We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it! Having got past the short waitress with short hair and very bad attitude!”
Review of L'Estacade

L'Estacade
Ranked #398 of 3,113 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Price range: $37 - $148
Cuisines: French, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Bastide
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An icy reception from the “waitress with attitude” - “you haff to see my COLLEG!” Then to be shown by the charming COLLEG [aka colleague] to the worst small table in the room in the line of passage for ALL staff next to a door way to the exterior.

I was then Royally looked after by the busiest two waiters in the restaurant. Efficiently taking my order having helpfully guided me through the menus.

Perfect gazpacho, followed by sturgeon with lentils in red wine and raspberry Macron! A glass of local wine (Bordeaux!!) the choice of the charming waiter. It would have been a 10/10 experience but for the welcome.

Excited to return with a friend two days later I encountered the charmless waitress again who simply could not oblige with anything (!) so we went away hungry in search of another place to eat.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Speakasyoufind8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The view was beautiful but the snobbish attitude of the Staff made our visit memorable in a very bad way. Their staff needs to be retrained to understand if customers don’t come in they won’t be working. This establishment doesn’t appear to care about their customers. We went to Le Chien de Pavlov the night before , excellent food and superb service!! They set the bar high.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank tanyamackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on time for our reservation after returning from a half day wine tour. We were seated immediately, but it took approximately 20 minutes before our waiter appeared. As we were just returning from the wine tour, we had with us an expensive bottle of wine. We inquired as to the corkage fee and were quoted 10 euros. When we received our bill, we were charged 20 euros. We then asked the manager why we were charged double the price quoted, she replied that it was €10 per person. The waiter then took our credit card to charge for the meal, however he had an attitude. Had we been properly informed of the corkage fee prior, we would have taken our wine home. Our good friend from Paris recommended this restaurant to us, which is the reason why we came. We will not be returning nor recommending it for anyone else to try.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank palmero47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

We had a great meal in Bordeaux overlooking the city by the river edge. It was very popular and filled up by the time we’d finished our dinner.

The starter, Salmon Tartare was quite superb and although not the cheapest is well worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank StevenAstaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

We were recommended to this place by three seperate people, supposed to be one of the best restaurants in Bordeaux.
Not sure what planet they came from. The position is wonderful, the waiter we had was excellent, until it all got a bit hard.
My wife chose duck Brest from the standard menu, unfortunately as we had not brought a chain saw, she could not cut through it, and the vegetables were almost inedible.
The waiter clearly raised the question of a credit or a replacement meal, with his absent manager, who no doubt knowing we were visitors to the city who would not be back, refused.
Go elsewhere!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank donaxup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estacade also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to L'Estacade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing