We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch venue”
Review of L'Oiseau bleu

L'Oiseau bleu
Reserve with
L'Oiseau bleu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 2,423 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $81
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: La Bastide
nr. Oxford, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch venue”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of six and having researched possible lunch venues with terraces and good food we plumped for L'Oiseau Bleu. We were not disappointed, the fixed price menu was excellent and represented good value for this level of cooking, we had some excellent local wine to go with our meal which was also reasonably priced. The terrace is modern and attractively laid out and the staff were friendly and unpretentious. When next we are in Bordeaux we will definitely eat here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Messrs.deBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    93
    29
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Maybe the 2nd Best Lunch of my Life”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were really pleasantly surprised by our lunch at this restaurant. The food was so creative and well presented. We ate on the terrace on a gorgeous day. It was easy to get to on the tram, really well priced ... and very delicious!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London EC1
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is an exceptional restaurant and it can only be a matter of time before Michelin award a star. The food is sophisticated and beautifully presented, the wine list extensive and not exceptionally priced for the quality. The toast with the amuse-bouche was a bit overdone for out taste and we had to ask twice for our second bottle of wine but these were small niggles on an otherwise memorable occasion.
For those who don't know Bordeaux it's in an outlying area so you need to take the tram or a taxi (or walk a mile or so): but don't let this put you off a very special place

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant utterly brilliant”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was fine dining, distinctively french with its insistence on local and fresh ingredients, my entree was cépes as the season for them had just began while my wife had some amazing vegetable dish, that featured a very exotic french Spring Roll. We both had one of the specials of the day, wild pigeon. The major portions dripping blood, seared perfectly on the outside, and draped with foie gras - the legs cooked seperately almost over-cooked, the perfect contrast, and a reduction that was the most intense i have ever tasted - serve with a light 'mash' of carrot and ginger, just the thing to cut the richness of the duck. Wonderful wonderful food, service, wine...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nothing fell short of superb when we had dinner at this fabulous restaurant just over the river from downtown Bordeaux. Easy to get to on B line tram. We ate a la carte to splash out for a birthday celebration and were pleasantly surprised how reasonable the bill was. I have eaten at the French Laundry in Yountville (3 MIchelin stars) and this meal was as close to that quality as is possible to get. Wonderful setting, wonderful service and as everyone else seems to say 'one of the best meals I've ever eaten'. Treat yourself and GO.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angetom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oiseau bleu also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to L'Oiseau bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing