13 for 3 nights. The hotel is centrally located, literally a 1 min walk and you are on the beach (the smaller of Biarritz' 2 main beaches). The rooms were well kept and clean, as far as I remember I slept we'll so the bed must have been comfortable. The bathroom was better than in most similarly priced hotels. Lastly, the staff was great - the lady at the front desk helped book us in for some activities and provided help on more than one occasion, we enjoyed beers on the rooftop overlooking the beach. Overall, this was a great find.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed 5 nights with 2 small children in family room. Room was ideal, with 2 bedrooms and shared bathroom. A bottle of water was in the room, which was nice.

There are 3 full length french windows in the main bedroom, with one having a fantastic view over the beach. However the layout of the furniture did not make the most of the view. We rearranged things slightly so that we could position (at a squeeze), two chairs to relax and watch the sunset, etc. Also, the twin beds in the second bedroom were positioned so that you had to climb over one bed to get into the other, when there was plenty of room to have them side by side (why they have them like this, I dont know??).

Airconditioning in both rooms which is good, as you cannot leave the windows open at night due to the noise outside. At 2am each night, there is lots of signing, motorbikes, etc.

But for a family who want easy access to the beach, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_fifeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stopped at Le Caritz from 1st to 5th June 2013. Superb position overlooking a very pretty small beach. Our room on the third floor had a great view, comfortable bed and a good ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style with quite a good choice. Had lunch at the hotel one day - excellent and good value. All the staff were friendly and very helpful about giving us information on how to explore the area without a car. It was the Fetes de Vieux Port at the beginning of our stay which meant that there was a degree of noise/music until quite late at night from the large tent right next door to the hotel, but we had been warned about this by email before we arrived. The air conditioning was good so it was possible to keep the windows closed and the noise out. It in no way spoilt our holiday. Nor was it the fault of the hotel that the weather was not at all good for the time of year for two of our days there. There are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel and very many fascinating boutiques. Biarritz is a great place to wander around and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends. The only downside was the lack of a lift and climbing three sets of stairs every time we wanted to get to our room certainly kept us fit!

Room Tip: Room 304 on the third floor was very good except for the need to climb the stairs because of the lac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in probably the best position in Biarritz. We stayed there last year and although we had a lovely time we found the owner to be unwelcoming and surly in his approach to guests....unless, of course, they were from the rugby playing fraternity, in which case his bonhomie flowed.
On our most recent visit to the region we decided to call in to the Caritz to have a drink for 'old times 'sake. The attitude of one young member of staff as we entered the hotel was so incredibly rude (tetchy tone and eyes raised to the heavens when I had the temerity to ask the way to the terrace) made me do something I rarely do and that was to turn round and walk out!
Judging by the many positive reviews this hotel has received I will admit that this young lady may have been having an 'off' day but I am not sure that I will ever want to go back there again!

Room Tip: Have a room overlooking the sea...do not be too sure that you will receive a warm and polite welcome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank jaypeasuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The welcome you receive from this charming small hotel in Le Vieux Port area of Biarritz could not be warmer or friendlier. There is a relaxed, easy-going atmosphere and nothing seems to be too much trouble for the manager and his excellent team. The rooms are lovely - mine had French windows which opened on to a terrace with sun loungers, ideal for a bit of peace and quiet away from the beaches in the height of the season. There is also a fabulous open air cocktail / champagne bar - perfect for watching the sun sink over the ocean. The beach is just across the road. The food is delicious and good value and views stunning. What more could you want? Cannot wait to go back. Merci!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0 mi away
Georges VI
Georges VI
#24 of 64 in Biarritz
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edouard VII
Hotel Edouard VII
#13 of 64 in Biarritz
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maitagaria
Hotel Maitagaria
#42 of 64 in Biarritz
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Caritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Caritz

Address: Place du Port Vieux, 64200 Biarritz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range: $101 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Caritz 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privilege of an exceptional situation in Biarritz. The 3-star hotel Le Caritz, situated at 20 meters from the beach, proposes you 12 rooms among which 2 suites, all with a view on the ocean. Every room benefits from an air conditioning system independent as well as of a free WiFi access. At any time, possibility of room service, from breakfast to dinner, all the dishes of our card are at your disposal. To savor: the luxury of the private terrace opened on the ocean and its Jacuzzi, for a favored and relax moment. The ocean offers itself to you right in the heart of Biarritz. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing