We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistrot Gravelier

Bistrot Gravelier
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Bistrot Gravelier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #177 of 2,339 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $53
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in Chartrons, 5 minutes from the city center of Bordeaux, the Chef and his team invite you to discover a true gourmet cuisine, prepared daily with fresh, seasonal oriented southwest. Ideal for a business lunch or a romantic dinner, come introduce you to the "Gourmand Spirit".
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Gravelier is an unpretentious gem of a restaurant. Order the daily special, you will certainly be pleased, they do innovative twists on classic fresh ingredients. I still remember the grilled strawberries and green peppercorns!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    143
    61
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
194 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“One of our real favourites in Bordeaux”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

A small elegant & cosy restaurant in the lovely Chartrons area of Bordeaux with a famous chef. Every time we go, we have his fixed 'Le Soir' 3 course menu with no choices @ 28 euro. It gets us to try things we would not naturally order ( on est 'British', after all!) and they always turn out to be delicious.

For those who need more choice, there's the next menu up (with choices) at 39 euro which always looks very appetising. And then there's a no holds barred Carte Blanche menu at 55. There's a good choice of wines, although we always tend to go for a Graves we love which seems to go with everything. Yes, that's heresy, I know.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brucetaylortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
“Just OK”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Expected better. The selection was small (fois gras or red mullet, no more thank you), the food was sloppy and oversauced with vinegar, and the service was average. This restaurant came highly recommended but was the least favoriate meal of our trip. The atmosphere was great and the prices were fair, but the food did not deliver.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Arrived on a wet evening and restaurant was warm and inviting. Nice to see the chefs working away in the kitchen when you enter the restaurant. The ambiance was good and, although the restaurant is fairly small, our table was comfortable. This restaurant is slightly out of the main centre of Bordeaux but it is on the tram line so easily accessible.

The staff were very attentive, (but not overly), and helpful. Happy to answer any questions about the food or wine. We chose the surprise menu and were asked beforehand if we were allergic or had particular dislikes, which was good. Being a surprise, each course was just that ; we were not disappointed and thought the whole meal delicious. The dishes were really imaginative but not so it distracted from the taste. The emphasis was the combination of flavours, sometimes surprising, but always amazing. The wine choice was good too, we had a great Bordeaux (of course!). We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and are looking forward to going back soon. Bravo!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petit-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold and snobby”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Bad service even with reservation and lots of free tables in restaurant : places you next to a stone wall, no window. Service cold and arrogant. The restaurant is very crowded with tables and it was very very noisy.

Quality of ingredients acceptable, but small portions and uninteresting blend of flavours. The dessert was bland and tasted starchy.

In summary, over-hyped and over-priced !

Helpful?
4 Thank Sports23E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Gravelier also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Bistrot Gravelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing