We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in the center of Bordeaux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the moment the bellman welcomes you, through the lobby tot he rooms and suites, there is no doubt you are in Bordeaux. the colors, the fabrics, the decor are perfect. The staff is just the right mix of helpful and unobtrusive. The bistro dinner is charming and fun. The bar scene lively and "very French". We walked allover town form this central location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa!

The team will be thrilled to learn that their service was friendly and professional and you enjoyed being with us. Thank you for your recommendations!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Positives: suite was very clean, bedding very comfortable and fresh, bathroom spotless and well equipped. Food (room service and breakfast...) is great. And nice free bottle of wine waiting for us.

Negatives: additional fee for accessing the swimming pool (tiny one), TV and coffee machine broken down, room was quite small for a "family suite". No view but small windows anyway. Staff very polite but not really experienced...

Location (Triangle d'Or de Bordeaux...) is THE plus but am sure we can find a better deal next time....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dugasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa.

At Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

The entire team is looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Johan GOURAUD
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked this hotel having looked at the website. Unfortunately the rooms are not as nice as those on the website. We had a superior room that was very small, no where to put our empty cases, very little storage space for our clothes, no tea and coffee making facilities and a tiny bathroom. We had to ask for these facilities and all they sent us was a kettle and some milk, luckily we had bought our own teabags. Housekeeping was not good as they removed our cups and did not replace them or left dirty glasses in the room. The decor was dark and old fashioned with brown walls and patterned carpets.
One reason we booked here was that it had a pool and although the website states "free use of the leisure facilities" with your room description, what is hidden further in the detail i.e.in the spa details, that they make you pay 50 euros to use the pool! Apparently they do not class the pool as part of the leisure facilities but part of the spa. I did complain to the acting Manager but he was having none of it. We were not prepared to pay 50 euros for a swim as we only had one spare day and made sure we did not eat at the hotel at all and ate out on every occasion possible, as there are lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We have stayed at hotels around the world and as guests have never been asked to pay for the use of the facilities. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. The breakfast area is very dark if you do not get a table by the window. On our last day we had to wait for our flight in the evening and ordered a pot of tea for two (2 tea bags) and one crepe to share - the price was 40 euros, we just could not believe it! We will not be back.

Room Tip: Make sure that you clearly understand the hotel policy of not allowing certain guests in certain roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Australia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Concerning our Spa policies, as I told you when you were staying at the hotel, there is a cost of 50€/couple for the entire stay and the fitness center is free. As you stayed 4 nights, it was a 6€ cost/person/day.

At Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my husbands company. The hotel is in a fantastic location, we were able to walk the city very easily from it. We had a lovely spacious room, with a good size bathroom and separate shower cubicle. The hotel is very old so the air con was a bit hit and miss in the rooms, plus the weather was particularly warm. We used the roof terrace to sit and read and also had very expensive drinks up there at night too - 21 euros for a G&T!! The square opposite was a bit cheaper!! Lovely breakfast and very helpful staff. Very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely yours,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Grand is right in the the center of the city, just opposite the Bordeaux Opera house. It's also a very busy section of town, leading to all kinds of shopping and restaurants.
The hotel has a wonderful buffet breakfast in the morning, where the chef makes the best lemon or chocolate crepes, and serves them to you at your table. There is also a very good outdoor restaurant if you want to watch all of the action in front of the hotel. I would not recommend the rooftop lounge, unless you are part of the much younger crowd.
Rooms are beautifully decorated with the best linens and fabrics. Good AC, Wi FI and TV. Finding my room was always a challenge and confusing because you walk quite a distance after leaving the elevator , only to enter another elevator to go a floor down and across. Not the most attractive hallways either in dark, rust colors. The Front desk, staff and concierge were excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa!

The team will be thrilled to learn that their service was friendly and professional and you enjoyed being with us. Thank you for your recommendations!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon and next time do not hesitate to ask our concierge team to book winery tours and this way have a taylor made experience.

Yours sincerely

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here during our drive through France and we chose this hotel because it was central and had secure parking.

The location is very good and the valet parking service was a real asset. The staff were friendly and professional, as one would expect of a hotel of this type. Unknowingly we had arrived in the middle of a festival weekend so the city was heaving but this also meant that we found it impossible to get a table on the terrace or to get a drink in the roof bar, not the hotels fault of course. We found the interior cafe to be cold and lifeless and did not use it.

The room was minuscule, even though we had upgraded, but the main issues were two things, firstly, the 'shower' in the bathroom was very antiquated and meant that you had to physically stand in the bath and hold the shower head with one hand whilst trying to wash with the other, there was a wall attachment but this was useless and did not work, invariably water was splashed all over the bathroom as the half glass panel did not protect adequately. The other maddening issue was that as we were in a room on the 4th floor we seemingly had the a/c heat exchangers overhead somewhere close and there was a very loud droning noise all through the night which very much interrupted our sleep. We complained about this but I am sure that this noise would affect a lot of rooms and it should not be expected in a hotel of this class.

Bordeaux was lovely and we would visit again but we would not stay here

Room Tip: Below the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Johan GOURAUD
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Grand Hotel in Bordeaux is probably one of the best in town. Its central location offers a great opportunity to visit the beautiful city of Bordeaux. Excellent service and French cuisine at their restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

What a lovely feed-back on Tripadvisor, thank you very much!

It is a pleasure t read that you enjoyed your trip to Bordeaux and your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa! We love to be part of wonderful memories…

The entire team is looking forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 175 in Bordeaux
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#9 of 175 in Bordeaux
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
1.0 mi away
La Grande Maison de Bernard Magrez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $197 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing