We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loss of time and money”
Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
Reserve with
La Belle Epoque is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 2,447 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loss of time and money”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This restaurant does not have any particularity other than its ceramics on the wall. Just look through the window to get an idea and move on to another one.

In a cold weather, with closed door and windows, the first impression you get is an extremely heavy food smell. In fact, all our clothings were soaked in this smell when we arrived back at the hotel.

The staff kind of reminds me of the Addams Familiy. They are overwhelmed, seemingly extremely unhappy and some of them lack of hygene. One should remind those about the invention of deodorants. When they must talk to you, they do this behind a smile that is obviously fake.

Rich wine list mentioned by others is not a criterion to select a restaurant in Bordeaux. Bordeaux is a wine-heaven. It can be a minus not to have a sufficient selection, but it cannot be a plus to have it, if you are talking about a Restaurant in Bordeaux.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OmeroSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    124
    49
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews and saw that a minority were disappointed, but decided to believe the ones who recommended it. We had seen it as we walked passed earlier in the day and had thought how lovely it looked with its tiles and mirrors and linen. We wanted to try a higher class of resteraunt and thought this would be the one. So in that spirit we went for the more expensive set menue of forty euros. Immediately, when the first course arrived, we knew in which camp we were! My vegetable tart was a thin oblong of pastry with a few not very tasty vegetables placed on its top, my lamb was better but not very tender and the sauce unremarkable, my pudding of herb cake and sorbet less appetising than most of the cakes I have had from the patisseries in the town. Out of ten I would rate my meal as a three and my husband gave his the same mark and we both thought we were being generous. We wondered whose fault this was? The building is lovely and so is the position overlooking the river. It could be amazing but someone has just got the wrong set of values. The meal was less pleasing than the one we had eaten the night before for fourteen euros each!

Helpful?
2 Thank Percyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent wine!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Classic french menue, with very friendly manager. Staff is french, but speak english. Wine recommendation stood out, very good value for money. Steaks menue was fois gras in artichoke macaroon which was delicious! The main was lamb with lots of little sides - which were fantastic, but the lamb could have gone further. Cookie had a decent starter, and a terrible main, pasta and steemed vegetables with a dolop of olive oil (stay away if you're a vegetarian foodie)! Good desert, and really yummy wine :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteakandCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming waterfront restaurant in Bordeaux”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We dined in this restaurant on 11 September having found it by chance and reserving a table an hour before it opened for the evening. The restaurant has a period tiled interior but most people choose to sit outside near the pavement. It is located close to the River Garonne, not far from the opera house and tourist office
It seems to be popular with both locals and tourists and has an English menu.
I ate chicken ravioli, lamb chop with minted peas and an apricot dessert. The food was delivered in a timely fashion and the service was friendly without being overbearing. We did not feel rushed and the atmosphere was pleasant and jovial.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MandR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Fantastique!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A wonderful if slightly quirky restaurant with a large seating area outdoors, but an interior 'salle a manger' with amazing decorative wall panels and ceiling, more like an old chateau than a restaurant. We'd reserved on-line a couple of weeks before, and they were expecting us and the welcome was warm and friendly. The food lived up to expectations, an excellent steak, and the locally produced wine was delicious and affordable. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing