We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Food at a Tourist Trap”
Review of La Tupina

La Tupina
Reserve with
La Tupina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #301 of 2,423 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Price range: $21 - $85
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Capucins
Description:>. Extract from the book>
Naples FL
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Overpriced Food at a Tourist Trap”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are staying at a lovely upscale lodging while visiting bordeaux for the (late) harvest. So when the owners recommended this restaurant for our only dinner while here, we just went with it. We looked up other reviews (and looked at some higher rated restaurants) and decided it was an easy option after a full day of tasting at the chateaux. The food was decent bistro food (although overpriced) and not spectacular. But the mistake they made was seating us near their open fireplace rotisserie, where we could watch food being roasted. Or NOT. It was a big fake. We ordered appetizers (decent not great) a nice bordeaux and roasted entrees. But all the roasting is apparently done in the oven. We watched the same poor pathetic chicken (was it fake???) roast over- - and over - and over. It was never served (thankfully). There was no spit roasting going on here as indicated on the menu, just a giant facade. The French fries were brought from the kitchen deep fryer, but plated by the fireside. The fire was certainly real. And every so often the antique weights were turned again, implying this was authentic. But it is not. The service was ok, but when we asked specifically for one cheese course and were told it was split for us to share -then charged for two - the tourist rip off was complete.
Please, anyone that likes authentic food and is willing to pay for it, don't get ripped off here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    323
    269
    165
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth visiting once”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

After rick steins rave reviews we thought we would try it out. Had dinner , more formal than we expected. A wonderful goose leg / wing, and a proper well reared chicken leg / superb jus. Starters and puds not so outstanding . A superb wine list . Paid 134 euros and probably got off lightly
Did have a sense of tradition and history , worth the experience ..once

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dalle2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classic regional cooking”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Service friendly and helpful. Not that quick since we were outside and a couple of time seem to have been forgotten. Thankfully they spoke English.

Quality and value: Food was classic, my companion was in heaven and had the chicken. I personally found the cuisine a little heavy, but that is personal taste. If you like more cream oriented cuisine, then there are no complaints. To be honest, the food did not wow me at all. The restaurant had a somewhat smug feeling as if we are famous... therefore our food is good. Having just eaten our way around France...I think it has a little way to go before it should rest on its laurels. This is rustic food, it has to be fabulous to justify its prices.

We chose La Tupina as a treat. I think with a little more background research we could have found somewhere more authentic and inspiring to write about.

A pleasant meal. Im sure there are better places in Bordeaux.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JThmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful French cooking!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having seen Rick Stein we have been keen to try here for a number of years ... and so glad that we have finally been!!

Starters included wonderful fois gras, followed by duck and lamb, accompanied by divine goose fat chips!! Splendid wine list and extremely reasonable champagne to start. Despite some previous reviews to the contrary we would heartily recommend La Tupina!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theobear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales 99
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had long since wanted to eat here. I recall a review in the Times many years ago praising the ambience, and good local cooking. So we organised our trip around a final meal in Tupina on the eve of our return. The restaurant was booked well in advance. On arrival ( early), to a restaurant that was no where near full, we were told we would have to eat in the annex- the old grocer's store. There was no one else in it ( apart from another table who complained and got moved), and nothing would persuade them to move us to a table in the restaurant. They simply didn't care, and didn't want our custom. So for the first time ever, we upped, and left.

I had read reports from other contributors that this sort of thing can happen, but of course, I assumed it would never happen to me!! No matter how good it can be on a good day, the lesson I learned is that this place is not to be trusted; book elsewhere. The menus did not look well priced, and were very limited in any event.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welsh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tupina also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to La Tupina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing